We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stonehurst Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stonehurst Manor
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Fryeburg, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here two nights, the rooms are very charming & the atmosphere is very homey & welcoming. Every staff member is pleasant to talk to & the food & drinks are great. They have the best chicken Marsala I've ever eaten so I had to meet the chef. He was very personable & friendly. I also spent a good while at the pool which was impeccably kept as well as the landscaping with the flowers & butterflies. I recommend the Stonehurst Manor to everyone i know!

Room Tip: Room 24 was great with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePickleLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We truly thank you for taking the time to write a response. We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    271
    67
    46
    59
See reviews for
168
840
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pointe Claire, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just visited for the first time. We stayed 3 nights and had excellent service, mostly with a smile. Leona Wright was very professional and helpful. Wait service cheerful. Food was so delicious and fresh. We never needed lunch. Bar staff and other staff always asking how they can help. Absolutely gorgeous setting. We were able to walk around the property for good exercise in a beautiful environment. Surprisingly, no bugs at all for summertime. Loved sitting out and facing the mountain. The one small complaint would be about the mattress...I really had a hard time sleeping as the bed had a very soft mattress. Question...can you give information about the history of the grandfather clock with a turntable in it, facing room 24? Very intriguing! This spot is definitely attractive to the 40 and up age group. Those with children would probably need to take many day trips to water parks, mini golf, zip-lining etc. all which are nearby. The families we saw all had very, very well-behaved children, so everyone must have been happy! We would like to return for sure, maybe try out a condo. If you want relaxation and pampering, no worries about where to eat, and an overall get-away with a touch of class from a by-gone era, you will enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarinet49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so sorry that you didn't like our new pillow top mattresses. When you reserve again, please let us know that you would prefer a firmer matteress and we can certainly make arrangements for that. The clock came with the Manor and we have no history on it. The Manor was built in 1876.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northport, new york
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

we checked this hotel out with Trip advisor prior to making reservations. The ratings were about 80% favorable. We concur. The hotel and room (#25) were just as pictured in their brochure. Outside views and grounds were great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baltic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Stonehurst and cant wait to return. We were treated with professional and elegant service. The manor is very romantic and beautiful, a perfectly romantic setting. Loved it from beginning to end and will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you for celebrating your special weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I are frequent guess to Stonehurst Manor , this past February was probably our eighth stay at the manor. The service is always exceptional and the staff are always very accomodating. Actually we're on a first name basis.
Our favorite room is the room over the car port however we've stayed in three other rooms over the years and have never had a problem.

Room Tip: rooms with mountainveiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tealady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
We do so truly appreicate your wonderful kind words. We certainly know that we are doing something right when our guests feel as you do. Thank you so much for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed in the Mountainview wing this time. The room is nicely decorated with a large four-poster bed and a nice flat screen TV. The bath is updated and bright. The mattress was a bit soft, though, and could be turned or replaced. Still, we slept fairly well. The AC was a plus.
Staff is friendly and acommodating. Our room overlooked the mountains and the pool and hot tub area. A fabulous back drop for relaxation!
Food was very good and nicely presented. The lobster, scallops, and veal dishes are great. The marscapone cheese stuffed crepes are terrific! The service was good as always. Cocktails are well-crafted and they have a nice selection of top-shelf offerings. What a lovely lounge to relax in and enjoy a cocktail before dinner.
The hotel has relaxed its policy over the years about children in the pool, but overall, most families were good in keeping with the adults only after 5 pm rule. No children under 18 are allowed in the hot tub, which is a good safety rule as well.
Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs if you stay in the main manor. I am not aware of an elevator on the premises... great workout for the legs, though, especially if you're planning to hike during your stay.
We have stayed at the Stonehurst several times over the years, and it still offers some of the best values in the North Conway area. The manor has some beautiful rooms for a more romantic getaway. We definitely plan to return again!

Room Tip: If you are tall ask about ceiling heights. Room 32 B has a great window view and is private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallieBanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. We are constantly updating and renovating as we are a Victorian mansion from the 1800s and we pride ourselves in providing just the perfect relaxing stay for our guests. Michael, our Bar Manager, delights in designing new and wonderful beverages. Our culinary department, headed by Chef Davis also strives to keep our menu exciting. Your kind words mean we are providing just the right kind of relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telaviv
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I have had a fabulous dining experience at the Stonehurst Manor - 20 times over the past 10 years.. so I decided to try to book a room in the old Manor. The first stay was part of a wedding party and the quarters out back were tight and the place was quite noisy. The second and third stays were inside the Manor itself and while the bed was old and the room a bit run down, we had a great time. The place was clean and the hot tub was in its own private room. As our nights passed there, we were sad to leave the place. It is quiet and the guests who go there have fallen in love with the manor.. as we did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank savvy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor3351, Front Office Manager at The Stonehurst Manor, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
It is certainly a pleasure meeting guests for the first time, as we know when they check out and we say “Good bye” it will probably not be the last time. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We certainly appreciate that you have taken the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
3.4 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehurst Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehurst Manor

Property: The Stonehurst Manor
Address: 3351 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#14 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stonehurst Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE dinner and breakfast at the Stonehurst Manor, a turn-of-the-century mansion located on 33 private acres just one mile north of North Conway, New Hampshire where you'll experience the "best" getaways that Mt. Washington Valley and the White Mountains have to offer. Romantic guestrooms and suites(many with mountain views, Jacuzzis and wood-burning fireplaces), a popular gourmet restaurant, a Library Lounge with a huge fieldstone fireplace and artisan-carved oak paneling gourmet restaurant serving New England cuisine and Italian specialties featuring Manor-made fresh pasta, wood-fired oven baked artisan bread and signature sourdough pizzas. We are also pet friendly! Outdoor seasonal heated pool and hot tub, tennis and doorstep access to trail network for walking, snowshoeing and cross country skiing. Conveniently located to area activities including tax-free shopping, skiing, fly fishing, hiking, biking, zip lines, and climbing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stonehurst Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway
Stonehurst Manor North Conway
Stonehurst Manor Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing