We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic get-away close to quaint shops and restaurants.”
Review of Kearsarge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kearsarge Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We reserved a room with jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The room was very spacious and consisted of a king-size bed (very comfortable!), a couch with coffee table, an upholstered bench at the foot of the bed, a wardrobe next to the bed, a fireplace (gas) in one corner, and a jacuzzi tub in the SAME room, not in the bathroom. We were in a cottage (#12), that has another room upstairs. It was vacant. Towels in the bathroom were high quality, conditioner, shampoo, and small bars of soap were provided. Coffee, tea, and juice were available in the front office, but you had to walk to the main inn to get it. Staff was friendly and helpful.

You are within walking distance of many quaint shops and restaurants.

Problems:
We had no hot water the first night, it was fixed, but the next day there was no hot water again. They are having it repaired. They deducted $50 from our bill.

The bathroom has a tile floor, which was cold despite the extra heating in the bathroom.

There was no possibility to make coffee in the room, which would have been very nice to have.

It was a bit weird having the jacuzzi tub in the same room as the bed and seating area, but we could hop right into bed after using it :-).

All-in-all it was a great stay despite the cold water issue. You can park in front of this cottage,too, which was very convenient.

I would recommend a stay there, but check for discounts first. They have off-season specials via Groupons.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Kearsarge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

To start I'd like to say that my girlfriend and I typically avoid B&B's....never really been a fan of them. However, while the Kearsarge does have a main house that is akin to a b&b (though the owner doesn't live on premise) it also has two smaller structures each housing two fully self contained rooms. We stayed in one of these and the room was quite nice. The room was nicely decorated and the staff was very friendly. Also the location is great since we were able to walk just a block into town to walk around, have breakfast and shop. Our only two complaints about our room were the mattress and the cleaning. The mattress really needs to be updated and the cleaning was done a little too efficiently. There was black hair in several places in the bathroom (neither of us has black hair) and you could tell exactly how far the vacuum reached under the bed since there was a thick moat of dust starting 9" under the bed. Don't let these two things prevent you from staying here though. With a new mattress and more attention to cleaning this would be rated excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimDog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in North Conway at the Kearsarge Inn in the most beautiful and spacious room on top of one of their small houses. Well appointed, lovely gas-"fire-place" to keep you warm and spread a nice glow in the room. Just around the corenr, but still quite, from the North Conway main "strip" with plenty of bars, restaurants and quaint shops. For mor emainstream shopping go 5 minutes by car to Settlers Green - an outlet with all you need. Easy access to all the attractions and routes in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBKDragoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The cottage we stayed in was new and well appointed. The staff was very helpful. Even though this isn't romantic, there is a laundry place within a few paces away. (You would never know that because it's well hidden.) Also an amazing bakery by it as well. Clean, wonderful bathroom. New bedding. It was a great refuge from a long road trip.

Room Tip: Get a cottage!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boulderskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for four days in mid September 2012. Everything was excellent. The large room seemed like an apartment. Very, Very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Great location as well and super close to our very favorite breakfast spot that being the Stairway Cafe. The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. We would likely stay there again when we travel to North Conway in the future!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank flamingo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked the Kearsarge for my boyfriend's birthday weekend on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed before. Some of the other inns in the area were ridiculously expensive during foliage season but this was much more reasonable. We really enjoyed our stay there from start to finish. We were greeted warmly at check in and taken to our room, which was in one of the small cabin-like buildings in back. The size of the room definitely was a pleasant surprise, it was nearly suite sized, with nice cathedral ceilings, a good-sized bathroom and large tub even though I didn't book one of the jacuzzi rooms. Gas fireplace in the room as well which was great because we got some pretty chilly fall weather at night. The room felt more like staying in someone's home than a hotel really. No issues at all with cleanliness. The lobby has coffee, tea and juice in the mornings and a cozy sitting area to enjoy it. The location is also fantastic, just around the corner from downtown N. Conway so we did a lot of walking around. It's a short drive to the outlets and to Jackson and other sightseeing areas. I do think the beds and TV's could probably use an update at some point- we did sleep well but the linens were a bit dated and mattress felt a bit on the older side. But we weren't there to sit around the room and nitpick or gripe because they don't serve muffins in the morning. I think we really lucked out for the price we paid and we would definitely return to the Kearsarge!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in North Conway recently for our 1-year wedding anniversary and stayed at the Kearsarge Inn. It is a very quaint, cozy place to stay. Rooms were good size, very clean and inviting. Ours had a gas fireplace. Free wireless internet was also available. The Kearsarge Inn is well paid for, but is conveniently located right in the heart of North Conway a mere flow blocks away from many restaurants, shops and the Conway Scenic Rail. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.8 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearsarge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearsarge Inn

Address: 42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: $95 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kearsarge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kearsarge Inn is a modern rendition of one of the regions first grand hotels. Antique furnishings, luxurious bedding, fireplaces and private baths distinguish each of the Inn's suites. Nestled in the heart of North Conway village, the Inn is within walking distance of site seeing, shopping, fine dining and a variety of outdoor activities. Our location and size make the Kearsarge Inn the perfect place for weddings, special groups, rehearsal dinners or reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kearsarge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kearsarge Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing