We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stonehurst Manor
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Stonehurst Manor has a beautiful location, away from the highway, with a view of the mountains, and gorgeous gardens. The decor is very Victorian, in keeping with it's vintage, but the room lighting is extremely dark and impossible to read in. The rooms could use some minor maintenance. Our room had a four poster bed, with one poster extremely loose, which looked like it would fall on your head any minute. Knobs were missing off the wardrobe, and needed to be replaced. The housekeeping could definitely improve. The fireplace hearth and fireplace utensils were filthy with inches of dirt on them. The maid came in daily and appeared to just superficially clean the room. Not what I expected in a hotel such as the manor. The food was good with more than adequate servings. Definitely a bonus to have your breakfast and dinner included in your rate. I'm ambivalent if I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMesaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent visit to the Manor. We certainly do appreciate feed-back in all forms as that is how we are able to constantly improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    272
    67
    46
    59
See reviews for
169
844
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This historic, boutique hotel is the place to stay in North Conway - value can't be beat! The room charge includes a full breakfast and dinner and the portion sizes are incredible. Our favorite parts are the hot tub that overlooks the White Mountains and the cozy bar/library area. All the staff was pleasant and helpful.

The room was fine but not outstanding. But for the price and the meals/location I was fine with a smaller, more unique room.

My only complaint would be that the hot tub is supposed to be only for those 18 and older and this was posted right on the steps going down into the hot tub. At one point there were six kids from ages 4 to about 10 in the tub and some with no parents. I didn't feel comfortable making an issue out of it with the parents but it would have been nice if a staff member walked through every now and then to make sure that the rules were followed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and do certainly look forward to having you join us again very soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just came back from another great vacation at the Stonehurst. As usual very friendly staff, comfortable and clean room, great food and wonderful martinis. Have already booked my room for next summer. Great overall experience as usual. Kudos to the staff & owners for keeping this North Conway Jewel's service levels and overall guest experience the best the area has to offer!

Room Tip: book early for best room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is our 4th year at Stonehurst Manor. We come with friends to decompress from our busy jobs and schedules. The relaxing atmosphere, the fine food that gets better every year (if that is possible), friendly staff and amenities provide the perfect spot within an easy drive of Montreal.

Room Tip: Verify with the staff or the web site because there are substantial differences from one room to ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Manor. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We loved our stay at the Stonehurst manor.
Room was great, clean and had a beautiful view of the mountains. The food was excellent! The seafood and pizzas cooked on a wood oven are to die for!
It is close to the shopping center.
We are going to go back for sure!

Room Tip: We had room 10, great room, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stonehurst Manor is a beautiful complex that sits looking out at the White Mountains and Cathedral Rock. We stayed here for two nights and for sake of simplicity, I will do a list of pros and cons:

Pros:
-VALUE, VALUE, VALUE: included in a night's stay is the room (obvi), a full sit down breakfast for two, and dinner for two (salad, entrée, coffee/tea per person). This is AMAZING because the breakfast for 2 was $28/day and the dinners averaged around $70 each night. Holy cow! And the food was top notch.
-Service: in this category I would put the bartender we had (Michael) and the servers. Also the maids went above and beyond to put new beach towels in our room, and other personal touches. They were quite nice. The front desk staff, though, could use a little livening up. Not overwhelmingly friendly, but not offensive either.
-Location: (see above). It was also about a mile north of all the crowds in downtown North Conway, so that was a plus.

Cons:
-Décor: Think Caddy Shack. It is apparent that this Inn has not had a makeover in about 25-35 years. If they tore down the flower wallpaper and painted the walls a solid color, it would update the Inn completely. Also, the bedding and lighting is very dated as well.
-Modern conveniences: the Manor lacks some everyday conveniences that even the most basic hotels have such as a coffee maker in the room, ice machine (you have to go down to the front desk and sometimes wait in a line for them to get you ice), and nice toiletries (the ones they use are similar to ones I used to see at low end chains in the 80's). Towels were also so rough they hurt our faces.
-Age demographic: 60+....enough said. We were the only ones staying at the Manor that were under the age of 40 that we saw. Great if you like peace and quiet, but really awkward if you're on your honeymoon.
-Pool: be warned - the website says heated, but if so, it must be heated by the sun only....very cold!!

All-in-all, because of the value, food and beverage quality, and location, we give the Manor a 4. Updating is necessary to compete with other Inns! Would we come back? For the food/drinks. Would we recommend to someone to stay here? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn31884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited the White Mountains to take our daughter to Story Land and Santa's Village. We stayed at the Residence Inn, but decided to have dinner at the Stonehurst Manor on Sunday evening. When the 3 of us approached the hostess, she asked if we had reservations. We did not. She told us to wait a minute and she asked another employee to assist her. They ended up sitting us in a dining room with no other diners. As other customers came, they were seated in the dining room with others. We found it odd that we were not seated in the same room. There were many empty tables. We felt like outcasts. The food was good, but the waiter (Ryan) was very slow - only with us. Others who came in after were served quicker than us! He was apologetic every time he came by. I will never go there again. We felt excluded. Why??? Because we did not have reservations ??? There were plenty of empty tables. And our daughter is very well behaved. It's their loss. We're going back to North Conway in a few weeks, but never again to the Stonehurst Manor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg74caddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
5.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
789 reviews
3.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Property: The Stonehurst Manor
Address: 3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#14 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stonehurst Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE dinner and breakfast at the Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing