We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best ever!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maestro's Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Maestro's Italian Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Come and enjoy a piece of Italy via high quality, home made food for friendly price. Choose from variety of sandwiches for lunch or entree for dinner or join our Open mic Sunday either as a musician or come with friends and enjoy live music with a drink of your choice!
North Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best ever!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Vacation week was a great time to spend with the family, up in the mount washington valley.. We made sure we made it to our favorite restaurant as well ;).. Best in the valley!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    13
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I had fond memories of romantic dinners at Maestro's at their original location, where the atmosphere was perfect, the servers were Italian and knew how to serve and then fade into the background, and the food was exquisite! We have since moved out of the area, but chose Maestro's for our special dinner the one night we were back in town. Bad decision. This was the first time I've ever been seriously tempted to send back a meal as inedible. I had to add salt (!!), pepper,and parmesan cheese just to give it some flavor. The dish was supposed to be Carbonara. I love Carbonara. It was not Carbonara. It was about a pound of peas with some carmelized onions, all mixed in with spaghetti in a burnt butter sauce. The "bacon" appeared to be salt pork - unappetizing, to say the least. It was like leftover Thai noodles heated up with a box of frozen peas. It was unbelievably bad. My husband had CATANESE, an eggplant-based dish. It had exactly four half-inch diced pieces of cooked (not fried) eggplant. These meals were a travesty. Perhaps the food quality is uneven and unpredictable, at best. Perhaps the cook called in and the dishwasher had to cook. We wasted a lot of time speculating about how it could have been so bad the night we were there. Don't waste YOUR time - go elsewhere. - You may not want to even attempt Italian dinner in North Conway, NH. Bottom line: Don't let Maestro's ruin your night out like it did ours :-( Maestro's: a new menu is badly needed. It's not a good sign when your menu doesn't change in 4 years.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NHMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maestro B, Owner at Maestro's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I want to thank you for your concerns and review. We regret you wont be returning.
To respond to some complaints you made and clear up any confusions I would like to say as owner/chef I have been the sole chef since our opening 14 years ago. I have one sous chef who has been with me from the beginning and there have been no substitutes. Our menu changes quite frequently about every 4 months except for the most popular items. Carbonara is a special we do from time to time and is ordered very frequently. We do not use bacon in ours. We use a cured pork belly cut called Pancetta. We rarely use butter and in our Carbonara there is neither butter or oil as the Pancetta contains enough natural fat on its own. When fresh peas are available from our organic farmer we use them otherwise we do use frozen peas in the winter. We use DeCecco imported Italian pasta for our dry pasta.
The Catanese begins with a handful of fresh eggplant and olive oil in a sauteed pan. It is sauteed fresh not deep fried eggplant.
We don't hire staff by nationality. We do not discriminate. Ironically in all our years open I have been the only Italian member of Maestro's. We have many foreign workers who come and go and may be mistaken for Italian. My wife frequently works in dining room and is European. She sometimes is thought to be Italian.
I recommend to any guests who dine with us and have any issues to please address your wait person. I am always in the kitchen and would gladly try and remedy any errors or problems that may occur.
As for our menu ingredients, we make most everything ourselves. Meatballs, sauce, dressings, soups and stocks, and even our mozzarella our all made on premises. Except for the Carbonara peas from time to time our produce is fresh and of the highest quality. Our Marinara is homemade from San Marzano tomatoes. Stocks are made from organic chicken and veal bones.
You'll find many of our ingredients are locally sourced when available such as our mushrooms which come fro NH mushroom co.
A thanks to everyone for all your great reviews and to some of our critics for pointing out you concerns to others and myself.
Bill Bennett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, MA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

With a view of the Mount Washington Valley, tis restaurant provided a tasty and well crafted meatball sandwich for a delicious lunch on a cold, blustery day. Our server was gracious and efficient, and there were many other oems on the menu that looked enticing. We'll be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you are looking for a creative and diverse menu than Maestro's is the place for you. Great staff, great location...a five star experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding for a company holiday party!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

For the first time in years, we decided to have our annual company Christmas party outside of our office, so we went to Maestros. It was outstanding! We had a private room upstairs - it was beautifully decorated, with a fireplace & large comfy leather couches and chairs. We started with cocktails & appetizers, exchanged our gifts and then sat down to a fabulous dinner! The food, the service and the atmosphere was just perfect! Thank you Maestros!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clark6nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maestro's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing