We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Farm by "Highway" is awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Ranked #8 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Oh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Farm by "Highway" is awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

Over the last few years, we have acclimated to the overall Bed and Breakfast experience where ever we travel. We feel very fortunate that this was not our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast.

When we first arrived at the inn, we could not find the inn keeper. Another guest directed us outside to the back of the inn where we first met "Char" who curtly asked us to "come back later... (she) was busy".

When she finally did have time to take us to "the best room in the house" (and also the most expensive), we were appalled at the lack of cleanliness. The bed spread was just loosely tossed on top, and when we did pull it down for the evening, the sheets were not only wrinkled, they were creased as if the bed had already been slept in. The bathroom (a closet converted to shower and toilet) continued the trend as the shower stall was filthy and the towels smelled.

The next morning, as my wife usually sleeps later than I do, I went down for coffee around 6am and picked up a conversation with a woman from another state who was knitting in the living room. Rick came running in and requested that we not talk as there was a door to another guest room 8 feet away.

The food was average. Breakfast (a belgian waffle with some whipped cream and half a strawberry on top) is no where near what we are used to indulging in when we stay at a B&B.

As for farm by the "river"... the land may well back up to the river, but the farmhouse which serves as the B&B is actually about 20 feet from a state highway from which you cannot see the river.

This establishment would serve well as a boarding house, but from our experience with many other wonderful inns, the "Farm by the River" does not really make the grade in the hospitality industry. Our advice is that your $200+ can be better spent elsewhere.

  • Liked — The dilapidated wrap around porch
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness, rude inn keepers
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OhioTraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    41
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
143
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

My wife booked a 3 day romantic package weekend here for a surprise birthday vacation. Neither of us had ever been to a BnB and were looking forward to a relaxing stay and also the horseback riding at the Farm By The River's onsite stables. We were not disappointed. We loved the huge old farmhouse & the room was great. The 2 person jacuzzi in the room with a great view of Mt. Cranmore was clean and a great thing to have after the hour long trail ride. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in. There was an in-room pedastal sink and a private bathroom with shower and lavatory. We went back to the room several times a day to recharge. The stables have around 15 horses and they are kept in excellent shape. There's many different types from Morgans to Draft Horses and the women that run the stables really know their jobs. We were experieced riders and were given appropriate mounts. The trails wind thru open pasture, woods, and sorgum fields finally winding along the Saco River (where there is a nice swimming hole and excellent trout fishing) before heading back. The hosts Rick and Charlene were great. They had plenty of good stories and ideas for things to do and they put on a large and delicious breakfast every morning. There's also a very nice perennial garden to relax in. All in all, we can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The comfort of the stay and the views
  • Disliked — We have no complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lacedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

My wife and I and our children had a wonderful stay at the Farm by the River. Rick and Charlene made us feel very at home, but are also skilled at not hovering over guests providing them some privacy. Breakfasts were out on the deck overlooking the mountains each am, and were of excellent quality. This is a special place. The kids absolutely loved looking at the horses, and we were able to go riding each am we were there.

  • Liked — overall atmosphere
  • Disliked — now my daughters want to take riding lessons
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domer90mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

We felt as though we were with family! The house and property is nostalgic and chaming, and the hosts are delightful. The food was out of this world too! We would return in a minute and highly recommend the Farm by the River!!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank lakenormanrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

We wanted a nice getaway from the busy life, and decided to settle on a little Rest and Relaxation at the Farm by the River. When we got there, it was everything we had hoped it would be. A beautiful victorian vintage cascaded by horses and rolling hills. The place was breathtaking and the owners were very friendly and hospitable, and the rooms were done to perfection. They had fresh-baked brownies waiting for us.

In the morning we sat down for a wonderful country breakfast, and off we went for our trail ride. The horses were very easy and the trail-ride team were very professional and you knew you were in good hands. We had a 45-minute ride through the back fields and streams of the Farm. It really was a relaxing and enjoyable time taking the country life in.

We wish to thank the team at the Farm by the River for sharing their home with us, for taking the time to get to know their guests, and allowing us to experience a piece of God's Country. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to other guests, as we really enjoyed our stay and will be back in a future date. Shaun and Debra Scott.

  • Liked — setting and cleanliness
  • Disliked — wished for chocolate chip cookies vs brownies!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank labradorRhodeIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

I cannot say enough nice things about the Farm by the River in North Conway. My recently engaged fiancee and I went there for 3 days/2 nights. I wish I booked a week. Wonderful breakfasts, creative, not the usual fare. Rick and Charlene were wonderful hosts. As an early riser, I enjoyed sharing conversation with Rick in the kitchen as he mastered the stove and oven for the morning meal. The horseback trail riding was a lot of fun. Riding by the river, through the fields, and past a lone wild turkey that didn't seem to care that we were sharing such a beautiful day. The rooms are very clean, and we wanted for nothing. Evening cookies/brownies were a nice touch with a cup of tea. The couple we came with agreed that we all have to go there again.

  • Liked — We needed a 1am check in due to a late flight in - they went out of their way to make it work
  • Disliked — It only lasted two nights
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutYankeeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2007

We were treated to this little slice of heaven as a Christmas gift from my parents. We live in Southern California and wanted to experience a little winter weather where there wouldn't be alot of people. The photos online do not do the atmosphere of the home justice. This is not a 5 star bed & breakfast and that's exactly what we loved about it. There's no tv or phone in the guest room just peace and quiet, perfect for us.

We were booked into the honeymoon suite complete with jacuzzi overlooking the mountains and a ski resort in the distance. There was a lovely electronic fireplace that added the perfect amount of warmth to the room. The shower is small but adequate and the entire room is filled with antiques adding to the charm of this old New England Inn. All rooms are furnished similarly.

It felt more like visiting dear friends in the country except they never bothered us with questions about where we were going and when would we return. On the other hand, if you want to know where to go and what to do, Rick and Charlene have plenty of suggestions and are more than willing to help you make the very most of your stay. We were so intrigued by them that we found ourselves visiting with them and their dog Lucy as if we'd known them forever.

They have a stable of beautiful horses that we found ourselves admiring from our 2nd floor window. The staff is very friendly and we spent time in the barn learning the names and some history of each horse.

Fortunately for us there was enough snow on the ground for a sleigh ride through the fields, along the river and Sugar Maple grove. It was cold but we dressed appropriately for the occasion and were provided blankets to add warmth. Did I mention the gorgeous horses!

Breakfasts were delicious and included fresh fruit and pastries plus eggs one morning and pancakes the next. We were one of three couples staying at the Inn so we were able to engage in interesting conversation as we ate breakfast and enjoyed the scenery from the picture windows in the dining area.

I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone that needs a getaway from the stresses of life. It's a wonderful location to sit, read, relax, meditate or just wander the area and admire the beautiful scenery. We were there in the dead of winter and it was still beautiful, I can only imagine what it must look like in the fall.

Our experience at Farm by the River was exceptional. I cried as we left like I was leaving dear friends, it just felt that comfortable.

  • Liked — Warm atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlnDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

Property: Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Address: 2555 W Side Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a horseback ride or a private carriage or sleigh ride for 2-4 - right outside your door from this charming inn with 9 units. All rooms or 2 room suites have private baths, flat screen TVs, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. Both the inn and the public stables are open yr-round. We are located off the beaten path but just 2 miles from Downtown North Conway and on 70 scenic acres along the Saco river and have 20 resident horses frolicking in the pastures! Complimentary snowshoeing, private sleigh or carriage rides for two; group sleigh or wagon, and pony rides are also available. Enjoy a complimentary full patio or fireside breakfast with views of the gardens and the mountains. Some rooms: 2-person jacuzzis and/or fireplaces. A deluxe 4 bedroom cottage-Alpine Moose Cottage is also available. We are a family-friendly inn, and offer a variety of packages: Ride & Stay, murder mystery theatre,family adventure, snowmobiling and skiing. We have a dog friendly room and cottage. Also on site: gardens, horseback all yr-river swimming & fly-fishing. Close to Storyland, Echo Lake State Park, Diana's bath to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farm By The River b&b With Stables
Farm By The River Bed And Breakfast With Stables Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing