We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski vacation”
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Motel
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed in here February for a long weekend. Excellent stay. Clean and very helpful employees. Loved the discounted ski and tubing passes. Will stay again. Coffee in morning a welcome treat. They did a fire one night with s'mores. Great family long weekend

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ct03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 681 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked a room at the Colonial Motel based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor and I wasn't disappointed. My wife thought I had chosen a bad motel when we pulled in because it didn't look very good on the outside... There was a little peeling paint and a couple of the iron latticework pillars had been damaged. As soon as we walked into our room, however, she was happy.

I have stayed in a lot of hotels/motels, some expensive, some cheap, and I've never stayed in one that was cleaner than the Colonial Motel. It almost feels like going back in a time machine to when the motel was brand new. Everything was in excellent condition and the best word to describe the bathroom is "immaculate." It's obvious that the owners take great pride in this motel.

Everyone working there was very friendly and helpful. In the morning I overheard, on two separate occasions, cleaning staff talking about the damaged pillars. I got the feeling that they will be repaired as soon as possible.

My only complaint is the water temperature in the shower. They were at full capacity and the temperature would unexpectedly change from hot to cold to hot again when we took our showers in the morning. I'm assuming this was from all the guests using the bathrooms at the same time, because it wasn't a problem when I took a shower the afternoon before.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ji1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the jaccuzi room for valentines day close to shopping areas clean rooms kinda noisy i think it was the water heater whenever someone used the water. Staff was friendly and gave us some coupons for a couple meals. Would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda_lee1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this motel over Super Bowl weekend. I am overly sensitive to smell and noticed an odor of - well - have you ever been to a thrift shop that sells used clothes and you get a whiff of other people's body odor? My husband didn't notice it and looked at me funny when I mentioned it so it might have been my overly sensitive nose. But of course I checked the linens - especially the pillow cases - but everything smelled okay. Then I went into the bathroom and realized that this was really a very clean place. It was spotless. I think maybe the room just needed to be aired out a bit from being closed up for a week or two without any guests in it. The next day the smell was almost gone, and the day after that it was totally gone. Next time I go there I'm going to tell them to open a couple windows before I get there! This is a reasonably priced motel in an excellent location with wonderful owners and average rooms. But very clean and functional. I would stay there again. There was a fridge in the room and for tea or coffee we walked a couple hundred feet to the office. They also had a bonfire on Sat night and made s'mores and had cookies. We didn't partake in it but I saw people standing around the fire. What a great thing to do on a Saturday night, especially if you have kids. I also got a recommendation from the owner on a masseuse, Robin Govoni (works with Ginger Rober at Restorative Health & Fitness in the village of North Conway). All I can say is - it was the BEST massage I ever had. Seriously. And please don't mind me about the smell of the room upon arrival. I'm only mentioning it to be totally honest about my impressions, but it would probably only bother 1 out of 100 people, so definitely give this place a try, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

All in all a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. The Motels owners and staff are very personable and helpful. And, my hound was happy to learn that "For Your Paws Only" was just a minute away. I do recommend bringing along a crate for your four legged friend to sleep in if its known to jump up and sleep on the bed. The Motels pet policy discourages pets from being on the furniture. My Hound and I will be heading up to the Whites again soon and will include another stay at the Colonial Motel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I usually stay at the North Conway Grand Hotel, but this year, we decided to stay somewhere a bit cheaper. We were only staying one night, so we were trying to keep the cost down. The Colonial Motel staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose to stay in a room with a private jacuzzi tub. For the price, this place was great! The room was exceptionally clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but it suited us just fine for the one night. We loved that the motel was close to everything in North Conway that we like to visit - The Muddy Moose restaurant and The Flatbread Pizza Company were very close by. We also like to visit the shops in town, and the motel was very close to the shops as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My family and I have stayed here several times. Whenever we visit North Conway this IS the place to stay!!! Their rates are reasonable, the rooms are very large, and extremely clean. The staff is fantastic, very helpful, and provides you with important tips. This is the place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 2431 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Conway
#6 Family Hotel in North Conway
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $79 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy old fashioned hospitality at a family owned and operated motel. Strategically located in the village of North Conway and minutes to area attractions. Clean and comfortable accommodations that include outdoor pool, beautiful views, AC, remote cable, refrigerators, free WIFI, whirlpool tubs and family suites. Free coffee and microwave available. Handicap accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel North Conway
Colonial Motel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing