We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok and cheap place to spend the night”
Review of Clarendon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarendon Motel
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Prince Edward Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ok and cheap place to spend the night”
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Four of us went on a girls shopping getaway weekend to Maine/New Hampshire during the November 2007 long weekend. As our trip was a last minute decision, accomodations were limited. We ended up getting a double room at Clarendon Motel for one night of our trip. The room was very quaint with older country decor from 1950's/60's era. It had a very musty odour when we first walked in. The room was spacious enough for the four of us and did have a small table and in-room fridge. The bathroom is also in bad need of an update and the window would not open, not to mention the black mold around the window sill. And the rooms are definitely not sound proof as the group in the room next to us partied most of the night/early morning. All in all, it was a cheap, fairly clean place to spend the night but next time, we will be sure to make plans earlier and stay someplace a little nicer.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhutchperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
35
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, NH
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We've been staying there every February vacation for about 7 years now. The Motel is great!! Clean, comfortable and quiet! It's close to the downtown shops but far enough away if you don't like the hustle and bustle. Cranmore is only a 5 minute drive so access to the slopes is never a problem. Diane and Billy are wonderful hosts and will be sure to take care of you!! Their knowledge of the area and it's attractions are a HUGE asset. I know you will be very happy with your choice if you stay here!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank localnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Our stay at the Clarendon Motel couldn't have been nicer! Bill and Diane make you feel at home right away. This motel has a bed and breakfast feel to it. Often Diane had something fresh baked in the lobby and coffee and tea every morning. The rooms are clean, spacious and our room even had a small refrigerator which came in handy. Our room also had a beautiful view out of the large picture window. The location is wonderful- just a little bit past the downtown huste and bustle but within walking distance of a fine restaurant and convenient store.

  • Liked — clean and spacious rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vanago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We visit the White Mountains area each year, and we always stay at the Clarendon. The location is great- it's just north of North Conway on a relatively quiet part of route 16. But it's just minutes away from shopping and convenient to attractions like Storyland and Mount Washington.
The rooms are super clean and very cozy. They're decorated with wallpaper and wainscoting and have quilts on the beds so you feel like you're staying in a New England inn. The owners, Bill and Diane, are friendly and very good about recommending restaurants and places to visit. They also have coffee and other hot drinks all day and muffins in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kasguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2005

My wife and I stayed at this motel in late Sept., 2005. We chose this place based on the many good reviews we read about on Tripadvisor, and they were very accurate, to say the least! It looks very simple from the outside, and is certainly not fancy, but you will get a very clean room at a reasonable price. We were suppose to only stay one night, but when the bed and breakfast we were to stay at lost power in a fierce storm, we didn't think twice about returning for another night's stay here! The owners are very personable, too! There are plenty of choices for lodging in town, but you will find very few that's a bargain like this one. Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
5 Thank RoadRollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2005

My wife and two young children stayed here for one night during Labor Day Weekend, 2005 after spending the day at Storyland.

I chose this property because it was the first one I called that was not charging an arm and a leg for a one night stay. I payed $99 plus tax.

Despite being unimpressed with the gravel unpaved parking lot, the room itself and the bathroom was clean and the beds were comfortable. I did not like the paper thin walls. Around 10:30p.m. I was awoken by neighbors in the adjoining unit who must have just arrived with rambuncuous little ones.

If you are looking for bare bones motel accomodations in a resort area, this could be your place. For my purposes it is not worth $99 per night and the being the #4 rated property in North Conway (based on five reviews) is completely misleading.

I would be inclined to shell out the extra $$$ and stay at a nicer establishment.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Danno2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We just stayed ten days at the Clarendon Motel in Intervale / North Conway. We had a very relaxing and satisfying vacation and now are making plans for a return trip in the Fall.

Situated in a convenient location near the Intervale Scenic Overlook and just minutes from the shops and attractions of North Conway and the Mt. Washington Valley, this motel is one of the best we have ever stayed at. The owners, Bill and Diane are like good neighbors offering assistance and advice when needed. We cannot say enough about them, very sociable and pleasant people. The motel is of the highest quality, very quiet attractively decorated rooms, easy access with at door parking and most important, the cleanliness makes you feel at home.

Over the years of staying at Inns, B&B’s, Hotels and Motels in the MW Valley, we will look no more, the Clarendon is now our adopted 2nd home in New Hampshire.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ANNDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.3 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#16 of 25 in North Conway
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Trellis Motel
White Trellis Motel
#24 of 25 in North Conway
104 reviews
3.8 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#21 of 25 in North Conway
182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#12 of 25 in North Conway
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Motel

Property: Clarendon Motel
Address: 3537 White Mountain Hwy, P.O. Box 241, Intervale, NH, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5109
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarendon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting villages in the White Mountains; just minutes from Storyland, Conway Scenic Railroad and Mount Washington. You can also find great tax free shopping and a variety of restaurants. A great affordable family vacation stay with clean comfortable rooms. We also have suites with full kitchens that sleep four to six people. All of our lodging is kid friendly and priced to fit anyone's budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarendon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Motel North Conway
Clarendon Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing