We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Golden Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Gables Inn
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just came back from a 4 night stay at the Golden Gables Inn. The room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated. We used the pool which was also very clean. My 3 year year old loved the playground on the property. Location was great. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlfrommass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    151
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
164
296
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have been staying at the Golden Gables for many years an it just keeps getting better. I am very picky about cleanliness an this place is righ on. Everything is clean an the rooms are well kept. There is a beautiful pool an places to grill with picnic tables just perfect for a warm summer day an it's very kid friendly. I also enjoy the central location it's near attractions an great shopping! Something for everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rate was cheap which is why I am assuming we got a room below with no balcony but that was fine. The room was little, with a little odd smell, which both were forgotten about quickly. The pillows were way to soft for my liking but the beds were fairly comfortable.The pool was decent and the location was great. Yes, the scenic train runs behind the hotel but stops running at 5pm so no big deal. I would stay here again but probably get a room with a blacony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coronaman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the reviews we had high expectations, but we were disappointed. I had requested, when I made the reservation; to be placed in a quiet room (knew from previous reviews that road noise was a problem). We were placed in a room at the very back away from the road, but only 3 doors down from a railroad track! The room was clean, a comfortable bed, and a fair amount of space. The other huge let down - no coffee maker in the room, coffee is available only in the office. We are on an extended trip and have stayed in less expensive motels that had a microwave, fridge, and a coffee maker. Seriously don't most motel/hotel rooms today offer in-room coffee. Also there was construction going on - they were paving the parking lot when we arrived (can you say beep, beep, beep), working on a new sprinkler system, adding a new building, etc. As I said certainly not what we expected after reading the previous reviews, disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing road are noisy but toward the back you have to deal with passing trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, On
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this place was. Very reasonable, but very good. Room was modern, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. We had a small balcony with a patio door making it just perfect. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No restaurant in hotel but many great ones close by and staff collects menus to review. Our receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandJoan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in June 2013, and had a wonderful stay. The room was large and very clean. The water pressure in the shower was strong, and the water hot. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful about the area. The lobby has copies of many of the area restaurant menus which helped us choose places to eat. The woman we spoke to when we made our reservation advised us that the weekend we were staying was the same weekend a motorcycle club would be in town - just in case we wanted to change our dates - we didn't. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Don't be taken in by the #1 rating for this lodging in North Conway. The facility is tired and not first rate by any standard. Our room had a not so faint musty, smoky odor (could have been a remnant from previous status as a smoking room?). It takes a good 4-5 minutes of running the faucet before hot water arrives. There is no iron/board supplied (unusual by today's standards). The quality of the main door and door hardware is not robust and does not inspire much confidence in room security (especially when you are away from the unit). The street side units do not have much for sound isolation from the street noise (best to run the noisy a/c when sleeping to block it out). With no value added in a complimentary breakfast, etc. you are much better off paying a few dollars more and staying at one of the newer lodgings in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankL55plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.9 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 25 in North Conway
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#6 of 25 in North Conway
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gables Inn

Property: Golden Gables Inn
Address: 1814 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5146
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in North Conway
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Gables Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a perfectly convenient location in the center of North Conway. We offer 58 rooms from single king beds, double queen beds, suites or in-room Jacuzzi and fireplace units. All rooms are new or recently remodeled. 2 blocks from outlet shopping, great restaurants. Spacious back yard with pool and playground. Snowmobile trail access and discount lift tix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Golden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gables Hotel North Conway
Golden Gables Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing