We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our family just enjoyed a four-day stay in the "Presidential Homes" accommodations at the Resort. They are lovely, well-appointed 4 bedroom houses situated close to each other and provided a perfect venue for almost 50 people, including many small children. The houses were spotlessly clean with comfortable (deep mattress) beds, lots of open living areas and large kitchens. We even used the deck and grill on our one warm day. The children loved the Kahuna Laguna water park, the playground that also served as the setting for a nightly bonfire, and the kid-friendly hike to Diana's baths nearby. Customer service at this resort is outstanding as we were tended to on a daily basis just like hotel guests - very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Rosemary C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the Presidential Homes for your family gathering. As you mentioned they are perfect for families or multiple families to stay under one roof. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was looking for a close mini-vacation w/ my 2 boys so decided to take them to the Kahuna Laguna waterpark which is attached to the Red Jacket Mountain View Resort. The staff is so helpful and friendly here - I can't say enough nice things about them. Our room was large and comfortable with nice bedding and pillows. Flatscreen tv, mini fridge & nice big windows looking toward the valley. All in all - a nice little 24 hour get-a-way!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaineGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

MaineGal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 24 hour vacation. We are very happy that you and your boys enjoyed our resort. We are also excited that you noticed how friendly of a team we have, as we enjoy putting smiles on faces. Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a great time here...Well worth it..From check in to check out, don't have any complaints. The Indoor water park was really fun..We loved the wave pool..I got my exercise in jumping those waves with my grandkids...Ate 3 times at the restaurant and it was very good. 2 of the time was for the breakfast buffet which was included in the price. Our room was a bit outdated but nothing bad & it was clean..we had 2 full beds & another room with bunk beds. It did snow one night so the out door fire was canceled, but they had story telling, horse drawn wagon rides, ceramics..a good size arcade & more..I would have to say, if you don't enjoy kids than this is not the place for you on the weekends..We had a great time..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

mamme,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your most recent stay. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy all of what we have to offer. From Kahuna Laguna to Champney's Dining Room, The Arcade and all of our other great activities. You will have to come back for the Bon Fire as the long winter is finally over. Actually wait in the forecast for tonight possible snow, so better yet come enjoy the 82 degree Kahuna Laguna. See you soon.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The water park is amazing - fun and clean! The lifeguards-all teenagers/young adults-really took their jobs seriously. My son (6 1/2) and daughter (5) were thoroughly entertained. The hotel also had activities, like movie night/toasting marshmallows/etc. Our favorite was the horse-drawn wagon rides. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast - offered many choices and reasonably priced. And this hotel is pet friendly - Harry, our 3 mo. lab puppy, also loved it. The pet friendly room was very clean and on first floor with 2nd door to grassy area - very convenient! Lastly, staff was amazing. Thanks Stephanie and Paul, who checked us in. To Gary, who answered all my reservation questions. To Theresa, who was so excited to meet Harry - thanks! And the housekeeping staff - thanks for keeping our room neat and clean for us!

Room Tip: We loved room 234!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksbckbsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

ksbckbsmom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent stay. We are glad to hear that your Family including Harry had a great time. Also thank you for the recognition of the staff members. We all love what we do and we are glad that it shows. Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Indoor water park is awesome! They had an Easter egg hunt for kids. Camp fire at night. Plenty of activities on site to keep you entertained. Arcade, seed planting, pottery class for adults, alcohol served in water park. Definitely recommend to families!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulsadriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Tulsadriver,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay. We are glad that your family enjoyed all of our activities and Kahuna Laguna. The Easter Egg Hunt was a success this year. Seeing 150+ children running across our front lawn to see what the Easter Bunny had left behind was a joy to see. Also all of the custom flower pots came out great as well. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future and rest assured we will have plenty of activities.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just got back from a Mother-Daughter Weekend and overall I have to say the kids loved it, which is what counts and what they'll remember. Putting smiles on your child's face is priceless, even if the cost to you is sucking it up because you wouldn't normally stay at this caliber hotel. There were many positives about the hotel: 1) watersides were great, 2) spa was pretty good, 3) food exceeded expectations and was certainly on par or better than anything you'd find in the area where you would take kids, 4) they have an arcade, 5) they have ceramics for the kids to purchase and paint, and 6) the staff was really friendly and down-to-earth.

To be frank, the biggest upset was actually the other parents at the hotel! I have never seen worse parenting or worse behaviors from parents in my life ever. So to have them all in the same hotel or vicinity was rather nauseating. For example, we went to the waterpark 3 times and during those 3 times we wanted to go in the hot tub before running back to our rooms. There is a sign that clearly indicates NO ONE UNDER 6 ALLOWED -- yet we saw at least 25+ kids in swimmers, YUCK! Everyone who has kids KNOWS what that means. There is nothing grosser than that. Then there were the parents in the arcade who actually picked up their children and placed them on top of the video games or even in the basketball hoop area. Again, Darwin awards pending. There were the parents, who visibly drank and then tried parking diagonally across 2 or 3 spots, or the parents who just plain neglected their child(ren). An oversized family bombarded into the building and left their toddler trailing along. She could no longer see them and started to cry. I held the door open for her and reassured her that her parents were right there waiting for her but she was so upset it was heartbreaking.

As for the aesthetics of the room -- well, let's just say it's a good time to reminisce about those family trips from the 70s where you went to a Howard Johnson's or Best Western with your family and thought it was great. It's dated. No getting around that. A facelift of paint and new comforters would do them justice. But the bathrooms need a serious overhaul, first and foremost, a ventilation system. There is none, which creates a serious stench in the hallways that permeates and overwhelms each floor. So long as you're prepared for this, you can manage, like I said before, do it for the kids. They will love it and overall it will be a lovely memorable weekend. If you do not stay at anything less than a Hilton, and can't deal for a weekend, then buy day passes to the waterpark instead. The hotel offers such good deals that it's literally like paying for the waterpark and breakfast and getting the hotel room for free. No complaints from me. I'd suck it up for a weekend and go buy yourself a nice handbag afterwards for being such a good sport! I'm picky and I managed to rough it. I read the reviews though and knew what I was in for. Hopefully this will help others just like me.

Room Tip: Stay far away from the waterpark and restaurant. 352 was perfect. Right near the lot and easier to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kspadegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Kspadegal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most recent visit. We are glad that your children had a wonderful time with all of the activities that we provide and Kahuna Laguna. Thank you for your feedback on the décor of the rooms and we listen to every comment as we look for ways to improve. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future and you will have to show us your new purse.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The staff at the resort is so nice and helpful, even my kids commented on it. Kahuna Laguna was great, clean, and the lifeguarding staff was on top of everything. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend family getaway!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btykodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

btykodi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your most recent visit. We are glad that you enjoyed everything about your stay. We have had a fun winter and the nice part of being at the Red Jacket is when you are tired of the cold and snow you can warm up in Kahuna Laguna. Spring is here and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
689 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#11 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $151 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations that feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our four-bedroom Presidential homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing