We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Victorian Inn on a hill nestled in the White Mountains!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stonehurst Manor
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great architecture, history, rooms, amenities, food, prime location for nature, outdoor sports, shopping, restaurants and friendly staff. Also great value with meals included and beautiful mountain views.

-Heather Cowen and Brad Doyle

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent visit. We certainly enjoyed having you with us and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I have spent many wonderful vacations at Stonehurst Manor over a 5 year period. The accomodations in the main manor, the service and the food were excellent. However over the past three years, when trying to re-create our favourable experiences with the Manor's lovely restaurant, we attended the Manor's Thursday, two for one special dinner package. I'm sad to say that our three experiences over the past three years have been very disappointing. The quality of the service and the food has severely deteriorated. Our most recent experience in December of 2012 left us never wanting to return. The waiter was unprofessional and the food was terrible. The calamari was cold and rubbery and when I mentioned this to the waiter, his response was "sorry". No suggestion was made to bring me a fresh plate of it or to take it off our bill. My salad, which was supposed to be an entree, was "salad from a bag" and not fresh. I have had much better salads at Delaney's and other local pubs. My husband's beef tenderloin was mediocre. I do hope that the Manor's food improves back to it's earlier 5-star quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent visit to the Manor. We are sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations. Please give us a call at your convenience to discuss this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 3 days two nights at Stonehurst Manor. This is our second stay at the Manor and it was excellent. The dinners were amazing and we were very happy with our room. We did not stay in the Manor this time but we were very pleased with our room in the wing. The bed was comfortable and the room was well appointed and very clean. We recommend Stonehurst to all of our friends!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful relaxing visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the fourth winter we visited. The meals and service in dining room are exemplary. We would give it a 5 but for the lack of working wifi that is advertised to be working and the office staff that could use a course in public relations. They seem cold and detached. Not even a welcome back greeting or have a safe trip see you next year. The roaring fireplace is a great place to relax read a book or make new friends.

Room Tip: If snowshoeing motel wing on first floor is convenient to put on snow shoes on terrace and walk righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review of your recent visit with us. We certainly appreciate our guest's feedback as that is how we gauge our success. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 5th New Years Eve at Stonehurst Manor and it was wonderful as usual! The staff have been there for a long time and remember us from year to year. We love coming to this beautiful resort to relax and leave our stressful lives behind. We can do that well here. The rooms are unique and well appointed, the lounge is so cozy and welcoming I could curl up and read a book by the fire! The dining rooms are varied and seat many but when we eat there we feel like we are all alone! Each table is intimate and our server is always great! We have also visited in other seasons with the same wonderful service and meals. They run special weekends and one should not miss them! I know we will be going back to Stonehurst Manor for many years!! It's a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a well deserved break from our busy lives!
Phil and Lynn

Room Tip: All rooms are great but some are smaller than others. There are three floors and no elevator so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you! We certainly enjoy having you return each time. Guests that become has family is the greatest mark that we are doing something right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I escaped for a one night getaway and ended up choosing the Stonehurst Manor. The price was great for what we got. We had a small room on the third floor which at night gets VERY HOT. The view was nice and the room was adequate for two people. Nothing fancy. The downstairs however is amazing. The detail in the woodwork and the fireplace and reading corner are just stunning. The price included both dinner and breakfast. Our meals were great as were the wait staff. The martinis are out of this world!

When researching a place take into consideration that the building is old. The heating system is very loud with several banging noises throughout the night. Since we live in a newer house I was not accustomed to the noise that an older heating system has. I didn't sleep much because of the noise. I know that there was nothing they could have done since it is an older house. One other thing to note is there is a female entitiy that inhabits the inn. She is a very pleasant spirit. One may not believe in this kind of thing but I happened to have more than one encounter with her during our one night stay. I happened to ask the front desk clerk about her just for conformation. If you are not sensitive to these types of things than you should have an uneventful, peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momtoaandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your "interesting" evening with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were quite excited to be going to this inn, as the photos on their website and the description of the "gourmet" meals had us enticed. The room was a big letdown. Yes; it had the exact furniture as show in the photos, but what the photos didn't show was how damaged the furniture was. The sheets were the cheapest I've ever seen. The food, while OK, was not spectacular, and the restaurant was so cold the first night we were there that I had to wear my coat. We wouldn't go back. Small note... I said we were there in May only to complete the review... can't remember when it was we actually went.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of review of your stay this past May 2012 we certainly know how busy everyone can be. We do sincerely wish that you had let us know of your concerns while you were with us this past spring as we then would have been able to address them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
7.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,414 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#2 of 25 in North Conway
668 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Address: 3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#14 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range: $194 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stonehurst Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE dinner and breakfast at the Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing