We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of North Conway Village”
Review of Kearsarge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kearsarge Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gem in the heart of North Conway Village”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Absolutely amazing and far beyond expectations! My husband surprised me this past weekend with a getaway to the Kearsarge Inn to celebrate my 29th birthday. We tend to think inns in general are "hit or miss" with many of them old, run down, and not really kept up to modern standards. Not this one! We were overwhelmingly impressed when we arrived at the Kearsarge. Modern, clean and completely renovated. We stayed in a deluxe room which was huge and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was also oversized and included a fantastic bathtub and separate shower. We had perfect views of Mount Cranmore and love the accessibilty of being able to walk downtown.

If you are deciding between an overpriced and overpacked chain hotel in the area- opt for the Kearsarge. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewburyportJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    80
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
178
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as newlyweds on our "mini-moon" right after our wedding night, and it was our second time there. Everything about this place is absolutely lovely, from the service to the lovely yet simple rooms, to the excellent location in the middle of N. Conway. We consider ourselves discriminating consumers, and this is our go-to place. One small complaint is that the jacuzzi tub was a little small in the last room we stayed in. It is literally a standard sized tub with jets. But that may have been the particular room we were staying in. There is also no fitness center, pool, or spa, but aside from the pool, you have access to all that within a stone's throw in town. We will absolutely stay here next time we are in North Conway. Bravo to the folks who keep this place up, and thank you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanish_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Kearsarge Inn is a very beautiful inn centrally located in North Conway. We were upgraded to a superior room at the price of a standard room, what was really nice. Our room was very big, even though we had some hard time trying to lower the room temperature, and had to sleep both with the air conditinioning and the heater on. Our private bath was also big and well appointed. Breakfast is not served in the inn, but there is complimentary coffee and orange juice. There are some great choices to have breakfast nearby, but most of them open at 8 am., what is a little bit if you want to do a day-hike. Regardless of the heavy rain, we had a great time over there and could climb Mount Washington on the only sunny day we had.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Please go by what your fellow reviewers say. I was so excited to stay here, so close to town and on-line it looks really nice. Unfortunately, cleanliness was a big issue. The ice bucket was dirty. I pulled out the sofa bed for my kids, clearly the brown sheets are unforgiving. There were stains from a past stay and my kids had to sleep with us in bed b/c it looked so gross. When I brought it up to the lady at the desk in the monring she seemed stunned and said of course we clean our sheets after each stay. The smoke dectector was pulled out of the ceiling and there were no batteries. The Inn only had juice in the morning not even a nice continental breakfast or afternoon snacks. Clearly this Inn looks nice on the internet but needs some big time help. The print on the carpets may seem like they hide a lot but they defintely look old and dingy. I would not recommend you stay here, especially if all you want is a clean comfrtable place to sleep- the basics are not even met here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreewayBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

On a spur of the moment need to get away, I called a few Inns/hotels in the North Conway area. I was looking for a reasonable rate, without sacrificing cleanliness. I made my reservation with Amy (I believe) who was immensely helpful. We ended up getting a great rate and stayed in room 15 in the back. It was very clean and a great value for the price. The location can't be beat. We were able to walk to dinner, the store, ice cream...anything we needed was all in walking distance.
I would say the restaurant Decades Steakhouse that is recommended wasn't up to expectations as the hostess was very short with us and told us "it would be at leasttt 2 hours, you should have made reservations." I'd recommend Wine Thyme down the street. Overall it was a great experience and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletravellottafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

upon walking in, even though I stepped on a pretzel on the rug, the room looked just fine. I gave them the benefit of the doubt. It was large, as was the bathroom, which seemed to have been renovated within say the last 5 years. However, when I poked my head into the shower to see if there was shampoo etc, the smell that emanated from it was disgusting...it didn't look dirty, but smelled horrible. Then I started to get nervous. The jacuzzi tub looked marginally clean, and the bedcovers looked like they hadn't been washed in quite a while. The sheets seemed clean, though. I booked a room with a sofabed, not knowing whether my other teen daughter would be able to join us, and was assured the bed was comfortable - or rather, "I've had no complaints" Welllll, when my daughter did come, we opened the sofa bed to find a lumpy, sunken mattress. I went into the cupboard, where they told me the blankets and pillows would be, and everything was all rolled up in a ball, clearly not having been washed from the previous user. The pillow case has saliva and other stains on it. The sheets were ripped in several places. I get that it's a sofa bed, but come on! My daughter was so skeeved out by it - especially after feeling like she needed to wear flip flops in the shower, that I offered to let her sleep in my bed with my other teen daughter. So three of us slept in one bed, had a sleepless night. When I complained about it in the morning, I was met with astonishment, and the woman acted like I was making it up. She came to the room to give me a copy of my bill, as I said I wanted to leave a night early - AND they charged me for the third night I wasn't going to be staying for (they've since credited me for the third night after I complained to the manager) I showed her the sheets, the blankets rolled up in the closet...pointed out the pretzels on the rug. I got a smarmy smile and not a single apology.
The Inn is in a great location, walking distance to shops and restaurants , but there was no sense that the owners want the place to be the best it can be. There is only coffee, not a cookie to be found (they do tell you that ahead of time on their website). The 4 hanging flower baskets on the porch (and no where else were there flowers) were sparse and untended, the porch had such potential and there is one table and a few chairs...As an aside, the air conditioner in the room was pointed right at the bed, so even with moving the vents, it still blew right on you while sleeping...
I was so disappointed by the whole experience.
I would NOT recommend this Inn - and sadly, the few nights I had with my daughters were hardly relaxing...but sleepless and creepy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teritravels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed in Room 209, an amazing room with balcony with wicker furniture, fireplace, couch/chairs and a great bed ... just beautiful on the street perpendicular to the train station 100 yds from the center of Norh Conway. This B&B doesn't serve breakfast because there are two great breakfast places within a block. A steakhouse next door and lots of restaurants and ice cream nearby. Only down side was I couldn't find wireless at night but forgot to ask about it and everyone was gone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elabrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.8 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearsarge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearsarge Inn

Property: Kearsarge Inn
Address: 42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kearsarge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kearsarge Inn is a modern rendition of one of the regions first grand hotels. Antique furnishings, luxurious bedding, fireplaces and private baths distinguish each of the Inn's suites. Nestled in the heart of North Conway village, the Inn is within walking distance of site seeing, shopping, fine dining and a variety of outdoor activities. Our location and size make the Kearsarge Inn the perfect place for weddings, special groups, rehearsal dinners or reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kearsarge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kearsarge Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing