We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Ranked #12 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Treated like Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The owners treated us like family. The breakfasts were awesome (included), each morning something different. Even snacks in the evening were out for the taking. The inn keeper even handed us some fresh baked cookies while we were lounging by the pool. We were in a cottage that I have read mixed reviews on but let me tell you they were perfect for a long weekend getaway. Clean and comfortable with air conditioning to boot. They are located right at the beginning of the village, couldn't get any more than that. Perfect for strolling to and from the shops. In the opposite direction within 2 min. of walking is the Muddy Moose Restaurant which seems to be a favorite. We will definitely be back to visit. Great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Cottages if available give more privacy with all the inn perks included too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    45
    12
    13
    14
See reviews for
72
84
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived at this property after checking out of a hotel we had booked online that did not meet our standards. Richard was extremely friendly and invited me to view the cottage he had available for my family. My wife and I did inspect the cottage and decided to stay. it was temperature was hot during our stay and the pool was clean and refreshing, the kids loved it. The close proximity to everything was pleasant, and the fresh breakfasts made every morning had something for everyone. I would not only recommend the Old Red Inn and Cottages, I will also be back for my stays in the North Conway Area. Richard and Susan are exceptional hosts!

Room Tip: Be candid about what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Two girlfriends and I stayed at the Old Red Inn for a two-night getaway. The location was very convenient to shopping (Settlers' Green Outlet Village, The Handcrafters' Barn, Bavarian Chocolate Haus), and the three waterfalls we hiked to (Arethusa Falls, Lower Falls of Swift River, Sabbaday Falls). Our cottage (#5) had two bedrooms with very comfortable beds, plus a daybed in the living/efficiency kitchen area, a bathroom with a small shower, and a nice screened porch. Although it was late June, we didn't get to use the pool, but we appreciated the gas fireplace on one chilly evening. We also used the propane grill to cook dinner one night, saving us from having to eat out. The breakfasts were plentiful, with muffins/pastries to start, fruit, granola, cereals, coffee, juice and an assortment of teas, followed by a delicious stuffed french toast one morning and a tasty egg dish with homefries the next. The owners were friendly and helpful with suggestions for places to go, and were very accommodating when it took us a bit longer to check out than expected. We really enjoyed our stay and certainly will return if we're in the area again!

Room Tip: Some cottages are pet friendly-ask. Cottage #5 was back from the road, so a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaMac1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great visit in N. Conway and enjoyed the time we spent at the Inn. We stayed in the house and our friends stayed in one of the cabins with their dog. We felt very welcome there with our kids who pretty much had the run of the place. Susan, the innkeeper, made muffins for the kids and each night would ask them what they wanted for breakfast the next day. The kids were in heaven! Also, it didn't take Susan long to learn that my husband is a chocoholic. She had chocolate chocolate chip cookies, chocolate cupcakes and brownies for him as an afternoon snack each day! We really enjoyed the hospitality and if we get back to N. Conway (from Arizona), we will definitely be staying at the Inn again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the privacy of the 3rd floor. Loved the sloping ceilings. Very cozy. There are 2 rooms up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The inn and cottage was the perfect place for a family get away and visit to Storyland. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. It was easy to tell that they love their job and their customers. We felt right at home with our three VERY energetic children and dog in a cottage. There is so much to do in this beautiful town-We had a blast! Also, Sue's French Toast and coffee are delicious. There is nothing like having happy kids! It is perfectly central to all sorts of wonderful places in the town. You can walk everywhere. Storyland is just minutes away. My children loved it! Someday, we would like to stay in the inn without the kids for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: If you have a family who has a great deal of energy like ours, I would stay in a cottage. Also, thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof5603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overall, this B&B is not worth the price and especially provides the worst client service I have ever seen in north america.
Pros:
-dog friendly - no additional charge
-location
Cons:
-First contact with in keeper: "give me your credit card to pay the remaining balance"
-Breakfasts: low quality food, unfrozen cakes, tasteless fruits, everything is cheap. No flexibility for the timing of breakfast (8 am to 10.30 am).
-housekeeping: No housekeeping had been made before our arrival (toilet bowl had large stains from the previous customers, there were some spider nets in the room). We had to request it specifically since my wife couldn't go to the toilets. Only on 1 out of our 3 nights, the housecleaning had been performed, since requested. The other days, no cleaning made (only towels were changed).
-equipment in the room: everything is very old, cheap and not clean. With few efforts, this could be beautiful and convenient but not an objective of the innkeepers apparently.
Overall it gave us the impression that in this touristic area no care about guests, cleanliness and quality of the cottages, quality of the breakfast, and client service (cleaning, kindness) was necessary to charge more than 100$ per night. Paid same price in NY city downtown for some basic hotels that were better maintained and with better client service. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M0ntrealT0urists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Absolutely wonderful place run by a wonderful couple who make you feel right at home. We were climbing mt washington and stayed here, and since we had to leave earlier than they serve breakfast, they gave all 6 of us a boat load of food the night before to have for breakfast! So amazing, supportive and wonderful people!!
also has a great charm to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anya3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Red Inn & Cottages
Address: Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Red Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Red Inn and Cottages is located in the Village of North Conway, we are the closest Inn and Cottages to the Village, only five hundred yards away. We offer five Inn rooms and ten cottages (both 1 & 2 bedroom) all with private bathroom. If you are looking to experience the simpler way of life, then charms of the Mount Washington Valley will be your perfect place. The Inn has free wi-fi, in-ground pool, pinic tables and grills along with a delicous morning breakfast. The mountains are close by so hiking, swimming, canoeing, horse back riding, skiing, tubbing, snow shoeing, mountain climbing, scenic rides, gondola rides, sleigh rides and so much more are with-in minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Old Red Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Red Inn And Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing