We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Thai Nakon Ping

Thai Nakon Ping
Ranked #34 of 93 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The food here was excellent. I got the spicy pad Thai (which wasn't spicy enough for me, at least) and my girlfriend got the yellow curry and we shared a seaweed salad appetizer. The seaweed salad was awesome! the seaweed was not too moost and overpowering in flavor. The pad Thai was excellent, was not greasy like some places ive been. It was neatly topped with a cut-out carrot which i thought was a cool presentation for the dish. The curry was also delicious. I'm not a curry aficionado so I can't really say much about the curry other than it was delicious.
The service was good. The waiter seemed a bit bored or tired but was never rude or anything. The older woman was quite nice. Checked to see how our food was.
The price of the food, however, seemed a wee bit on the higher end. I don't know how much the other Thai places are charging and This is my first time to North Conway, but the prices seemed as high as places in Boston. Is it because it is such a touristy area. Not really complaining, just saying that I was expecting a slightly lower price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    45
    17
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went as part of a large group (4 adults and 4 children). All of the food was surprisingly excellent, but the service was terribly slow and not very attentive. When we asked for additional plates to serve on to, we were told that they didn't have any left which was shocking. They also forgot to bring out at least one of our orders. In the future, I think I'd go for take-out instead of a sit down meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Another Overrated Thai Restaurant.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were there mid-week just before the tourist season opened and there was no one in the place but us. The food was pedestrian, my chicken in garlic sauce was covered with black pepper and was almost inedible. The service was ok and the prices kind of high considering the quality of the food. The taro pudding and fried banana desserts were the only saving grace for this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious, flavorful, fresh and served quickly. We will come back for sure. The waiter was very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant was clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh, no.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We thought the food was ok at the time. I really liked my sweet and sour tofu dish, and the tempura. But a couple hours later I got very sick from the food. We told the waiter we were vegetarians, but now we think there was fish sauce in the fried rice, and chicken stock in the hot basil dish. We kept hearing a microwave beeping in the kitchen, so I think the food and/or is re-heated and not freshly made. Too bad, as they seem like nice people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notchitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Nakon Ping also viewed

North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 
North Conway, Conway
North Conway, Conway
 

Been to Thai Nakon Ping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing