We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrive early” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub

May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #1 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Arrive early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very good food, at least the beef stew and chicken pot pie we ordered. We try the key lemon pie and the baileys cheesecake: for very sweet teeth only. Service has been fast and warm. Note that we arrive at the restaurant at 5:30 pm. Less than thirty minutes later, it was full. We will return there in a future travel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    253
    78
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belnan, Nova Scotia
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We happened upon this place as the first stop we made and were recommended to go to had an hour wait.....then on our way to the second recommendation we ran into lots of July 4 traffic, so we pulled into May's. It was literally a meant to be experience. The place is FULL of fun antiques and toys...cute little displays put together in every corner. So as far as decor we were sold! Then the food....excellent all of it. For an appetizer we had the Irish potatoe balls, which May told us after our meal that it was her husbands grandmothers recipe...a must have if you go...deliscious. I then had the chicken curry that comes with rice and fries, the Irish way May said, she shared that the special curry spice is brought in right from Ireland. My fella had a burger, one of the best he's ever had he said....and that's saying something! Go there, eat, drink and be merry :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarStar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled into this restaurant after seeing good reviews and the food and service were amazing. I was traveling with older parents, one of whom has issues with a lot of foods, and it was great. The fish was the best ever, shepherds pie was made with lamb and chicken pot pie was huge and delicious. We wanted to go back a second night but they were closed on Monday nights.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Thursday's 3 course dinner for two was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Went here on a recommendation because Thursday is 3 course dinner for two for $29.00. Was not disappointed. The restaurant itself is very different and unique with LOTS of stuff on the walls, celing, etc. Staff was extremely friendly. Owner asked if we were happy with food and said good-bye on our way out. My husband and I both chose the Acorn squash and bacon soup. Second course we both had the meatloaf. We love meat loaf and weren't disappointed. Portion was very large so that we had leftovers for our next night's dinner. Just wish that the vegetable wasn't squash again, after having it in the soup. No big deal though. I chose Bailey's cheesecake and my husband chose the strawberry shortcake for dessert. I liked his shortcake much better. Overall, a good experience. I just wish that we would have chose to eat on the patio because the view was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Atmosphere was great, a band was on in the bar, staff very polite and efficient. Food as expected, a bit stodgy and big portions.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stoneylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 

Been to May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing