We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and quaint, great location”
Review of Kearsarge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kearsarge Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked the Kearsarge for my boyfriend's birthday weekend on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed before. Some of the other inns in the area were ridiculously expensive during foliage season but this was much more reasonable. We really enjoyed our stay there from start to finish. We were greeted warmly at check in and taken to our room, which was in one of the small cabin-like buildings in back. The size of the room definitely was a pleasant surprise, it was nearly suite sized, with nice cathedral ceilings, a good-sized bathroom and large tub even though I didn't book one of the jacuzzi rooms. Gas fireplace in the room as well which was great because we got some pretty chilly fall weather at night. The room felt more like staying in someone's home than a hotel really. No issues at all with cleanliness. The lobby has coffee, tea and juice in the mornings and a cozy sitting area to enjoy it. The location is also fantastic, just around the corner from downtown N. Conway so we did a lot of walking around. It's a short drive to the outlets and to Jackson and other sightseeing areas. I do think the beds and TV's could probably use an update at some point- we did sleep well but the linens were a bit dated and mattress felt a bit on the older side. But we weren't there to sit around the room and nitpick or gripe because they don't serve muffins in the morning. I think we really lucked out for the price we paid and we would definitely return to the Kearsarge!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 302 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend in North Conway recently for our 1-year wedding anniversary and stayed at the Kearsarge Inn. It is a very quaint, cozy place to stay. Rooms were good size, very clean and inviting. Ours had a gas fireplace. Free wireless internet was also available. The Kearsarge Inn is well paid for, but is conveniently located right in the heart of North Conway a mere flow blocks away from many restaurants, shops and the Conway Scenic Rail. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We decided to stay here for 2 nights when we visited the Fryeburg Fair. We stayed in a room that was furthest from the main inn in a back building. It was a very busy time to book, with the fair, and our options were limited. Picked the Kearsarge Inn for the location. Overall, not bad.

The room: It was a rather large room, with a gas fireplace/heater and a decent bathroom with a deep tub. One small table with two chairs by the window and a oversized one person "comfy" chair. Good quality towels and sheets, not the normal bleached till they were stiff ones of most places. The only real complaint was the bed. It was an older mattress and the room was advertised as a queen bed but in actuality was a full sized bed. Going from a king bed at home to this was a large shock but you make do. Private entrance and lots of parking.

The location: This was, by far, the best feature. You are in the village of North Conway. Everything in the village is walking distance. Plenty of places to eat, 2 coffee shops, lots of shopping, it was a great location. You are also right near the scenic rail road so there really is no better location.

Would I stay here again? Not likely. It was not cheap place to stay. For the price, we could have stayed at a B&B and at least had a meal. Maybe on a different weekend, when it would be cheaper? Maybe.

If you want to walk around a village setting, this is the place. It is a great base for exploring the area and its a lovely area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heymoe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times. The same room all 3 times for the sake of memories and in hopes of returning every year for our anniversary. The cost of the room has steadily increased but it started at over $200 to begin with so you'd expect a nice, clean, quiet place, right?? Nope! The first time was great, the second okay, but this third time was terrible and we will never go back. The room was dusty, smelled like smoke, and the sheets didn't even look clean. Hair on the shower wall--not ours! At 1 a.m. the room upstairs (part of the "motel") so noisy it sounded like they were coming thorugh the damn floor. We called the desk to complain and found out the innnkeeper stays off site at another hotel??!! He said he would call and tell them to quiet down. They never did. Obviously they knew he was off site. My husband had to go up and bang on the door and tell them to shut the h*ll up at 2 a.m. We complained at the front desk the next day and got nothing but attitude. Screw you guys, we're outta here!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarymary73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I'm not sure what all the four and five stars reviews are for. This inn is very basic. Although, it's in a great location( steps to North Conway center), I had some major problems. The room had a dated and shabby feel to it. The sheets were stained and the blankets obviously hadn't been washed between guests ( hair and food residue seen). The bed was also very old and uncomfortable with springs sticking up. It wasn't a terrible stay but also nothing good either.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mir72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had stayed once before in a regular room and it was nice and convenient to downtown. So we decided to try it again and splurge for the penthouse for my husband’s birthday. The staff was friendly and welcoming and once climbing a steep staircase we got to the penthouse.
If you told me the room hadn’t been used in a month, I would have believed you. Dust caked the headboard and several other surfaces. The bathroom appeared clean until I stepped into the shower and there was hair on the wall (not mine or my husbands) and the sheets had stains. Also be adised, the romantic fireplaces are not just for decoration but for heating the room (which may be good in January) but in the fall you need to open the windows and turn on the AC if you are using them for more than a half hour. For the money we paid, we expected luxury. We could have driven a little bit more to a better hotel for less.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DodgerMom668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Excellent location in the centre of North Conway, just off the high street. Easy access to all the sights and amenities. Would recommend Cannon Mountain Aerial Tramway - breathtaking views. Lady in reception was friendly and recommended good places to eat. We had room1 which was named after Tuckers Ravine, one of the major ski areas. It was very clean and had a quaint, cosy feel, added to by the fireplace in the corner. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank del318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
568 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Eastern Slope Inn
Eastern Slope Inn
#10 of 25 in North Conway
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kearsarge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearsarge Inn

Address: 42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: $65 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kearsarge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kearsarge Inn is a modern rendition of one of the regions first grand hotels. Antique furnishings, luxurious bedding, fireplaces and private baths distinguish each of the Inn's suites. Nestled in the heart of North Conway village, the Inn is within walking distance of site seeing, shopping, fine dining and a variety of outdoor activities. Our location and size make the Kearsarge Inn the perfect place for weddings, special groups, rehearsal dinners or reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kearsarge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kearsarge Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing