We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Moat Mountain Smokehouse
Ranked #7 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Ashby, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Moat is always on our "must stop' list. I'm not a big beer drinker, so enough said there. I go for the food. It's plentiful and delicious, with some interesting twists on the menu, which is extensive! I always seem to gravitate to the BBQ entries, and everything I have tried was well prepared, served hot and did not dissapoint! Warning...during busy times this restaurant can be extremely noisy. I mean noisy like you cannot have a conversation across the table, so we try to go when it's less crowded and always sit in the enclosed porch. I think it's just the acoustic properties of an old building, but a little sound insulation here and there wouldn't hurt. Even so, we make it a point to stop here every time we are in the area!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    534
    176
    52
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat!! And have a few cocktails!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We decided to try The Moat after a suggestion was made by our snowmobiling guide. Great atmosphere, great service and excellent food. When we are in the are again we will be sure to visit. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheGoFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
233 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Average food for a above average price”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My experience at Moat Mountain was not very enjoyable. I was staying in North Conway and asked a hotel staff member for a suggestion for a restaurant, and they suggested this place. I have no idea why though because everything about the restaurant was terrible. We waited 45 minutes to get sat, and then sat in a porch like area and we froze! The appetizers (nachos) was excellent and that was the highlight of the meal. The ribs were terrible and I was surprised considering I was at a smoke house. They tasted like they were over smoked. Yuck. The beer was tasty, but very pricey. Overall I would not go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nelsc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great chili, stout & chicken sandwich”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My first night in town a few colleagues joined me for dinner here. It was St. Paddy's day so somestout was in order...smooth and just right, a bit more like Murphy's than Guinness. I had a cup of chili with beans...mostly big chunks of meat...beef and sausage...great. My entree was the chicken and portobello shroom sandwich with sweet potato fries....delicious...nicely cooked chicken breast and shrooms, great hard roll. Pricey by my standards but not by a tourist town standard...so feel at ease going here. I'd go back, no problem!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iceman272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Kind of pricey but great BBQ nachos”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Who doesn't love BBQ? Who doesn't love nachos? Go here for both and have a paddle to sample their beer. I'm not crazy about any of their beers that they brew - but to each their own!

This place is VERY crowded, so expect a wait during high season.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lovintheworld17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moat Mountain Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Moat Mountain Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing