We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Indian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalimar of India

Shalimar of India
Ranked #40 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Avenel, New Jersey, USA
1 review
“Authentic Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Just had food at Shalimar at North Conway. I had biriyani and Parotta. The parotta was very soft. The mutton biriyani was very tasty. Would definitely recommend this if you want authentic indian food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arun I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhanwant s, Assistant to Mr. Singh at Shalimar of India, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for stopping in and also for taking the time to review. We hope you will return on your next visit! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    55
    26
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exotic treat in the White Mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Extensive menu of standard North Indian fare. Restaurant decorated by many, many recent, praising comment cards. Well prepared dishes served by pleasant owner. I had Saag Paneer (spinach with their own homemade fresh paneer (cheese.) Yummy masala sauce. Good desert selection. We vacation in NH every year and the whole state does not have an Indian restaurant this good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RHFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhanwant s, Assistant to Mr. Singh at Shalimar of India, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you very much, not only for your visit but also for your kind words. It is nice to hear, and we do hope you will return on your next visit. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't ask!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

First night in North Conway and unsure where to eat so choose Indian as have some experience. Service really quite good and pakoras great. Limited menu and no Baltis! Asked for chapattis only to be told, "what are chapattis"!! Food has overpowering perfume taste making it inedible. Sorry, but waste of money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank koilgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhanwant s, Assistant to Mr. Singh at Shalimar of India, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Sometimes we have students help during busy times, and if one of our students is not Indian, may not realize what chapatti is because we do not have chapatti on our menu (we have roti). Also, we do not understand what you could possibly mean by a perfume smell since that is obviously an untrue statement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good change from the other places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Being English we wanted a change from steak, burger, seafood etc places and decided to eat here. It was also handily located for the Red Elephant Inn where we were staying. Food good although menu limited compared to our favourite places at home. The spice level being made to your preference was good and the curries, rice and samosas were tasty and enjoyable.
What is it with American restaurants though, bringing you the entree immediately (and sometimes before) you have finished the appetiser. Please can we pause for a little!
Also, the nan bread on this menu is not what we would call Naan bread in the UK, it is more of a paratha bread.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sooz0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhanwant s, Assistant to Mr. Singh at Shalimar of India, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for coming in, and we are glad that you enjoyed your meal. Mr. Singh wants you to know that he reads all the comments, and does appreciate the constructive feedback. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This wasn't our first stop at Shalimar, it's a nice change from other options in the area. The family (I assume) running the place are all so friendly. The food is good , my wife loved her meal but for myself, the Naan was a downer, it's either store bought or not made in a tandoori oven. I didn't recall it being like that the last time so I had to take away a start for that. I can say that it was the worst naan I've had in an indian restaurant. The curry isn't bad but not as flavorful as some either. We'll probably still return but I would hope the naan has improved by then.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhanwant s, Assistant to Mr. Singh at Shalimar of India, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello! Thank you very much for your return visit and nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We do, however, need to clarify that our nan is made in-house. It is grilled, and we recently made a video about this on our Youtube channel showing how our breadmaker makes it each day. I hope that clarifies it, and we do look forward to seeing you again. Next time you are in, please come ask to see Mr. Singh to say hello! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar of India also viewed

 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to Shalimar of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing