We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved MY stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Ranked #11 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mass.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved MY stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We loved our stay at teh Old Red Inn. The Inn keepers Richard and Sue went above and beyond to make our stay a Happy one!
Booked Labor Day to be sure to get a cottage. The food was delicious and prepared with loving care. We can not wait to go back !!

  • Liked — The personal touch from the inn keepers
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank feathersMass_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    45
    13
    13
    14
See reviews for
73
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I stayed here recently wth one of my daughters and my grandson. Although we witnessed several other visitors being shown where their cabins were and informed about incidentals such as breakfast arrangements, pool towels etc., we were given a key, told our cabin number and sent on our way. The website made the condition of the cabin look a lot better than it actually was. On the screened-in porch, the walls on one side had nails protruding at least 3/4 of an inch. Not too good for my grandson's safety! The floors were sandy, one of the shower walls had a large hair on it and the drain cover was not sealed so it moved if you stepped on it. The table on the porch had crumbs on it. The burners on the stove have not been cleaned in quite a while and there was a significant abundance of frost on the freezer in the refrigerator and the cleanliness of that was also not acceptable. If all the owners are looking for is transient business it will work for them. It's really a shame because the location is great and the layout of the cabin is great but upgrades need to be done soon if they want visitors to return. They should also remind guests to pull down their shades at night.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness & owner disinterest
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I booked a cottage at the Old Red Inn based on their website and the reviews on this website. I was very disappointed. First of all, we did not receive the warm greeting others have mentioned here. We were a little early for check in but since we were travelling with a child, I asked if we could check in early. While they allowed it, I was certainly made to feel as though I was putting them out. Secondly, our cottage was not even close to clean. There was dirt on the bedroom floors so clearly they couldn't be bothered to sweep it clean, there were crumbs on the table, the shower was gross and there was hair on the shower wall. There were also nails coming through the wall of the porch (sharp end in!) and that was a real safety concern with a toddler. Finally, the cottage really smelled bad. They say that pets are only allowed in certain cottages and ours apparently wasn't one of them, but it certainly smelled like there may have been a few dog "accidents" in there. I really don't feel as though the Inn keepers put much stock in getting repeat business and certainly would never take my family back there again.

  • Liked — Location was good
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoganwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Great breakfasts, excellent innkeepers, overall good experience!!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank hjteaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BILLERICA
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2007

I had the greatest time very nice cabin , owners are so friendly
and the breakfast was the best, so convenient to the outlets
and great restaurants, cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — the cabin and the location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BRIANBillerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Just came back from a lovely long weekend at The Old Red Inn. We loved our little cottage and enjoyed its gas fireplace. The Innkeepers (Richard & Susan) were very friendly, knowledgable (recommended great restaurants: Fandangle's) and quite pleasant to be around. The breakfasts were filling and delicious. The afternoon cookies were fabulous too! This place was very charming and we highly recommend it! :)) We will go back again!

  • Liked — fireplace & breakfast
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2006

Couldn't have wished for a better Christmas.
Highly recommend the The Old Red Inn.
This bed and breakfast offers everything you may desire in a cottage or inn.
Our hosts Richard and Susan were very accommendating to our needs, they are gracious and friendly. Location to shopping is ideal. They treat their guests like part of the family. The food is exellent and prepared on time. If you like coffee, its the best we found in N. Conway. The Met [local coffee shop]aint got nothing on this Inn. We will be back and won't consider any place else
Everyone should try this experience at The Old Red Inn.............
Steven and Peggy
Concord, N.C.

  • Liked — very cozy
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 99kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.7 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
614 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Red Inn & Cottages
Address: Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Red Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Red Inn and Cottages is located in the Village of North Conway, we are the closest Inn and Cottages to the Village, only five hundred yards away. We offer five Inn rooms and ten cottages (both 1 & 2 bedroom) all with private bathroom. If you are looking to experience the simpler way of life, then charms of the Mount Washington Valley will be your perfect place. The Inn has free wi-fi, in-ground pool, pinic tables and grills along with a delicous morning breakfast. The mountains are close by so hiking, swimming, canoeing, horse back riding, skiing, tubbing, snow shoeing, mountain climbing, scenic rides, gondola rides, sleigh rides and so much more are with-in minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Red Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Red Inn & Cottages Hotel North Conway
Old Red Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing