We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Motel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Shirley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We've stayed at the Colonial Motel three times and have never been disappointed. It's nothing fancy but the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. I can't say that we've spent a lot of time in the room (we rarely do no matter where we stay) but I'd come back here any time. My only complaint would be that the pillows in our room seemed well used and not very supportive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaldMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    189
    47
    6
    6
See reviews for
206
231
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel in the middle of a snowstorm. What a wonderful experience! The front desk clerk was very sweet and efficient. She made chocolate chip cookies mid-afternoon, and started a bonfire for s'mores in the evening. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. We were also given three coupons for breakfast, lunch and dinner, all of which were for restaurants within walking distance. This hotel is a terrific value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NhBargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, MA, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked this motel for 2 nights last minute. The price was reasonable considering all the other places were charging much more for the holiday weekend.

The staff was friendly and offered MANY suggestions for dining and activities.

I stayed in room 6 which was renovated and very clean. The bed was comfortable. I liked the bathroom with laminate floors and a new shower stall. They even had liquid hand soap by the sink.

As another review mentioned, you can hear the plumbing occasionally in this room. It's really loud so bring ear plugs or ask for another room if you're a light sleeper.

The location is great. It's within walking distance of North Conway village.

Room Tip: Room 6 is located in the corner but experiences occasional loud plumbing noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2007sonata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I decided to plan a getaway last minute and had very few options for places to stay. I randomly chose the Colonial Motel, mostly due to its location and the price was right. Well, I can't say enough good things about this place. First, the owner was very friendly and pleasant and made us feel welcomed. The room was updated and very clean, but I did find the bed a little too hard for my liking, especially after a day on the slopes. We bought our lift tickets to Cranmore Mtn. at the front desk and saved a significant amount of money. Overall, I will definitely stay at the Colonial Motel again in any season and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel has a ridiculous policy of providing 1/2 the total charge as a deposit which I grudglngly decided to do because of the mostly positive reviews.

I made a 2 night reservation 3 weeks in advance and cancelled my reservation 2 weeks in advance. The owner refunded my deposit minus $20 despite giving more than ample notice. I've made several attempts to contact the hotel yet they refuse to respond.

Taking a piece of the deposit for every cancelled reservation is quite a racket. I'll follow up with bad reviews on Facebook and Twitter as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shankwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJCTNewHampshire, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our cancellation policy. It is a standard online cancellation policy that this stated on our website and all online booking options. We understand that there are some who may not agree with policies that we have in place, and do try to make every attempt to work with our guests. We make every attempt to respond to all guest questions and inquiries in a timely fashion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I made this reservation at the last-minute when we decided to hightail it out of Boston to go skiing at Attitash for the weekend in the aftermath of the Blizzard of 2013. We arrived rather late (around 9:30pm) but Jerry, the manager at the front desk and owner of the hotel, was really nice and gave us lots of suggestions (and coupons!) for breakfast places for the next morning. Also, Moose, one of the family's very sweet dogs, came out to say hello!

The room was clean and well-maintained. It took us a while to realize that the thermostat on one wall controlled the heat while the remote control for the unit in the other wall controlled the AC, but I blame that on being tired. The room wasn't luxurious or overly decorated, but it was perfect for our needs. And they had NESN and NBC Sports Network so we could watch hockey after a day of skiing!

We only experienced 2 instances that detracted from our stay. One was that, while the room did have two double beds and a hot tub/jacuzzi as promised, the hot tub/jacuzzi was not separate from the tub as we were expecting. It worked out just fine and we enjoyed having access to the jacuzzi, but a better room description would have kept us from being so confused upon first inspection of the room. The other was that the guests in the room next to us, a group of middle-aged folks, were very loud late into the night. They would talk so loud in their room that we could hear every word through the walls, and then they would go outside to smoke and listen to music on their truck's radio at a high volume. That situation definitely affected our quality of sleep, but we were so tired at the end of each day that they didn't keep us awake for long.

Overall, though, we would highly recommend the Colonial Motel to anyone looking for an affordable, convenient, and friendly lodging option in North Conway!

FOR SKIIERS/RIDERS: You should definitely buy your lift tickets for the area resorts from the front desk since they offer discount tickets! We got our Attitash/Wildcat adult all-day lift tickets for $55 each and they're normally $70 each at the window.

Room Tip: The rooms around the back of the hotel are down a slight hill, which isn't a problem going down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently while skiing in North Conway for the weekend. Our two room adjoining suite had a king bed and jacuzzi/hot tub mini fridge and bathroom in one room and two double beds and a second mini fridge and bathroom (w/tub) in the second room. Only issue was one of the kids had sand in their bed between the bottom and top sheet. For the price what are you going to do?

Front desk staff was great and helpful to provide discount tickets for tubing and skiing.

Centrally located on Rte 16.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#11 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Property: Colonial Motel
Address: 2431 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Conway
#6 Family Hotel in North Conway
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy old fashioned hospitality at a family owned and operated motel. Strategically located in the village of North Conway and minutes to area attractions. Clean and comfortable accommodations that include outdoor pool, beautiful views, AC, remote cable, refrigerators, free WIFI, whirlpool tubs and family suites. Free coffee and microwave available. Handicap accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel North Conway
Colonial Motel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing