We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best health food store around!”
Review of the local grocer

the local grocer
Ranked #31 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a health food store, cafe, deli and bakery. We specialize in organic, locally sourced, and creative breakfast and lunch food. We have something for the vegetarian, vegan, and conscious omnivore. We have an organic espresso/smoothie/juice bar in our cafe and offer many gluten free items both in our bakery and on our cafe menu (though we are not a gluten free facility). Our espresso bar uses locally roasted, organic, fair trade espresso and coffee, local milk and cream, and house made syrups. Our meats and cheeses are naturally and humanely raised, our eggs and local and organic, our bread is organic and house made, and our produce, nuts, seeds, and grains are 100% organic. We use recycled/recyclable to-go ware, and compost food waste at our own farm, Mountain Flower Farm, where we grow produce for our cafe and market in-season.
Arundel, Maine
1 review
“Absolutely the best health food store around!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We do not live in NH but have made special trips to this store for the unique items and food they have to offer. The renovations are beautiful and I love that they have incorporated a yoga studio in the same facility.

Staff is always friendly and helpful. The GM is always on the floor assisting customers and willing to help with a smile on her face. Love the atmosphere.

Very clean and easy to find items in the store.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    29
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
“The Local Grocier Great Food Great Staff!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped by the local grocier for a quick bite, and to pick up some vitamins, they have all kinds of items from vitimins,oils,chips,meats,nice selection of juices beer and wine,STAFF IS THERE AND VERY WILLING TO HELP WITH ALL OF YOUR NEEDS!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gradywhite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
“The Local Grocer is a unique spot to eat and shop”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Heading to visit relatives in Vermont a couple of weeks ago, we stopped at the Local Grocer to check it out. It is a neat little store, which we understand just went through renovations. I ordered the best Rueben sandwich I've had in ages and my Husband raved about the Roast Beef and Cheese sandwich. We picked up a few items, among them some loose tea. (One was catnip, which the clerk promised would help me sleep better...I bought it, but haven't tried it yet). People were friendly and willing to help. It's worth taking the time to stop and look around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grammie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mountains NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding offerings for a small town”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am a regular patron of the Local Grocer. I continue to be impressed with their large selection of smoothies, sandwiches (both breakfast and lunch), beverages as well as the usual natural food items. Obviously you'll never find the variety that a large chain store has, but neither will you be putting the money back into our community or getting treated like a valued customer instead of a stranger. Great place! So glad it's here in our valley!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regular shopper”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I come to the Local grocer regularly. The workers are awesome and so is the environment. They offer fresh foods and smoothies which are amazing! Highly recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the local grocer also viewed

 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to the local grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing