We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed atmosphere, delicious food”

Moat Mountain Smokehouse
Ranked #6 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, delicious food”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

When my husband and I drove up to the restaurant, the parking lot was filling up fast. We thought we would have to wait a long time to get seated, but only had to wait 30 minutes. To pass the time, sat at the bar and sampled some of the delicious beer that is brewed onsite. There is an extensive pub menu, as well as specials, such as riibs. The food is fresh, and reasonably priced, and the service was friendly and timely. I can see why this is a popular place for locals and visitors alike.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank happywanderers82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    527
    173
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pub grub with an eclectic twist”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Good food all around. Their appetizer selection isn't great but there are lots of smaller snack-like options on the menu that you can have as an appetizer such as a large assortment of quesadillas including one with chicken, butternut squash, and cinnamon sour cream (sounds gross but was delicious) . The entrees were good as well but I can't review dessert since we skipped it. Service was good and the restaurant itself appeared to have been converted from a large house as many restaurants up that way are so there are many different rooms to dine in which I found very nice. Their tap beer selection isn't the greatest especially for a brewery/restaurant and is really the only small complaint I have.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Level Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good Food But Can Get Noisy At Times”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have visited Moat Mountain several times over the years -- and find our experiences amazingly consistent. We're not big beer drinkers, but have discovered that brew pubs also often offer excellent food -- which is the case at Moat Mountain. One of us had already had one big meal the evening we visited; the other had not. The lighter eater ordered a plate of three pulled-pork slider sandwiches, and although they opening admitted they could have/should have quit after just two of them, couldn't resist eating the third one as well. The other order, a half-rack of ribs, came with garlic-mashed potatoes and cole slaw. The ribs were large and meaty, with a nice K.C. style sauce that was tangy and sweet at the same time. The pro-offered "bones" bucket helped keep the plate manageable and the piece of Texas toast separating the ribs from the potato and slaw (veggies on the bottom with ribs arching over them) helped keep everything from tasting the same and came in handy for mopping-up what little sauce remained at the end of the meal. The potato serving was very generous but so tasty we finished it all anyway. The slaw had a bit too much "bite" for our taste -- not from horseradish as slaw's often do, but seemingly from one or more vinegars. Probably great for those who like a sharo-tasting slaw -- just not our cup of tea.
The service was friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. Our server obviously knew her menu and openly listened to her customers, quickly backing off on the beer suggestions when we made it clear we didn't really want any that night.
The one turn-off on our most recent visit was one we've experienced on previous visits... almost all of the various dining rooms are on the small side, with low ceilings, bare walls and hardwood floors....meaning that noise and echos carry very freely within rooms and even from one room to another through the archways between them. On our most recent visit, it became obvious almost immediately that, because of the ages and exuberance of nearby parties, normal conversation our meal wasn't a reasonable expectation. To Moat Mountain's credit, when we asked about being reseated in a quieter area, we were immediately offered a different table on an enclosed, heated porch where things were far quieter but just as pleasant.
Good food, good service, and from the comments we overheard from others, good local brews... it's all at Moat Mountain!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MainerOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Lunch With The Family”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Absolutely wonderful lunch my family just enjoyed with these folks! With my two teenagers and my 2 yr old its hard to find something we all agree on! We had Bleu Cheeseburgers pizza and a Taos quesidilla, ALL EXCELLENT!!!!! Our waiter Jimmy was awesome as well!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our second visit and certainly not our last”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently ate at the Moat Mountain Smokehouse in North Conway in the bar area, and had a fun and delicious experience. They have several televisions to view sporting events. They brew their own beer and have many varieties to choose from, and are happy to give you samples to help you decide. I was disappointed they didn't have their berry wheat beer, but it is the wrong season. We shared a brick oven pizza and a New England Quesadilla filled with chicken, squash, cheese and seasonings. They have a wide and varied menu The waitress was not overly friendly, but she was very busy and met all our needs. I love their motto, "Fear no beer".

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank efrench2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moat Mountain Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Moat Mountain Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing