We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Ranked #8 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Bottom Line Up Front: This is an amazingly quaint property with 2 of the most lovely and friendly owners I have ever met. The house is very cozy and the property is beautiful. If you are looking for a relaxing and welcoming experience, this is the place for you. As with any hotel or inn, the owners and the staff make the experience and the owners and small staff were nothing but friendly, welcoming and hospitable. North Conway is a beautiful area and this property make you feel like you are at a home away from home. This is by far one of the most unique experiences we have had and would go back again in a heart beat!
I am currently working in Bahrain and I was home on leave when we visited the property. My Fiance and I wanted to have a romantic ski weekend away from our busy schedule in Pennsylvania. The Farm allowed us to relax, slow down and enjoy the amazing landscape and atmosphere of the area.
We talked with Rick and Charlene before arriving and let them know that we would be in late so they put a note on the door and gave us directions to our room. They were very accommodating to our late arrival. We woke up the next morning with the slopes of Attitash on our mind. We walked downstairs and were greeted my 2 other guests and the innkeepers with coffee, juice and the most delicious blueberry muffins in the world. After our eggs made to order, we started talking to Rick about the area, skiing and the property. He gave us a tour of the inn and was so friendly and personable. We felt like we were at home with our parents or grandparents. Rick is very knowledgeable about the entire area and can point you in the right direction to whatever it is you like. He recommended the Moet microbrew for dinner after skiing. We loved the atmosphere, food and beer.
The next morning started of with another amazing breakfast and a conversation with Charlene and 2 other guests after. The communal feel of the property, the openness of all the guests and the welcoming spirit of the property and owners just made our experience that much better. We spent our afternoon meeting and petting all the horses and playing with the 2 goats on the property, who act more like dogs. We explored the sugar shack maple syrup producer and then made dinner plans with our new friends from the inn. We went to the Moet again and ended on another amazing note.
Sunday came and it was time to go, but not without some amazing french toast and coffee. we packed up pur car, said goodbye to all of our new friends, including the horses and goats. After thanking Rick and Charlene we were off. The entire experience of the weekend left us smiling all the way back to Pennsylvania.

Room Tip: Make sure you call the inn before hand to get the room you want. Every room is different and unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    41
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
143
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a terrific bed and breakfast located in a lovely valley just outside of North Conway. We loved staying so close but away from the busy wonderful town. Breakfast was delicious - the best blueberry muffins i have ever eaten. Plan to go back for a sleigh ride when there is more snow on the ground.

Room Tip: We loved having a view of the mountains while enjoying after-ski jacussi in the Carol Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 208judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice response.Look forward to seeing you in the future. Happy Spring, Charlene and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

HORRIBLE! stayed at the inn the weekend of march 15th. i tried posting to their site about our expirence , but they must filter them as it would not post. The place was a mess even the kitchen , and hello thats where you make people breakfast . our room was dirty .the inn keeper was very strange. dont be fooled about the images or postings on the site they are not true. very bad expierance overall .

Room Tip: none keep on driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just wanted to get away from it all and chose Farm by the river bed and breakfast. We were all set for a sleigh ride but due to unsafe conditions were not able to do that,which we totally understood. We did get to meet the goats and horses which were awsome. Rick and Charlene are very gracious hosts and it was not lost on us how hard they work to give their guests a great experience. The rooms were clean,warm and cozy and the homemade breakfasts were very filling and delicious.The house is filled with period furniture and you feel like you are back in time. You can hook up with wi fi and the cell phones worked great on the other hand, so no fear of being totally disconnected from the rest of the world.The house was pretty full and you could hear a pin drop . We also enjoyed meeting the other guests and Heidi their dog. So if you want a farm atmosphere with horses in the fields and mountains in the background ,that is away from the bustle of north conway but close this is the place to be. It actually was very rejuvinating and reviving of the spirit which we needed. We will be coming back some time for the horseback riding for sure.

Room Tip: some rooms have jacuzzis some dont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionpearllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aston, pa.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Farm by the River" in North Conway, New Hampshire has truly become our "Home away from Home". We have visited the "Farm" twice now and have felt so at home with our hosts, Rick and Charlene and their wonderful dog, Heidi. One could really spend one's entire vacation at the "Farm"itself with its beautiful views and superb homemade breakfasts created with love by Rick and Charlene daily. Of course, having horses and goats on the property just adds to its charm. We LOVE it here and plan to return again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaandmarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We so enjoyed having you here and we look forward to seeing you again. Charlene and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
470 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Plenty to do and see year round at this B&B, originally built in 1750.The owners, Rick &
Charlene, are very warm and pleasant and easy to get to know. Plus they serve up great breakfasts--homemade waffles, muffins & pancakes together with eggs, ham and/or bacon. The B&B has 17 resident horses for riding separately or for pulling a sleigh or carriage. My wife & I toured most of the 10 rooms .All were decorated nicely and very comfortable. Some have fireplaces and/or Jacuzzis. Our room had a fireplace and a view of the nearby mountains (the "Notch Room"). Our next trip to North Conway, NH will definitely include a stay at the Farm by the River.

Room Tip: The town of North Conway is less than 2 miles away and has good shopping. One of the rooms has a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband & I returned to the Farm by the River for a 2nd visit, & again stayed in the Notch room for 7 nights in the last week of February 2013.

Rick & his wife Charlene are the most welcoming and friendly hosts to their guests. Those people who leave negative reviews clearly do not appreciate how hard they work using their home to run both a busy B&B and stables business.

We enjoyed a sleigh ride for 2 on a perfect winter's day - blue skies, sunshine and pristine snow. As a guest staying at the farm, you are also able to use the complimentary snowshoes provided - we went to Echo Lake State Park, Diana's Baths, and Whittaker Woods
Northern New England has had plenty of snow this winter, and the Mount Washington Valley is perfect for a winter sports holiday.

Northern Extremes in Bartlett or Bretton Woods is recommended for snowmobiling tours:-
The 4 hour Mount Washington tour included snow covered forests and Jefferson Notch (which is the highest public road in New Hampshire at 3009 feet), and has wonderful views.

For non-skiers or non winter sports enthusiasts, there are many restaurants to enjoy, tax free shopping in North Conway village, and the Mount Washington Valley Observatory Museum (which has free admission).

We are hoping to return again to the Farm by the River for a 3rd visit, and to enjoy wonderful New Hampshire and the spectacular Mount Washington Valley

Room Tip: The Notch Room is very quiet, and has views of the horses grazing and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rexidnight, Owner at Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments- we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.2 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
Cranmore Inn Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

Property: Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
Address: 2555 W Side Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a horseback ride or a private carriage or sleigh ride for 2-4 - right outside your door from this charming inn with 9 units. All rooms or 2 room suites have private baths, flat screen TVs, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. Both the inn and the public stables are open yr-round. We are located off the beaten path but just 2 miles from Downtown North Conway and on 70 scenic acres along the Saco river and have 20 resident horses frolicking in the pastures! Complimentary snowshoeing, private sleigh or carriage rides for two; group sleigh or wagon, and pony rides are also available. Enjoy a complimentary full patio or fireside breakfast with views of the gardens and the mountains. Some rooms: 2-person jacuzzis and/or fireplaces. A deluxe 4 bedroom cottage-Alpine Moose Cottage is also available. We are a family-friendly inn, and offer a variety of packages: Ride & Stay, murder mystery theatre,family adventure, snowmobiling and skiing. We have a dog friendly room and cottage. Also on site: gardens, horseback all yr-river swimming & fly-fishing. Close to Storyland, Echo Lake State Park, Diana's bath to name a few. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farm By The River b&b With Stables
Farm By The River Bed And Breakfast With Stables Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing