We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the restaurant and the store!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of the local grocer

the local grocer
Ranked #29 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a health food store, cafe, deli and bakery. We specialize in organic, locally sourced, and creative breakfast and lunch food. We have something for the vegetarian, vegan, and conscious omnivore. We have an organic espresso/smoothie/juice bar in our cafe and offer many gluten free items both in our bakery and on our cafe menu (though we are not a gluten free facility). Our espresso bar uses locally roasted, organic, fair trade espresso and coffee, local milk and cream, and house made syrups. Our meats and cheeses are naturally and humanely raised, our eggs and local and organic, our bread is organic and house made, and our produce, nuts, seeds, and grains are 100% organic. We use recycled/recyclable to-go ware, and compost food waste at our own farm, Mountain Flower Farm, where we grow produce for our cafe and market in-season.
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love the restaurant and the store!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My daughter and I and my two grandchildren had a wonderful breakfast here. My daughter is GF and she ended up buying the bread she had for breakfast. Prices were also good. And the Pineapple smoothie was sooooo good. My daughter and I each got one, but the two kids ended up drinking most of it. We also got some products for her to bring home for her GF diet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    28
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy Vegan options!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Yay for going to a restaurant and having a hard time deciding what to pick. Not a normal decision for a vegan like myself. Normally its gee this is the only thing I can order. The food (the vegan Reuben) anyways is AMAZINGLY yummy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rukaspooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Healthy Option!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were in the area for a few days and have a child who has some very specific dietary needs. This place was like a mini Whole Foods. It carried not a ton of options for each product, but a little of everything. The prepared foods were excellent, particularly the desserts. If you require gluten-free foods, they certainly had plenty of prepared foods and items on the shelves that fit the bill. This place came recommended to us and I would certainly recommend it as well to the health conscious diner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluebell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cold Shoulder”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Came in looking for something (forget now) and got a very cold shoulder. Noone wanted to help out. Ended up leaving without getting help. Would have gotten some other things if I got some help.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTravels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlijmen
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First health food site in North Conway - good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We did not enjoy a whole meal here, but only bought some scones, energy chunks and smoothies for on the road.
But the smoothies are good, and totally healthy!
Spelt scones not bad either!

Worth recommending to those either visiting or living in North Conway.
Low-carb, paleo etc. Join the healthy people!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vsop-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the local grocer also viewed

North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to the local grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing