We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, for a higher than average price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Conway Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here with friends the weekend before New Years Eve. We chose this hotel over a few others because it had an outdoor pool and jacuzzi, and it was right in the shopping area (for some in our group that like to shop). The accommodations were fine, but I thought pricey for what we got. The room wasn't ready when we got there, but they gave us vouchers for free breakfasts, the refrigerator didn't work, but they replaced it quickly. The hotel was more on the scale/quality of a Comfort Inn or a Holiday Inn, but the price was significantly higher.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryanne191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

December 8 2012 we stayed in the room closest to the pool area on the first floor. Our window looked out to the shops, center alley, it was GORGEOUS. It snowed too which added to the magic of Christmas and showcased the beauty of the setting. The art work in the lobby and restaurant entryway are engaging and a super fun eye spy experience - terrifically unique, the kids (and I) enjoyed them. The proximity to shopping can not be beat, we parked the truck, dumped our stuff in our room, went for a swim, ate dinner, bundled up and walked out to all of the shops when we saw that the peak shopping was over...in the snow. The room is standard, clean and comfortable. Our 2 little kids and all of their toys and table set in the corner for playtime was helpful. The TV swivels so Papa could chill and watch the game. The pillows were perfect. The pool area is beautiful, clean, well stocked with towels and tables/chairs/loungers, but chlorine levels are too high and your eyes literally burn without even being in the water. The hot tub (hot pool as the little ones call it) is not too hot. The outdoor pool is warm and appropriate for those more daring individuals. The theater downstairs has super big comfy sofa's and showcases a double feature for families, we stayed for about 1/2 hour and were off exploring some more. I would have enjoyed at least a full movie. Quiet, cozy, fun all at the same time. The Christmas decorations were wonderful. The downside is the breakfast buffet, not very good at all. Dried up, flavorless, spongy....I would recommend ordering from the menu. Overall we will go back again next year. $120 for a weekend night during Christmas shopping season for the room location we got was a valuable purchase.

Room Tip: Get the room on the first floor closest to the pool. Bring slippers and jammies so you can cozy up i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 4th stay at this hotel (Dec 28-31 2012 ) and it has really gone downhill. Our last stay was May of 2012 (Memorial day weekend) and it was a world of difference. You would think it changed owners. On arrival front desk person was pleasant, but every question I had was referred to someone else. When I asked about a shuttle to Cranmore the response from the "other person" who was the manager she said, "We have not had that for years." Then we went to our room and it was handicapped accessible. The reservation did not say that and usually it does. I got some story from the same not so friendly manager (heard her rude on the phone too) saying that if you book with a 3rd party the computer will give you whatever is available and not what you booked and I should call them. Well, on their website it said the same room was available but for $30 more. She said there were no rooms available even though the sign said vacancy but she said it always says that. She gave us free breakfast coupons to compensate but the breakfast was so awful, it was like getting nothing. So we stayed in our cramped room that said it was for 5 (and we only had 4 people). The next day we went to the pool and there were no towels. A person came to take the dirty ones but it was over an hour before someone came with fresh ones and she said "she did not know" but many people had informed housekeeping and they already removed the dirty towels. There was also sand on the bottom of the shallow end. We are no where near the beach, so have no idea what that was. Unless it was sand to melt the snow but why was it in the pool. Housekeeping knocked on our door when the do not disturb sign was up. They said they "did not see it." How can you not see it hanging on the knob. Then when they did clean the room they only gave 4 bath towels and no hand towels. Also, the garbage can capacity was inadequate for a family of 4. Then since it was snowing we ate in the restaurant. The service was horrible along with the quality of the food. The waitress (Esse) forgot our drinks twice and then it took 45 minutes to get salad, soup and children's meals. The people next to us sat down after us and waited 30 minutes for soup and got theirs before ours. The apple pie was not warmed either. My husband's wine was forgotten. Menu limited and food sub-par.

The location is fantastic of this hotel and they use that to give sub par service and facilities. It is way overpriced for what you get. I hope if it is new management they get their act together and improve service like it used to be.

Room Tip: If you have a family do not choose a kind room. Very cramped. And a roll away is $15 a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieM525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived December 26 front desk was pleasant. But not use to having no one to help with your bags. We had to switch rooms because we needed a double beds and we had to move all our bags again our rooms were not cleaned. They showed up at 4.:30 when we just got back from skiing and wanted to shower. So we said forget it. My sister stayed there to and said she left a note just to vacuum the rug because something had spilled. She cleaned up the room herself. The cleaning lady did not. We always left a great tip also.The beds are not comfortable and the rooms are so outdated. We went to the restraunt and the food was horrible. There was 10 of us and all of us felt the same way. My husband and son and 4 others went back for breakfast and it was horrible . They also do not open until 5. It would be nice if they had something opened earlier. The outside pool never had towels so I brought one from the room. The towel holder where you throw the used towels is ready to fall apart. No music playing to make the atmosphere more upbeat and happy. I've stayed at the red jacket and that place was great. Never will I go back to this hotel. I know this area so well and recently sold our vacation home so decided to try it out, but what a disappointment !! The bathrooms on the main floor were not clean and the baskets were overflowing. The floors needed to be wiped down desperately. This was like a holiday inn. If your use to a nice hotel this is not for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Paid $250 for one night during Christmas week, no view, noisy hallways, heat malfunctioned, furnishings very very cheap, one coffee provided, no breakfast, a huge disappointment. It was clean but beds weren't even exceptionally comfortable. Look elsewhere if you're going to pay that price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenerhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We took a week-end getaway 3 days before x-mas, stayed at the Grand Hotel, which we loved and will be coming back for sure.
Spacious and clean rooms, friendly staff, movies in the movie room, indoor and outdoor heated pool and hot tubs ! Just a few steps from the outlets, Can you ask for more ??
The x-mas decor was beautiful. They had hot chocolate and hot cider with cookies in the lobby.
Just a short drive to lots of shops, restaurants and things to visit.
I would suggest this place to everyone ! Nothing negative at all about this wonderful place !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We did a driving holiday around some of New Hampshire in May 2011 and have to say this was our favourite hotel by far! We only stayed a couple of nights but it was clean, large, spacious, comfortable and peaceful - everything we needed and wanted. A perfect location, just a short drive from anywhere we wanted to visit. We would definately come back for another visit. We had booked a jacuzzi room for two of our party and this was the best present for them after a long day's driving! Really great stay.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room on high floor which was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
689 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in North Conway
#13 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $118 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing