We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a couple things keep it from excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisville, Vermont
Level Contributor
256 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“a couple things keep it from excellence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We returned to the RJMV after 5 years. We used to go here when the kids were little. Thought we'd return for a trip down memory lane. To begin with they upgraded our room to mountain view with a balcony. VERY nice. The room was modern (remodeled?) and very clean. We were put at the end of a long, long hall, which kept us away from screaming kids nearer to the waterpark. don't know if that was intentional. Free newspaper was nice as well. Staff were friendly and professional. We did not use the indoor park. The outdoor pool is nice. We did not eat in either restaurant because of the prices.
And those couple things:
the hallway outside our room smelled like dirty feet. I have to wonder when was the last time the
rugs were completely cleaned.
The fitness room was NOT air conditioned! You've got to be kidding! A place that spends ALOT on a waterpark can't air condition the fitness room?
Overall, this is a place worth coming to, even if you don't use the water park.

Room Tip: room away from waterpark if you do not have little kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carefultraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Welcome back! Your return trip earned us some nice feedback including Clean, Friendly and Remodeled. We will attend to the nuances that shorted us that star and ensure you we stomp out defects with hopes to score EXCELLENCE was met from your next rating. Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone the great fun you had and we hope to see you on a sixth if not sooner year trip back!

Steve Lambert & Miss Judy Queen of Clean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    343
    130
    47
    28
See reviews for
984
113
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Candor, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family stayed here at the end of April / Early may with our 18 month old daughter and were not as impressed as reviews would lead you to believe. The hotel is rather outdated and is nothing special as far as a hotel goes. The rooms are not the cleanest and could use some updates, even though the hotel had a bath we still ended up using our blow up pool within the tub because it seemed too dirty to even put her into the tub. The walls are paper thin which for a family resort is not ideal when a loud family is next to you with a young child that usually goes to bed pretty early.The resort theme is a bit misleading as it has a small indoor water park, maybe my expectations are high, but there are 4 slides and some smaller stuff for kids to play on; One nice thing about it was that we were only 1 of probably 4 families using it and they did still keep it open and functioning during their advertised hours. There is a small swing set and an outdoor pool that was not yet open while we were there. The town itself is nice with the outlets but once the ski season ends it appears things shut down pretty good. We were very limited in restaurant options and other things to do, which i half expected due to the time of year but went based on so many good reviews for this resort. We also paid for the breakfast with a package and were not impressed with the restaurant service either. One morning they did not know how many guests to expect so they did a buffet style breakfast instead of their normal menu and the other morning we spent far too much time of our day waiting in the restaurant to eat breakfast when we had plans for the day. Overall we were content with the stay but based on my experiences in travelling I cannot give this any higher than a 3-rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Friends for New York: Thank you for choosing us and the core of your posting seems to be that we were not great. We do strive to earn GREATS day in and day out...Thankfully Keeko of our Kahuna Laguna can't read as his award winning Water Park is actually one of the biggest in New England AND is rated in the top 10 in the USA for overall satisfaction: To wit, we don't rest on our laurels and will continue to provide resort activities, rolling acres of beauty and the best splashes in New England for everyone...We hope your next visit you may try our Brand New homes, and town homes and enjoy some of the latest touches and residential feels while being in irreplaceable environments in the Valley!

Reserve some of our new accommodations and seek me out for a Hello so that we can climb up in your personal reviews to atleast five stars!

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and have a great summer.

Steve Lambert, GM & Alex Johnson, Kahuna Laguna Chief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family just returned from our NH vacation, this Resort was the perfect spot to spend time with each other after a crazy spring schedule of work and sports. Each and every staff member there went out of their way to smile at you, asked you if you needed anything or if there was something they could do to make it better. We stayed 5 nights/6 days. The water park, the outdoor pool, game room, restaurant and lounge were second to none! The kids quoted it as "there best vacation ever"! They didn't want to leave. On the occasions we did, they rushed back to do anything and everything there. The rooms are spotless, food delicious, cocktails yummy, a spa to die for, daily activities for everyone, a water park and pool where you have hours of fun!!! Service on the spot and immediate every time we wanted to eat or drink. You have got to experience it for yourself, you will not regret it!! And like us, will be counting down the days you can return!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the back facing the pool! Had our own outside table and chairs! All the views were be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
BEST REVIEW EVER! Thank you Kristen for allowing us to be your Vacation away from Providence for Five Nights! We love getting to know new friends and have them explore our area and of course resort all while enjoying family time together. We love the badges of cleanliness, super friendly, helpful and the hospitality you've given us. That's what makes us tick from bellman to chef!

Tell the kids to get great grades this fall and we will scheme with you for a surprise return for something such as a Polar Express Christmas stay! Email me directly slambert@redjacketmountainview.com and stay in touch for any travel plans back.

Thank you again from all of our resort team, we're beaming like the kids are!

Steve Lambert & Resort Stars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We checked all the reviews prior to deciding on spending the high dollar cost. Figured it had to be good for that amount and with those reviews. We were disappointed in every area. The rooms are original 1950's decor. We had a room with a loft. I almost fell from the stairs because there isn't a railing on one side. The restaurants, we passed on them. They looked scary. The indoor water park was a small version of what you're use to. It costs $40 without a room and $20 with the room. The outdoor pool had some weird edges that made it difficult for the kids to hang on, especially dangerous in the deep end for the kids. The grounds were so so with only the front portion of the building having any views. We paid Disney prices and received motel quality. So we left after our first night and found a gem in the North Country.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotthardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncasville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family just returned from a July 4th long weekend at the Red Jacket Mountainview Resort - our second stay this year. Once again, we had a truly wonderful experience. While it is true that the rooms are not brand-spanking new, they are clean and comfortable. We find the beds to be especially comfortable. We just take into consideration that this is a very well-used family resort with lots of young kids abusing the furniture :-) We stayed in a loft room, which while right next to the restauraunt and the stairs, was very quiet with a lovely mountain view. What really sets this place apart is the friendliness of the staff. Smiles, helpfulness and greetings wherever you turn. (The homebaked cookies help, too!!). We used the water park and pool - a lot - and had to peel our 9 year old son away from the water slides on our last day. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: If choosing a loft room, be warned that there is really little barrier between the loft and the down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsC25098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aww: we loved your recap and feel a tad bit guilty in keeping your 9 year old from wanting to head back home! Tell him to stay being a great kid and we'll repeat your memory making with new and fun things he'll never forget! Thank you for the mentions of the cleanliness and resort wide experience everyone has again. We look forward to your next jaunt up and great time together!

Steve Lambert & Housekeeping Stars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were on a Caravan tour of New England and while all of the hotels Caravan uses are very nice the same offers for the breakfast buffet get boring. The Red Jacket offered eggs Benedict , an omelette station and a real treat, waffles with strawberries and fresh whipped cream! The food was fantastic and the service was quick and friendly! What a nice treat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room into front of the resort for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingo002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Coach Guest: We love the accolades on the North Conway leg of your East Coast trip! Our staff loved the five star review of the breakfast and yes, the hand crafted omelet and waffle bar are huge hits! We are pleased to be part of your vacation memories and whether you return with Caravan or another bunch of friends: we will be poised to help make more great times happen!

Thank you again, Chef James and Steve Lambert, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family stayed at the Red Jacket during 4th of July week. We had planned to stay for two nights but added a night because there was more we wanted to do in the area (will do separate reviews for Cranmore Mountain Adventure Park, Red Parka Pub, Conway Scenic Railroad, Bagels Plus, Stairway Café and Kahuna Laguna). With very few exceptions the front desk staff was very accommodating, friendly and enthusiastic. They had a great way of engaging kids of all ages including my sometimes not so outgoing teenaged son. They had something fun to say or share every time we passed through the lobby. They seemed to genuinely enjoy working there so keep up the great work management / ownership!

We had a couple of minor issues that I mention below for other travelers to be aware of in case these things matter to them. The overall rating for this hotel was not impacted by these experiences - we really did have a great time and will be back!

Our room was great - with a loft for the kids. It was bright, spacious and clean (other than a pair of underwear my son found under his bed - not ours). We had a refrigerator which came in handy as well. I'd love to see them add small microwaves, but lack thereof didn't impact our experience or this review.

The service in the restaurant and bar just off the lobby was spotty - they seemed to be understaffed every time we were there. The bartenders definitely favored regulars (giving free drinks to the man who was told he'd have to wait 30 minutes for a table right after we had been told we'd have to wait 30 minutes - no free drinks for us! And serving people who got to the bar after us because they knew them). I get that there may be a different level of friendliness with regulars but the unintended effect was that we felt less welcome in the bar / restaurant.

This isn't a new property but it's clear that there have been updates in the décor and it didn't feel run down to us. Again, it was a great time. I wish I had made note of the names of a few of the people who really did have a positive impact on our experience including the gentleman at the front desk who was pretty high energy and very friendly. He may have been a manager as he seemed very supportive of the other front desk staff and very responsive to everyone we saw him interact with.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family loft room which has two double beds (I forgot how small a double is) and two t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casualtraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveLambert, General Manager at Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Friends from Hopkinton - we are thrilled your recap was so favorable and that you'd taken time to share how special this trip was: You are on spot with the lists of attractions and things for ALL AGES to fall in love with. I also noted our Palmer's Lounge notes on the locals being recognized, to wit, not everyone feeling at home. I have addressed that and appreciated your sharing your feedback, rest assured, our staff all are in the position to bend over backwards and help make any stay great, should we have to make it right! We appreciated your candor and know we have friends of the resort who will be back based on your nice recap, Thank you again.

I hope your Metrowest trip home was uneventful and we are poised to welcome you back later this summer or crisp fall!

Thank you again, Steve Lambert GM and Palmers Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.3 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
21.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park

Property: Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Address: 2251 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#4 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is located on 40 acres overlooking the Moat Mountain Range and Saco Valley, nestled in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley. Red Jacket Mountain View is home of Kahuna Laguna Indoor Water Park. It's 40,000 square feet of splash-tacular fun! Zoom through one of four high-speed tubes before splashing into the landing pool below. Body surf in the swirling wave pool. The whole family will enjoy the activity pool, water cannons and play tower, and your smallest kahunas will have a great time in the shallow pool, an area designed with them in mind. Water park admission is additional. Deluxe accommodations (some pet-friendly) feature 1 or two beds while our family accommodations include spacious family lofts, alcoves or two-bedroom townhouses. Our new four-bedroom homes have full kitchens and decks, offering privacy yet easily walkable to all our amenities! Our front desk is at your service for all the arrangements you will need for activities such as skiing, hiking,shopping the outlets of North Conway or visiting Story Land and Santa's Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Jacket Mountain View Hotel North Conway
Best Western North Conway
Red Jacket North Conway
North Conway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing