We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful & personal experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Restful & personal experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I found this Inn in Bedandbreakfast.com and am so thankful that I did. My husband and I were able to go away on a restful weekend away and enjoy a personal experience with kind innkeepers who were very sensitive to making our experience special. They were even able to accommodate to my gluten free dietary needs right down to making gluten free snacks! Wonderful experience. I would definitely recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryelizabethl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    46
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
93
369
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Returned to the Buttonwood Inn for a vacation in the mountains and had an amazing vacation. The location is perfect for adult or child activities. Paula is an excellent cook and accommodates diet restrictions and child preferences. Hope to make it a yearly retreat. Maybe try it in another season too. Can't believe how identical the innkeeper is to Bill Murray!! Made me laugh!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Sipping tea on the porch after breakfast, taking in the lawns, flowers and foliage - the perfect way to start the day while at Buttonwood - Mount Surprise. Every breakfast was different, creative and tasty, Paula puts a lot of love and thought into her cooking as Bill does with the service. Freshly baked cookies or muffins served every evening for anyone that felt peckish. Our room (Suite 10) was perfect with our own private entrance and parking spot. Excellent hospitality from a couple that have nurtured a beautiful inn in a picture perfect corner at Mount Surprise. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Suite 10 for a private entrance and private parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S7J7S7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

As often repeat visitors we keep returning here. It is quiet, comfortable, clean, relaxing, and classic New England. Lots of nice folks as well as very hospitable innkeepers. As active visitors (hiking, biking, etc.) we really like the hot tub and the secluded location. Just a great place to unwind and relax.

Room Tip: worth it to get a more spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_the_bike_racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I liked the Buttonwood Inn a lot. Bill and Paula welcomed us well. Paula's breakfast was good. I loved the Broccoli puree a lot!! I thought it must be awful and inedible but it was surprisingly nice. The rooms were small but very clean. We loved the location. It was so quiet and amidst all the greenery I felt close to nature. The decor was traditional New England type. I liked it so much that I made a mental note of decorating my own bedroom and dining in a similar way.

The only problem we faced was the private bath. It is not attached to the room which is mentioned in their website. What we did not know was the pathway to the private bath which is outside our room and next to the staircase is a common walk area for people who stay in Room 6 too. So every time I had to go to the restroom in the night, I can't walk up in my night wear. It would be awkward for both parties if one had to run into each other in a night wear. I mean it is not exactly next door to the room. Just a few 5 steps.

Well perhaps the above mentioned is not exactly an issue and can be tackled but what I did not like the most was the shower area. It is just too small. My husband and I are of average body size(not slim but surely not very fat. U could say plump), and we had some difficulty in taking a comfortable bath there. The shower area is cramped. If you are on the heavier or taller side, it will be difficult to get a good shower. The bathroom was clean and everything was in place. But we did not like the shower area. It is just too small for a comfortable bath.

3.8 stars but not 4 or more mainly because of the bath over all.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about the bath before booking. Ask for an attached bathroom. You may want to l...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like most hotels the request to help save water by putting towels on wash unless absolutely necessary was there. Recycling material options.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msme310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillButtonwood, Owner at Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed most aspects of our Bed and Breakfast including décor, ambiance, and food. We were sorry you were not happy with our traditional Room 5 with the private bathroom a few steps outside of the guest room. We understand your concern about running into another guest from Room 6 during the night. However, room 6 has a bathroom in the guest room, so it would be rare for Room 5 guests to encounter anyone in the hallway from that room during the night. Robes are provided in every guest room, particularly for Rooms 5 and 4, for the modesty and comfort of our guests.

Room 5 is a comfortably sized room with a king bed and a sitting area. The private bathroom is one of our larger ones with a chair in it for dressing and can hold two people in it at one time if they chose to do so. The shower stall is a typical size and many guests of various sizes used the shower without discomfort. In fact, many repeat guests reserve Room 5 for its comfort and size believing it’s a good value at the lower end price point.

There were several other guest rooms available at the time you reserved online, each with full tub showers in the rooms. You also noted that you were aware of the exterior private bath so we can only conclude that you chose room 5 because of its lower price. You never mentioned your feelings about the room’s bath despite our lengthy conversations in the dining room and elsewhere on the property. If you had advised we would have been happy to upgrade you to another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wonderful location - spotlessly clean - large comfortable rooms and beds - very relaxing sitting room - -excellent helpful but unobtrusive hosts etc etc

Bears in the garden were an extra bonus too.

The reviews are really spot on so why not book and give it a try we guarantee you will not be disappointed - if you live nearby you'll become a regular - we wish we were and hope to return one year when we do New England in the fall.

Trip Advisor reviews led us here and for that we are very grateful - thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I had been traveling for 2 weeks and slept in a variety of beds, some of which left me with a very sore back. We were only at the Buttonwood Inn for 2 nights but the bed was wonderful and I felt so much better. Paula serves a great breakfast and evening snack. Bill is very knowledgeable about the area and gives good advice about activities and good places to hike or view great scenery. We are very glad we picked the Buttonwood Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Property: Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Address: 64 Mount Surprise Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-6508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy nature and the peaceful atmosphere of the mountains and forest, The Buttonwood Inn on Mt. Surprise offers that and more while being close to everything. We are situated on more than five secluded acres of field and forests, two miles from the village of North Conway. Our hiking trails on Bartlett Mountain are accessed out our back door where you can follow the myriad of intersecting trails for hours. Within five minutes, the peacefulness of the mountain trail will envelope you. The Buttonwood Inn has been a Select Registry member since 1999. In 2013, The Buttonwood Inn became a member of the Diamond Collection. The Daily Meal named The Buttonwood Inn as one of "The Top 50 US Bed-and-Breakfasts for Food" in May 2013. The Buttonwood Inn has been awarded the Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. In October 2010, Travel Channel listed The Buttonwood Inn as one of the "Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing