We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing late night find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moat Mountain Smokehouse

Moat Mountain Smokehouse
Ranked #6 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing late night find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Moat was the only restaurant/bar that we could find offering a menu after 10:00pm on a Saturday night. It was well worth the hunt, the service was great and the drinks and food were amazing (I would recommend the Santa Fe nachos to anyone eating here). A new favorite of ours for future North Conway trips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ehardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    519
    172
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy but hard to get into”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great smoked meats of various sorts. But it's got a roadhouse feel and is always very crowded and a bit noisy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank robpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always a favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Whenever we visit the White Mountains, we never miss making a trip to dine and drink at Moat Mountain. It is consistently good, in terms of both food and service. We enjoy doing the six-beer sampler and love their creative takes on barbecue. I had one of their daily lunch specials - an Asian-inspired pulled pork wrap. It was delicious. My husband's barbecue nachos were really good, too. In terms of beer, we really enjoyed both the Bone Shaker Brown and Square Tail Stout... even brought some home to Virginia with us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine_in_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Ribs, Better Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I like finding places that make their own beer simply because you get something that isn't watered down and more flavorful. I was happy to find Moat Mountain Smokehouse and try their beer. Very good and impressive.

I ordered the rib dinner, it was OK nothing to write home about but did order a second beer. This place is in an old house so in that sense it's unique and interesting to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ty_Swartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Caters well for special diets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited twice, each time with a group including those requiring gluten-free and another who is vegan. Neither presented a problem and there was a real willingness to accommodate our needs.

High summer and the place was busy. The first time, we arrived at 8pm and was told it could be 60-90 minutes before we could be seated so we sat at the bar, enjoyed our drinks, and ordered some appetisers to keep us going. I had the beer sampler which I would recommend. Our first two choices of red wine had run out but what we had was a Shiraz that was good for the price. In fact we were seated after only 45 minutes - not bad for a group of 10.

The food was good to excellent and the service very friendly and efficient. I had the Texas Brisket which was great. Everyone was happy with their food except my daughter who ordered some yam fries but didn't like them. Noticing, the waitress offered to bring her a bowl of regular fries at no charge - now that is an example of good service!

We had a great evening and returned later in the week. This time we arrived at 6.30 and were seated immediately. The food and service was, again, very good. We were not rushed and had another enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moat Mountain Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Moat Mountain Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing