We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The rooms were clean & pleasant with a breathtaking view. The staff were friendly and always accommodating. The amenities were fabulous. There was something to do all day long for the children as well as the adults. The food on the premises was good but not gourmet. There are however many nearby wonderful restaurants to choose from. I would highly recommend this resort anytime of the year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Cathleen B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit. We are glad you feel the same about the resort as we do. We truly are a 4 season resort and we have a difficult time picking our favorite season. I guess the only solution is to come visit a minimum of once each season. See you in Spring!!!!

Regards,

Jon and Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed for a night on a recent group trip. We had a prearranged buffet for dinner that really knocked our socks off! There were so many things to choose from and Everything from the Butternut Squash Soup to the dessert spread (including mini eclairs) was really delicious-even the salads were great (full of mixed greens, sprouts and more!) The breakfast buffet was plentiful as well: french toast, belgian waffles, ettc. I really appreciated that there were food options for vegetarians! Service while dining and at the front desk was good. Our rooms looked out over the mountains and even had small private porches. There was a water park onsite which some of the group took advantage of and seemed to enjoy. I liked the downstairs bar with a friendly bartender, sitting room by a fireplace and backgammon tables. Rooms were spacious and clean. Rates are reasonable for this region and season and they offer packages that include entry to the Kahuna Laguna Waterpark.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and could hear kids the next floor up running down the hall; request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Jennifer J,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the view from the resort. Next time you come back you will have to bring your bathing suit to enjoy Kahuna Laguna.

Regards,

Jon and Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Red Jacket for the first time in a loft room with our two children, ages 6 and 5. The front desk clerk who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful. We had purchased the water park package, and our price was $369 for a Friday evening (plus tax). Cookies at the front desk were a nice bonus.

The decor in the hallways and the doors were very, very dated looking. I hoped our room was better, and it was, to a degree. The carpet has been replaced in the past few years, if I had to guess, and there was an updated armoire/closet. The bathroom, frankly, was gross. Very outdated, mold in the grout. A shower fixture that is older than I am (1960s vintage?). The sink counter top had been updated. The stairs leading to the loft don't appear to be code (very small). Also, I'm 5'6 but had to duck to avoid hitting my head at the top of the stairs. The loft worked well for my kids. However, I would caution anyone with children under 5-6 to steer clear. There is a railing but the heads of both of the loft twin beds were up against the railing, which was probably ~12 inches higher. The hotel does warn families with kids < 3 years old to avoid the loft rooms. Also, there is a sink upstairs, which is handy, but if you have a younger child who may need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, keep in mind that there is no light above the loft stairs. Not a big deal, but just something for families with smaller children to keep in mind.

We went to the water park, which was very well done. The employees were very attentive, polite and professional. The lifeguards were absolutely on point, paying very close attention without being unreasonably strict. The locker rooms were immaculate. Overall, a great experience.

We made our way back to the room for showers to find that the shower assembly was broken. There was a metal piece on the ancient fixture that you had to pull to turn on the shower, and it had basically detached and wasn't functional. We decided to go to dinner and report the shower issue to the front desk on the way out. A front desk clerk assured us that someone would attend to the shower while we were out to dinner. Upon arrival back to our room, we found that it had been repaired. Relief!

We took advantage of the breakfast buffet the next morning and really enjoyed it. The food was great, and the employees were polite and efficient.

This hotel has wonderful customer service and a fantastic location, but ownership has not put the money into the upgrades that one would expect for the prices they are charging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

juanitahk22,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our resort and we apologize that you were disappointed with the décor of the hallways and your room. We will take into consideration your comments when we perform our capital improvement plan. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Jon and Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We just returned from a three day weekend at the RJ. My wife and I treated our daughter, husband and two grandsons age 4 and 2. We stayed at one the new town houses 15 years ago but this time decided to stay in the hotel itself.
The check in was efficient, as was the bellman who assisted me in bringing hordes of luggage to two rooms on the third floor. It took two trips and the assistance of a large luggage rack to get all the stuff in.

My wife and I had reserved a king sized room and we had also reserved a double room, cot and pack and play for our daughter’s family. As it turned out, our king bedded room had a pull out sofa and otherwise was much larger than my daughter’s room. We therefore decided to swap rooms but came up with the long shot idea of asking if, just by chance, we might get another king room adjacent to ours which would be perfect for the grandkids and their parents. To our surprise and delight, the folks at the front desk easily accommodated our request and we ended up with two adjacent king rooms, an arrangement that was perfect. The children could be in for nap and we could be a few feet away enjoying each other and watching TV. And, I might point out we no longer needed a cot, so that saved us $60, not big deal in the whole scheme of things, but a nice surprise.

As the weekend progressed we all begin to comment that the staff was consistently pleasant and always helpful. Everyone, every day, we uncounted was behaving in the most professional way we could expect from hospitality staffers. We travel a lot and have rarely experienced a more responsive group of helpful and pleasant folks.

The restaurant, lounge, and bar were all comfortable and reasonably priced. There were planned activities for the children each day and early evening. I need to point out that last year in Stowe we took one grandchild for a twenty-minute sleigh ride which costs us $250. It was very nice, but I was a fool to spend that kind of money – more than ten dollars a minute. Here at the RJ their sleigh ride was free. I repeat, free! As were all the kid’s activities except for the water park. It is well run and a great winter addition. It is a little pricy but probably needs to be priced accordingly given the large staff and cost of energy. It, like the main property is very well run.

At check-out I called to the attention of the front desk staff a couple of small matters on my bill which needed adjustment and the adjustments were made, with a smile.

While the property is aged, it is well kept and, as I mentioned, extremely well run.

This is an ideal place for families, but not so for adults without children or grandchildren. We –with our two grandkids - sat next to a couple who looked as if there were being tortured as they were surrounded by multiple groups like mine. The RJ should make an effort to separate childless couples from the much larger population of families. There upstairs dining room can easily accommodate this kind of separation. All guests would prefer the separation.

These are good folks, doing a very good job and my wife and I solute them all.

Room Tip: We loved 323 and 325. Generous sized king rooms with pull out sofa and nice front view of road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

George F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your most recent stay. We thank you for highlighting what a great team is here at the Red Jacket. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family of 4 (daughters 10 and 8) spent just one night here, and it was amazing. With the connected Kahuna Laguna indoor water park, they didn't want to leave. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced, and the view of the mountains during a snowfall was surreal.
To top it all off, when we went to our car the next morning to pack up, the employees had cleaned the new snow off our vehicle for us!

Room Tip: They have quiet hours, but we must have been under a room filled entirely with hyper children or sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Chris B ,

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the Red Jacket along with Kahuna Laguna. When it snows here it is magical and we try our best to clean off every car for our exercise for the day. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our dining options as well and we just launched our new menu so everyone can enjoy some new options. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I came to the red jacket for a holiday party for his work. Everything was great! The staff is very helpful and friendly. And the best part is in the morning they have complimentary coffee in the valley view room! Would definitely recommend the resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Felicia G,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay during your company holiday party. We were pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves. I have to agree that the coffee in the valley view room is a great way to start the day (I just started my day by looking out the windows in the valley view room watching the snow!!!). Look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Pros -
- Terrific Waterpark - great for kids, clean, fun, not crowded.
- Amazing Breakfast - with a view of Mt Washington and the valley.
- Lots to do in the area - close to skiing, Mt Washington, outlets.
- Kids Activities - movie night, story telling, bonfire, game room, hot chocolate.
- Helpful & Friendly Staff.
Cons -
- Poor beds / bedding / sleep quality.
- Clog in the tub.

Room Tip: The view from the mountain view rooms is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrEarl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

MrEarl2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and outline the pro's and con's of your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed the area along with all of the activities we provide. I apologize for the clog and the bed that you did not enjoy. When you have a moment if you could email me at jsallinen@redjacketmountainview.com and provide your last name and date of stay, so we can investigate the bed further. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future.

Regards,

Jon and The Red Jacket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
663 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $148 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations that feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our four-bedroom Presidential homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing