We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can count on the 1785 to deliver a great meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1785 Inn - CLOSED

1785 Inn
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant at the 1785 Inn is located in a historic building overlooking famous mountain scenery (the 7th most photographed nature scene in the U.S.) A travel guide newsletter recently called it "One of the top 15 views in the world from a hotel or inn." All meals are cooked to order with the freshest possible ingredients (in spring/summer/fall the vegetables & herbs come from their own gardens or local farms). The service is friendly and the wine list is extensive (has received the "Award of Excellence" for 25 consecutive years from the Wine Spectator magazine). The desserts are all made at the Inn (including some that are flambed tableside). The critics have called it "an amazing value" and "the best place to stay or eat in North Conway." A relaxing luonge is also avilable for drinks, some lighter food, or one of their desserts.
North Conway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can count on the 1785 to deliver a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I own an Inn about 2 miles away and when guests for a good place to eat, a step above typical pub food, I always recommend the 1785. 9 out of 10 people report back that they just love it and had a great time. I let them know it is a place for adults, white tablecloths, excellent wine, charming fireplaces and friendly waiters. If you want a New England dining experience, then you want to go here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    35
    16
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashby, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Country Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've eaten here a number of times, usually when celebrating a special occasion. The food is fantastic and beautifully served. The rack of lamb was superb. The Caesar Salad made table-side is so worth ordering. It's not only delicious (you'll never want the usual restaurant Caesar salad again) it comes with a "show" and the recipe! Last visit we enjoyed the "show" so much we ordered the Banana's Foster, also made table-side, for dessert just to keep our waiter on his toes! It's amazing what fun two "little old ladies" can have when celebrating their birthdays. We felt special and well taken care of from the minute we walked in the door.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“used to love this place, but now...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have eaten here a couple times recently and food just isn't as good as it used to be. Salad with maple dressing was super mayonnaise-y. The sorbet was raspberry and cumin and fennel. A weird combo - and I don't like cumin. Had scallops and sauce was really salty. Half rack of lamb was four tiny lamb chops. Still hungry after that! Vegetables were two asparagus and a tiny amount of chopped vegetables. German Chocolate cake was really heavy. The cake is really fudgy and cold and the frosting is goopy. I know they have to refrigerate the cake, but it had the consistency of an old, not fresh cake. Had the chef salad and lettuce was wilty. Duck was rubbery. Most recent bill for two was $94! Staff nice but not worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank venividiboggli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST KINGSTON
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stopped in here one night after the kitchen had closed so we had a drink at the bar. After meeting the bar tender, looking at the menu, touring the dining room, we immediately made a reservation for the next night - being able to choose our own table and even asked the bartender to be our waiter! What a fabulous idea! We had a room that was private to us all night, table next to the fireplace, and constant attention from our private waiter!! The appetizer was grilled scallops, my main dish was RABBIT (which I had never ordered before) and it was cooked in two different styles, my husband had the veal which melted in one's mouth it was so tender, the desserts were so plentiful in variety it was difficult to choose! My husband had the cheesecake and I had a chocolate moose served on a large piece of chocolate shaped like a shell! The after dinner coffee was served theatrically with a show of fired brandy(?) being poured back and forth between glasses to form a sugared rim...the whole experience was FANTASTIC!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank deedonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Caesar salad made at your table, beef cooked perfectly, and a shared slice of coffee butter crunch pie. Waitstaff fun and attentive. I'll definitely be back!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kittery_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1785 Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing