We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Stonehurst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stonehurst Manor
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

My son got married at Stonehurst Manor last week. They had been there to visit a couple of times and felt this was the place for their wedding. It was small and intimate celebration. .
Staff went above and beyond to make this Wedding extra special! . They treated my son and daughter-in-law like they were special friends. Special is the only word I can keep coming up with. Food was excellent, our hostess, Heidi made sure everything was perfect and Tim, the photographer,well, you couldn't ask for a better one, and all of the rest of the staff were attentive and friendly and seemed genuine in making sure we were all happy.
Three rooms were booked in the Manor itself and the rest of us booked the condo's.
Everything was really nice. (stairs were the only difficult things for the 2 Grandmas).
I know the newlyweds will be going back and so won't my husband and I.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelusa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
There are newer reviews for The Stonehurst Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

We recently booked a room at Stonehurst Manor as it advertised as being pet-friendly, and we were traveling with our dog. The "pet friendly" claim by Stonehurst is truly false advertising. Yes, they leave two dog cookies on your pillow. Beyond that, people with pets are lodged in the BASEMENT of the manor, in back, accessed by the trash dumpsters. There is one tiny window, which is filled with an air conditioner, so no natural light. We were treated to the noise of maintenance workers (did I mention the rooms face the maintenance shed?) from the time we arrived until well after dark. If your dog barks at such noise at all, you will be asked by management to leave (and not nicely). There is no insulation between the plywood walls, so you can hear your neighbors talking, watching tv, snoring. Cigarette smoke wafts in from other rooms. The food was poor, steak was fatty with gristle. Service was not friendly, merely begrudging. Why do they bother? DON'T fall for Stonehurst's claims of pet-friendliness (or any kind of friendliness)!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Memberalert999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The Manor is a lovely looking building with beautiful grounds and pool but what a disappointment when you get inside the rooms. Our room and that of our friends, was very tired and dismal with worn out bedding and scrubbed furniture. The public areas of the hotel are not quite so bad but in need of a good clean and there was a distinct smell of dog at the reception! There was no hospitality tray in the rooms and no drinks of any kind were available in the hotel until 5pm once breakfast was over! The only saving grace was the food which was very good. What a waste of what could be an outstanding hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ItalyfanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Owner at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

We are truly sorry we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations during your visit to the Stonehurst Manor. We certainly appreciate your feedback which enables us to be a better business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Staff were very accomodating. Food was good. Overall a nice vacation.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinWyman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon/ vacation to New England. Our room was small, but the place itself was very cool and the food/ service in the restaurant were excellent.
We stayed in room #31. It was on the third floor and there was no elevator, so getting the suitcases in and out was a hassle, but not a huge deal. The room was itty-bitty and the bathroom was so small that they put the sink out in the main bedroom where you couldn't help but splash your clothes or whatever was nearby. There were was some paint peeling/ cracks in the ceiling but it wasn't too bad. This is an old place, right?
The front desk staff was a little cold. However, we ate in the restaurant twice and both times we were very pleased with our servers. They were very friendly and helpful. I had the best prime rib I've ever tasted in my life for dinner there. Breakfast was pretty good too.
The manor itself is really a neat old place with lots of woodwork, antiques and what not. Also the grounds are beautiful and the outdoor pool is really nice. There is a fantastic view of some mountains that you can see from much of the property, including the pool area.
It's not cheap, but it's a pretty cool place. I would recommend paying the extra money and getting the meal plan they offer. The food was good, it was a good value, and we didn't find a lot to eat in the surrounding area that was very impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbirds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My family (Mom, Dad, Sister, Brother-in-law and 3-year old Niece) were attending a wedding at Stonehurst Manor. Rather than book several rooms in the manor we opted to stay in one of the on-site condos (about 100 yards from the front door of the Manor).

We were a bit nervous after reading the reviews on here about outdated condos that had mice and ants; but the condo we stayed in (Condo # 8D) was WONDERFUL! The decor was country, certainly; but the 3-level condo was spotless, spacious and had every modern convenience (microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer, AC, flat screen TVs and wine chiler).

The set-up was very comfortable as well. The 3 bedrooms were downstairs (one master bed with full bath and a queen bedroom and a double twin bedroom shared another full bath. Each bedroom had a flat screen TV and were made up with clean linens when we arrived. The bathrooms also had clean towels and there was a fully stocked linen closet as well. The first floor held the dining room, living room, kitchen, half bath and outdoor deck. The third level (it was a loft) had a big comfy sofa and a 60 inch flat screen TV. This was perfect for our family, as we could spread out quite a bit and do our own thing or watch our own shows (especially perfect with a little one).

Friends were staying in another condo, across from us (Condo # 6A) and their loft had a full size pool table which was also a fun amenity. Their condo was just as clean and spacious as ours, with no evidence of bugs or mice anywhere in either condo.

We were told that the condos are individually owned; but rented out by Stonehurst so it seemed like there were different per night minimums depending on condo (or perhaps who you talked to). We were told we could stay 2 nights, but other friends who called were told they had to stay at least a week; I would be very explicit when making your reservations!

Also, we had full access to the Manor and pool area; and although meals were not included, we could have easily dined in the restaurant).

We found Stonehurst Manor Condos to be clean, homey and relaxing; I would most definitely stay in the Condos again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ald656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My husband and I decided to take a spontaneous, one night trip up to North Conway and wanted to stay someplace different than a typical hotel. We decided on the Stonehurst Manor and are so glad we found this place. It was peaceful and quiet, with beautiful mountain views. The Manor's rich history was very interesting, and added so much charm to the property. We stayed in room 20 which included a king bed, fireplace, and two person jacuzzi tub. The room was nice, slightly dated, but with modern amenities (2 flat screen TVs, which includes one in the bathroom). Dinner and breakfast were included in the room rate. I set my expections for the food pretty low, but I was completely blown away. Dinner was very delicious ( we both had prime rib) and the dinner menu was extensive. Before breakfast we enjoyed complimentary coffee in the library lounge. The breakfast menu was also very extensive. I chose buttermilk pancakes, while my husband had Belgian waffles. Both were amazing, and were served with delicious, real maple syrup. The entire staff was super friendly and helpful. We stayed midweek, and even then there were plenty of people in the lounge around dinner. Later at night (around 9) it quieted down, but the library lounge/martini bar stayed open. If you're looking for a wild, party atmosphere this won't be your place. But if you're looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway, definitely give the Stonehurst Manor a try. Lastly, the location is near to all North Conway has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vfarland22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,397 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Address: 3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#14 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $194 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stonehurst Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE dinner and breakfast at the Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing