We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express North Conway(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
North Conway Grand Hotel(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$144
$129
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$131
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Ridge Resort(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$109
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Mountain Hotel and Resort(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$146
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stonehurst Manor(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastern Slope Inn(North Conway)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
501
47
12
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
47
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaula makesnew englandhomemade sausagehot tuboff the beaten pathan amazing cookhiking trailsexcellent hostsbed and breakfastcupcakesquiet areamaple syrupfront porchcookiescommon areaseach morningnorth conway area
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 569 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you like to have all comfort like at home, enjoy the Bill’s welcome and Paula’s breakfast, swim in the pool of the garden (in season), relax in the lounge or the sitting room, sleep in the quietness of the wood, go for a walk in the forest, as well as have a sunset in the morning (you will understand if lodging there), do not hesitate, go the Buttonwood B&B.
The White Mountains and the Settlers' Green Outlet Village are very close.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABSKBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were so sorry we didn't stay longer. What a fabulous experience! From the initial tour, the 5:00 hot, homemade treats, the the beautiful room and of course, the breakfast to die for. Everything was excellent and Paula and Bill make sure all your needs are met. The location of the Buttonwood Inn is great and we got to visit many historical sites and saw some beautiful scenery in the area. This is one place I would recommend to all. Put it on your Bucket List.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13button
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a beautiful place in a beautiful area. Bill and Paula have overlooked no detail when putting together their fantastic offering at the Buttonwood Inn. Bill gives every guest a guided tour upon arrival and explains the ins and outs of the place. Guests have the use of a communal fridge, computer and a large-screen TV with a huge stock of DVD's should they wish to watch them. The TV's in the bedrooms will also accept a DVD.

The delicious smell of Paula's baking pervades the inn for short periods during the day, giving it one of those 'homely' smells that just makes you hungry!

The rooms are very comfortable and well stocked with bathroom amenities. The shower was excellent and very easy to figure out. They even have instructions on how to use the shower, which is a lesson that many other establishments could learn!

Breakfasts are nice and they can accommodate special requests such as low fat diets, as long as you speak up and ask.

Bill is mainly front of house, while Paula seems to spend most of her time in the kitchen or behind the scenes. Bill is very keen to be helpful and keeps his cellphone with him all day for guests to ring if they have any problems.

They provide a tea service, which seems to appear in the afternoon, but disappears about 8.30. Also, as far as I could see there is hot water in a flask and a range of flavoured teas, but no coffee. If there was one area that could be improved it would be this. We like a hot drink before we go o bed and this was the only B&B we encountered where we couldn't get one. The hot water was all gone at 8pm and wasn't replenished. Maybe we should have knocked and asked, but we didn't want to disturb Bill and Paula, as they work long enough hours anyway. This isn't a big problem at all, but if this area of operations were improved then this B&B would be absolutely perfect. As it is, it's much better than just good, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

This is a high class establishment run by a really caring couple that clearly want to get it right. I have no hesitation in giving it five stars!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOM-C--LIVERPOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at The Buttonwood Inn and it certainly won't be our last. We wanted to go to the Fryeburg Fair in Maine and since it is only a short drive from the Inn, the Buttonwood is the perfect place to stay. Bill and Paula are the most welcoming hosts and Paula's gourmet breakfasts and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon are so delicious. The Inn is only a mile or two from so many restaurants and Bill gives great advice on which ones to enjoy as well as discount coupons. He also gives a Mt. Washington weather report at breakfast and will make reservations for guests who want to take the Cog Railway to the top. The Inn is decorated beautifully with so many amenities and it is so quiet and peaceful it is hard to leave. We had our favorite Room 7 again with views of the front and back of the property and a sitting area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaystateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This B & B was just off the beaten track. It was close to civilization yet set back enough to take you away from the real world. The Bill and Paula were quite friendly and most helpful in directing us to the area attractions - we visited sites that we had no idea about and it made our visit complete. The food was excellent. The room was quaint and decorated quite nicely. We would definitely return to the Buttonwood Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews