We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stonehurst Manor
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked room 23 at the Stonehurst Manor and it had a four poster bed, beautiful furniture, fireplace and Jacuzzi in the bathroom.........as well as a bay window that was a balcony so we could see the beautiful views. It has a huge wood fireplace as well. I think the views at this Manor made it so impressive. Our package included dinner and breakfast and some of the meals were great and others not so great........there was too much food! I suggest selecting the lobster and other sea food dishes as some of the meat dishes were dry. I loved the seafood Ciopano which was a fennel/light tomato broth with all sorts of seafood. We loved going into the pool and hot tub to view the mountains. I thought the price was on the high side after seeing what other places had to offer if booking late.

Room Tip: Room 23 and 24 were gorgeous. Some other rooms were smaller (saw them as I passed by them when they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSonnens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Though the grounds are lovely, and the location is actually wonderful and strategic, the staff was rude, and the hotel is uncomfortable. If you decide to eat there, go for the pizza. It was better than anything we tried on the menu, except for their breakfast fair, which was rather delightful. The bar tender was kind and courteous, and so was one young waitress at breakfast. However, the receptionist and the lady in charge of early coffee were especially rude and frustrated. The rooms have no phones. Oh yes, you read correctly: the rooms have no phones. If you need anything, you have to walk down the many steep stairs and ask for it in person, but be ready for some real attitude. Though the room was for two people (and we had booked 2 rooms for a total of 4 people), the maids had left one bottle of shampoo and one bottle of conditioner. There was no lotion or any other personal product. My daughter had a sprained ankle, yet she still had to climb winding stairs to the second floor because the hotel had no elevator. We were smart enough to pack light, but if an older person with a heavy luggage had to do the climb, what then? The hotel is old, decorated in a very old fashioned way. From its lamps to its wallpaper, everything looked and felt old - not charming, just old and ragged. The lighting was dim and the only air-conditioning is individual units in each room, which left the hallways and lobby hot and humid. The rooms were too big for the units in them, leaving it barely cool, and since the bathroom had no air directly pumped in them, they were much to hot. The worst part, however, were the beds. None of us slept well. Between relatively hot rooms and hard beds, we couldn't wait for the sunrise. On the second day, I left the chambermaid $10 and asked for extra shampoo and conditioner, but she did not oblige, though she took the $10 just fine. The music that played in the dinning room was terribly old. The average age at the hotel seemed at least 65. There is nothing wrong with that, but with two kids the hotel was wrong and inconvenient for us. For instance, when swimming in the tiny pool, I must add, their toes got blistered from the rough bottom of that pool; they struggled to walk after that, and it put a damper on the rest of vacation. It just seemed like very little worked for us at Stonehurst Manor. We would never stay there again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler-In-Progress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

The Stonehurst Manor was built in 1876 as an historical Victorian mansion; we never attempt to describe ourselves as anything but. We do wish that you had addressed your concerns while you were here. If you would like to discuss this further, please give our office a call at 800-525-9100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a condo that was nicely equipted it also had a loft that was nice but the noise from the lower could be heard in the loft and vice versa.In order to use the pool after 5pm you have to be 18 years old or older.
the unit that we stayed in had lots of movies, there were several movies and dvd's to watch tv's and dvd's in all the bedrooms

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank blue02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. We look forward to having you join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

were do you get breakfast & dinner " first class by the way" in an charming old inn/manor inc in price. staff is friendley & rooms in manor or outside are comfortable. i have stayed 12/15 times older crowd = quiet amazing starting spot for riding the harley kancamagus / bear notch / evens notch & so on in short we love this place dresed to the 9ssss or harley t shirt shorts & crocks never had a prob.

Room Tip: 3 rd floor is a hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in one of the condos for the week of our wedding and had a great experience. The condo option allowed us to have more space to connect with friends and relatives who stopped by during their stay in North Conway. Our unit (16a) had very comfortable furniture and modern appliances. It would have been great if the unit had fans for the downstairs bedrooms to help keep them cool since the a/c is only on the main floor, but they were surprisingly cool considering! Some of our relatives also stayed in other condo units and they varied in their amenities ranging from dated and a bit musty to fresh and modern. We really enjoyed this lodging option, but the only drawback was the rental requirement. We were told that July reservations require a 7-night stay, but another family attending the wedding was able to reserve for only 2-nights.

The grounds and scenery are gorgeous! We enjoyed our afternoons and evenings by the pool and in the hot tub overlooking the White Mountains. One tip for pool-goers: look out for the rough surface on the bottom and sides of the pool. It is extremely easy to scrape and skin knees/elbows/etc.

All of the service staff were wonderful during the course of our stay, especially during our wedding. Many of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the venue.

Although food was not included with the condos, we thoroughly enjoyed our wedding meals (Baked Stuffed Haddock and Beef Wellington) and many of our guests who stayed in the manor talked about how much they enjoyed their other meals.

We will definitely be back for another visit to the manner!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for writing a review of your recent visit with us at the Manor. The condos are privately owned homes located on our property. The Stonehurst Manor offers a rental program for the owners of each unit. Being privately owned, the condos do offer a different rental structure as the Stonehurst Manor where as some of the wedding party who reserved rooms for only two nights as opposed to family members who reserved condos for 7 nights. We do offer a dinner package plan for condo renters if they choose to. Again we thank you and do look forward to having you join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband went I went up to spend a few days so we could enjoy it before our daughters wedding here in September. We were not disappointed ! We stayed in the manor in room 25. Charming! In spite of being right above the kitchen it was very quiet. Room tastefully decorated. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub, very few people at the time we were here. Mostly an older crowd, very peaceful. Grounds are so pretty and very well kept. Food was amazing and the portions were more then generous. Wait staff obviously love there job. He manor itself is so quaint, a bit dark, but beautiful none the less. It is a perfect spot for our daughters wedding. Can't wait to go back in September!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are larger than 3rd floor. No elevator so if stairs are an issue they have rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our recent visit with us at the Manor. It is certainly our mission to provide an excellent dining experience for dinner and breakfast, relaxing atmosphere and truly a place to unwind. We look forward to seeing you in September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amazing food breakfast & dinner.Very good rates.Nice Bar to relax in before or after dinner.Beautiful gardens with lots of spots to sit & relax while looking at the mountains.
Lots to do in the area. Outlet shopping, local railway or about 45min drive is The Cog Railway which is amazing.
Rooms are comfortable with excellent A/C in summer & some with fires in winter.
There are a lot of stairs as you would expect in an old Inn but there are some rooms on the ground floor.Service staff were all efficient & friendly I did feel the front desk personnel could have been a bit warmer but they were not impolite.Overall even though there was a wedding that weekend we were still made to feel we mattered, and they finished the reception at 7 so as not to interfere with other guests which i really appreciated.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have walk out access to the garden.Some rooms have fireplaces (nice in winter) So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 606hatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write of your recent visit to the Manor. We are delighted to hear that your stay was wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
3.5 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,435 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Address: 3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#14 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $193 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stonehurst Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE dinner and breakfast at the Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing