We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet and clean”
Review of Golden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gables Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice quiet and clean”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The inn was very nice. It is on a road with many other choices. We picked it because of the snowmobile package.

The room was perfectly clean. Had hair dryer and ironing board and refrigerator. The only thing missing was a coffee maker. Believe it or not had I realized that when I picked the place, I probably would have picked one of the other places.

The staff was super nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    152
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
165
298
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had the king rooms in the front.....very comfortable beds, easy access to shopping, and walking distance to restaurants. Would not walk to the outlets if you plan on major shopping, a bit far to carry bags back. Staff was very friendly, easy check in and out....we are early risers, so had to wait for coffee in lobby. Would definitely return.....

Room Tip: King in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Gables Inn on an overnight getaway to North Conway. We stayed in the king deluxe room. Check-in was smooth and we were given directions to our room in a separate building which was around the back and away from the main road which we were happy about. Our king deluxe room could be accessed by two different ways, both which were up stairs located outside the building, but covered. The room was very clean and spacious, including a couch, coffee table, small microwave, mini fridge, and private balcony. We did not use the balcony during our stay because it was a frigid February day. It was overcast, so it was hard to tell if there was any view aside from the parking lot where we could keep an eye on our car. The king bed was comfortable, the room warm, and the shower had good water pressure and a rounded shower rod for more room in the shower. We had purchased some beer in town and the front desk was happy to loan us a bottle opener. The television service was good and we used the wireless on a laptop and it was reliable. Overall, it was a good stay and we would stay here again if we overnight again in North Conway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtkurlyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a wondeful two nights here. It had snowed on the drive up and we wondered about being able to get in. No problem. They had it all cleared out when we arrived. Again it snowed late in the day and it was promptly cleared. We had a room in the back down a slope which was a large accommodation with a king bed. Very quiet away from the road. We plan to bring our 4 year old great-granddaughter in the summer to enjoy the pool and Storyland. Are impressed that they told us that no children are allowed on the 2nd floor. What a great idea - won't bother downstairs with noise as all children can. Only drawback is that they don't have coffeemakers in the room. Inconvenient to have to walk quite a way to the office for coffee.

Room Tip: Room at the back would be further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here one night in October on the way through NH to Maine. It was value priced and highly rated. We had a room near the highway but did not seem overly noisy until morning commutes were underway. Our room had a private balcony overlooking the beautifully landscaped back yard. Tourist train sneaks through every hour or so. Neat! Would stay here again, no problem. Rooms in the back probably quieter.

Room Tip: backyard rooms probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a beautiful inn. My husband and I decided to spend NYE in North Conway and this was a great place for it! The room was wonderful. We had a fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub, which was perfect with the outside temperature being below zero most of the time. There was even a complimentary bottle of champagne for NYE. The hotel is in a convenient location not far from all of the local shops and restaurants and there is so much to do in town! Although the rooms and the hotel are beautiful and well cared for, the view was not as impressive as we hoped from our room. You can see the mountains from some of the rooms. The front desk had menus and information for all the eateries in and around the area. It's not a far trek from Mt. Washington either.

Room Tip: The room with the fireplace (although not wood-burning) and the Jacuzzi tub is worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Just checked out this morning after my 7th stay. Outstanding as always. Why anybody stays elsewhere is beyond me. We stayed in a room that has two rooms with a king sized bed and a pull out couch and it was $94 a night. Incredibly priced, always clean, and in a great location. Looking forward to coming back to North Conway. No doubt we will be back at Golden Gables.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxy0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.9 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#4 of 25 in North Conway
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gables Inn

Property: Golden Gables Inn
Address: 1814 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5146
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Conway
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a perfectly convenient location in the center of North Conway. We offer 58 rooms from single king beds, double queen beds, suites or in-room Jacuzzi and fireplace units. All rooms are new or recently remodeled. 2 blocks from outlet shopping, great restaurants. Spacious back yard with pool and playground. Snowmobile trail access and discount lift tix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gables Hotel North Conway
Golden Gables Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing