We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fox Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Really friendly people, food and service superb. Rooms were really nice and comfy. Woke this morning , looked out of my window and was greeted by a cheeky chipmunk. The grounds are immaculate two great swimming pools. I would love to stay longer

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxRidgeNorthConway, Manager at Fox Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review. I hope you had a wonderful holiday in New England. The colors were outstanding. Our team here is great to be around, always smiling.
Thank you,
Chuck and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    234
    94
    37
    15
See reviews for
376
110
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited in late July for three nights--it was three nights too many! We stayed here last year for our yearly visit to Storyland and Santa's Village. This time, we were put into the older part of the hotel which seems to be the forgotten part of this property. The hallways were dirty and smelled like goats in a barnyard. The room itself had peeling wallpaper, sinks that were obviously not wiped down recently and a coffee pot that was dirty with old coffee in it! My daughter found spider webs with spiders in the corners of the room--which was nasty! Since the property was supposedly full, we were stuck in this room. I don't know that housekeeping did anything other than make the beds and replace the towels. the sinks were never cleaned and it looked like the floor were never washed--just gross! In addition, the first night there, around 745pm, the fire alarm went off-everyone exited the hotel and waited, and waited and waited. No one from the hotel ever came out to tell us what was going on-fire engines arrived and left and still no word. It took a guest to tell us that the people in the front of the hotel were being allowed back in..so we all went back in-with tons of mosquito bites!! The hotel management never communicated to those of us in the back of the hotel--extremely poor handling of this situation. When we finally checked out, nothing was ever said about the inconvenience- in fact, another guest was checking out at the same time, she asked about some kind of compensation given the fact that she had two young kids that had to be taken out of the hotel while they were sleeping and the desk clerk , who couldn't have been any ruder, told her there was nothing she could do!
This was our second and last time staying here....it seems as though the management of this hotel could care less about it's guests..so it's back to the Golden Gables...a great little motel down the street--they don't have an indoor pool.(which is why we stayed here).but at least it's clean and the staff is polite and attentive!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrschiti64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxRidgeNorthConway, Manager at Fox Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I am sorry that your stay wasnt as expected. We will go over the room that you were in to check the issues that you mentioned. We would love another chance to have you return. Please contact me directly next visit to the Beautiful Mount Washington valley.
Chuck Randall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The reviews I read were all over the map. We were looking for a room for 1 night so I figured it would be okay. When we arrived we were told that no rooms with a king bed were available and that we should have called to confirm. I had a printed confirmation in hand, so why would I call them or know that I had to? The hotel was packed due to an evening wedding reception and parking was terrible. Many of the wedding guests were not staying at the hotel, but using guest parking areas. Breakfast may have been good, but we didn't eat there. They didn't have enough staff to manage the crowd and the restaurant was full of screaming children. I shared my experience with the management and the response I received acknowledged the parking problem but just offered excuses for the rest. Will stay elsewhere in North Conway next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxRidgeNorthConway, Manager at Fox Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We did have a large wedding on that night that you stayed with us and unfortunately parking was a problem. Our breakfast gets busy right around 8 am for the Story Land rush, but only last for a short time and everything goes very quickly. Hope you will come give us another try.
Chuck Randall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford,MA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We visited North Conway with my son and his family in August. We had stayed there years ago and I generally like Red Jackets. We had a great time but the hotel was disappointing. The corridors, furniture and carpeting need replacement...very worn. There were numerous housekeeping issues..remote did not work...one day the room was not made up at all when we returned at 6:30.the biggest issue is the loft room. Great idea but there is a railing on the wall only and someone could easily fall off so we could not have a child there. I made several trips to the front desk...made a comment about the stay and was ignored by the manager who was standing there. For the several issues, there should have been some compensation.. On a positive note, breakfast was great as was the hostess. The pools were also great. Mini golf area falling apart.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnelchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fox Ridge Resort is a perfect place to stay in N. Conway. We enjoyed the spectacular location! The grounds are impeccable. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast buffet that is included in the room cost is exceptional, with hot and cold selections and a variety of juices and hot beverages. We were very impressed with the friendly staff and the professional service they provided. We will certainly be recommending Fox Ridge to others, and we will be back.

Room Tip: If the weather is nice, a room with a mountain view would be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south of Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We come to North Conway 2-3 times a year and typically stay at the sister property, Red Jacket Mountain View, so this may be a bit of a comparison of both hotels. Bear with me! However, we decided to give this one a shot after purchasing a social media deal which included free breakfast, water park passes to Kahuna Laguna, and spa and dining credits.

Overall, the impression of this hotel was pretty good. The views and location are fantastic- just about any room you have is a direct view of mountains and it's centrally located to outlet shopping, Santa's Village and Storyland.

As others have posted, this hotel is dated- no two ways of going about it. I know, management says it's classic, but it's dated. Dated decor, tube TVs and old school keys to enter the room. The style of the TV doesn't bother me, but in this day and age most bargain basement hotels have flat screens and I think travelers come to expect modern conveniences from a hotel (especially ones that charge upwards to $200 a night). Our room, while dated, was very clean, so really, that's what matters to me in the long run.

We decided to take the kids to the free breakfast in the dining area. We have had the buffet at Champney's in the past (outstanding), and while we knew that it was probably not as expansive as that, we were really disappointed in the quality of food that was served. It was a basic buffet- eggs (runny and gross), potatoes (weird taste to them), sausage and bacon (mediocre), and pancakes (rubbery). Some old toast and muffins, yogurt and off-brand boxes of cereal (the sister property has brand names, why can't this one?) The only fresh food option was the common fruit salad with cantaloupe, honeydew, pineapple and orange segments. The bowl of it that was out was old- the fruit pieces were discolored so you couldn't tell what the melon was. Even the kids, who love breakfast buffets, didn't want to eat it, so the next morning we stayed away from the free breakfast and went over to Champney's and spent our dining credit on a much better breakfast.

This property was much quieter than past stays at The RJ Mountain View despite one or two weddings staying on the property- we didn't feel like it was a "free for all" of craziness as the Mountain View resort sometimes feels.

I was also disappointed that they don't upgrade rooms if available- we had a garden view and when I asked to upgrade to a mountain view they said it was an extra $20/night. If a room with a view is available (which they said they were), why not do it to make guests happy and more likely to return?

In all, we will probably come back to this hotel, but again, price and social media deals dictate where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the fox ridge with my husband and 9 year old daughter in August. Our room was very outdated, it had a bad smell and just didn't feel clean. There were hairs on the floor in various places, an old bobby pin on the bathroom floor, and a kids rubber bracelet was in between the comforter and sheets of the bed. At 11pm the kids in the room above us were stomping and running around, it felt like the ceiling was going to cave in on us.

They did not give us a choice and charged us a $10 "Resort Fee" for childrens activities that were not even located at the Fox Ridge! You had to take a shuttle bus to their sister hotel down the street.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxRidgeNorthConway, Manager at Fox Ridge Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will be looking into what room you stayed in to work with housekeeping on the issues during your stay. I hope you enjoy the upcoming fall foliage season. Please contact me directly if you have further questions.
Chuck Randall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Ridge Resort

Property: Fox Ridge Resort
Address: 1979 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-7102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#12 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 35 scenic acres overlooking the Moat Mountains, Puddin' Pond, and Green Hill Nature Conservancy, Fox Ridge boasts 136 spacious guest rooms with either two queen beds or a king. Families will enjoy the extra-roomy loft and alcove rooms, and couples the peaceful mountain view rooms with a king sized bed. Most rooms open onto a patio or balcony and provide spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. A complimentary hot buffet breakfast is served daily. Poolside luncheon and family cookouts are offered in summer season. On-property amenities include large indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, whirlpool spa, tennis, miniature golf, hiking trails, playground, and supervised children's program in July and August. Fox Ridge offers a panoramic and private mountain setting, yet is convenient to attractions including Story Land, the Conway Scenic Railroad, and tax-free outlet shopping. And, guests of Fox Ridge have use of Kahuna Laguna, the 40,000 square foot indoor water park located at the Red Jacket Mountain View Resort (one-half mile away). Kahuna Laguna features four 300 foot slides, giant wave pool, water activity tower with 150 gallon tipping bucket, kiddies center, 25 person spa, and game arcade. Please inquire about our Kahuna Laguna packages. Open from mid May through late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Fox Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Ridge Hotel North Conway
Fox Ridge Resort North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing