We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically ok, but rip off and rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Conway Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The basic hotel is fine, nice rooms, well equipped etc. but staff so rude and ripping residents off (and I would not say so lightly - we are always positive in reviews on TA). Couple ate in the restaurant (food poor) paid by credit card, later whilst in bed they had a call saying there had been a problem with the CC and they said they were in bed and would sort in the morning, next thing they knew someone was banging on the door of their room, marched in and demanded cash payment. Another couple used phone in room, clearly advertised as 3 dollars per minute to uk, used 7 minutes and were carged 50+ dollars, were told by hotel that it was an external company and had nothingvto do with the hotel. Shame because in other ways the hotel is ok.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hillbill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

On our trips down south we always make this a stopping place on our way back to Canada, the kids enjoy the pools and free movies and the wife enjoys the shopping. We always make sure we get to use one of the great Coupons from hotelcoupons.com booklet it makes staying at this great hotel with in our price range. After our last stay there my wife said we need to make this not just a 1 day stop over but maybe 2 or 3 days so we can enjoy more of the hotel amenities and surrounding area and not use all our time for shopping.

We eat the breakfast because our kids get to eat free which makes the over all cost for breakfast quite affordable. I recommend this place and scold friends who I hear stay anywhere else in North Conway especially if they take advantage of the coupon.

We had a friend come with us this last visit and she had a cot in our room she said it wasn't the most comfortable which would be the only complaint any of us had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came here as part of a tour of New England. In essence there is not much that I can add to the experience of other reviewers; our experience of this hotel seems typical.
The reception staff were polite and most helpful, the rooms were large, well furnished and clean, the parking lot was ample, the hotel is well located within North Conway being adjacent to the Outlet shopping and also for local tourism. From these perspectives I couldn't really fault it - it did what it said on the tin.
Where I did take issue, as have others, is the restaurant. Apart from the decoration being dark and oppressive I found the servers and the maitre d's to be abrupt and somewhat 'take-it-or-leave-it', and the food to be bland and uninspiring, especially at breakfast. This is a rather shortsighted policy as there is plenty of local competition with walking distance and I recommend that travellers take up that option as we did.
The problem, as I see it, is the outlet shopping. Whilst this is a real attraction, especially for coach tours, and the reason why many come, it does mean that the food is kind of 'production line' as it caters for the lowest common denominator.
Visit here by all means as a good local base and enjoy the accommodation, but go and eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces away from the Outlet Centre and the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We often stay here. Great front desk staff Clean rooms Skip the restaurant. Terrible experience. We got there at 5 ,only one other table taken in the entire restaurant. We were taken to a tiny two person table that was against the wall and at the edge of the entrance to a large dining room. When I requested a little larger table and a little nicer location I was told that I was lucky to get a table because they had 3 busses that would be there soon. Snappy nasty lady. When we finished the dining rooms were not even half full and there were several tables with only 2 people sitting at a tables that seat 4. Very bad slow service. Dessert was tiny slice of pie that sells for $3 from the Walmart frozen food case. Terrible ! Lots of other great meal choices within 5 minutes of hotel.

Room Tip: Great hotel Bad restaurant. Check out the little green book you can get at tourist centers and Burge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vagnarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The was a one night stop for us on the way to Maine from New York. We got a $79 rate with a walk-in coupon from hotelcoupons.com (the booklets they give away at tourist info areas and on the NY Thruway). The lobby area was very nice, with cookies and beverages for the taking. The parking lot is huge, so no problem there. The location is on the backside of the Settler's Green shopping outlets and is , therefore, set back from the main drag. You have to wind your way around the outlets to find it. If shopping is your thing, you can walk to the outlets from the hotel. Our room was large and up-to-date, and the amenities were complete. The shower/tub combo (which I don't usually like) was very good. Wi-Fi in the room worked as expected. We didn't eat in the restaurant or breakfast area so cannot comment about that. The front desk personnel at check-in and check-out were very professional and friendly. I would stay here again, given the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaka_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were there in the fall colour season and the hotel was full and we could not stay an additionnal day because it was booked full and we did not have a reservation. The service was top notch and the staff, though very busy, was always very nice. The restaurant may need a littlemore variety for dinner but the quality was OK. Will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dencla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spent one night, great place to stay. It certainly isn't new, but always clean, comfortable. We had a top floor room facing Settlers Green. Large room, good wifi connection. Didn't use the pool or restaurant, but they looked nice. Check in was easy, room was ready. Will spend an extra night there the next time. So much to see in the area, perfect spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room, one side faces the mountain, the other Settlers Green, can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in North Conway
#13 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $107 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing