We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and in need of attention...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Conway Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked a family suite (Mum, Dad and nearly 5 year old Daughter between 15-23/02/2014) which had plenty of room and had everything as described. However the quality of furniture, especially the sofa bed mattresses, was poor and the general appearance of the room was tired and in need of updating. Small things like the sink in the kitchen area had no plug and shower fittings and bathroom vents desperately needed a clean. The tired theme continued throughout the hotel (all the room doors had the appearance of a forced entry on the 3rd floor) and everywhere you looked cosmetic and more serious work was required. The pool required cleaning (looked to be food) and had too much chlorine and the gym never had towels. The food was poor at breakfast (over cooked and cold) however the one dinner we had was frankly terrible and had no redeeming features except the waitress who was very friendly.

Now for the best bit. The noise levels at the hotel were more than any we have ever stayed in and were the combination of school parties, other kids with families and the outdoor pool. After the first night we asked to be moved but were told nothing was available (not much effort was made). The school party that filled our corridor made constant noise until late and I was told there was a 22:00 curfew which allegedly limited this nightly event...which it did not. However hotels should be and nearly always are quiet in the room areas so why a curfew was even in place or seen as acceptable defies logic. Secondly the families that replaced the school party mid week were equally noisy and yet again this was seen as ok. Lastly the family room was "conveniently" located above the outdoor pool (the windows offered almost zero noise protection and we were on the 3rd floor) which was ridiculously noisy until 22:00 every night and with a nearly 5 year old trying to go to sleep made for a not too fun time. The noise consisted mainly of loud shouting and shrieking and that was just the adults who got louder as the alcohol flowed.

I complained again on our departure and was given $100 of a substantial bill (less than a gesture I would argue). Alexa on the front desk (who is wasted at this dump and was very helpful which included skipping down the corridor with my daughter) had to take the brunt of my flak as the manager was clearly too busy to get off his or her backside and talk to me face to face.

In summary, do not stay here unless some fundamental changes are made to the noise levels, food, decor, furniture, pool and general running of the establishment.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else would be our tip and being next to Settlers Green is in no way compensation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tildasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Rude staff. Stayed on a Windy winter night. I live in NH, I know what windy winter nights are like...but the windows screeched with a sound like nails on a chalkboard. I brought it to the attention of the staff who rudely told me " there's nothing we can do about the wind" yes...again...I understand that...but your windows should not be keeping me awake all night!! Also don't go here if you want a romantic stay. It's like Chuck E Cheese hotel!! Kids running everywhere. Will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarahEC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our fourth stay at this hotel & it just gets better, thank you to Alex & Lyn on reception and to the lovely Les who we meet around the hotel. Lyn had only been at the hotel 2 days but has so much knowledge especially all the offers on the different ski mountains, she saved us a fortune.

Room Tip: Back of hotel as it has more light and a lovely view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjjNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Booked via Virgin Holidays for a week's skiing in New Hampshire. Cannot really fault the hotel - rooms of a good standard with huge comfy beds. Restaurant and bar good if a little pricey compared to some of the local alternatives. Only downside was that it was really busy, but I guess that is what you get in the prime winter holiday season in the US. Would definitely come again though as it is a very good hotel in a great location for exploring the White Mountains of New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

After traveling with 3 children for 2 1/2 hours in a car, they did not have the room we booked through the hotel a month prior with an email confirmation "guaranteed booking" All we got was… I am sorry, we overbooked the hotel. We can call another hotel for you… Why didn't they call us and let us know before we made the trip up? Because it is a business… they don't care.

We normally stay at the Red Jacket and probably just continue to go back there and give them our business. Was just trying to do something different… never again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CherylPonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Favorite pool I have ever swam in. :) Really great heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. It was about 5 degrees thee night we were swimming and the Jacuzzi and pool were so hot! Steam was rising off the water like it was boiling. As soon as you stood up your hair froze to your head but that was ok all you had to do is jump back in to warm up! Room was very large and clean, service was great and overall atmosphere had the feeling of a ski resort. Very pleasant experience. Would enjoy another stay! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fpc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the Grand Hotel in North Conway and it was just as good as the 1st visit. We had asked for a quiet room, which we got. Staff still as friendly and helpful as before. Will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the swimming pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#13 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $108 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing