We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of School House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
School House Motel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Scarborough
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

The room was clean and comfortable. The desk woman was friendly and very helpful. The free coffee and tea in the morning were AWFUL! Coffee very weak and only powdered creamer, no real milk or cream. And the hot water in the carafe for tea did not have even a little bubble in it, ie it was far from boiling or even hot. The ice supply was not adequate at all. But overall it was good value and clean and quiet. Just don't expect too much from the free morning beverages, that is all!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fisheagle2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    32
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
43
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

the people are friendly and from moncton originality. They will help you with your days planning and things to see and do. It is located smack dab in the middle of everything. Close to dunking donuts and scenic views and shopping great spot.

Room Tip: the info booth on the same st. great help they help us get the school house room.Go there!! shes gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weinertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Check in was quick and within minutes we were parked outside of our room.
The room was clean and had everything we needed (mini-fridge, tv, AC, wifi, and a comfy bed). We had a perfect view of the White Mountains from our room; it was breathtaking. The private pool in the back faces the mountains and is also a great place to relax from a day of shopping and cool down from the sun.

The motel is only a few minutes drive to the outlets, and directly across from a cute, outdoor mini-putt and a delicious, Authentic Thai Restaurant (a must try).

The best thing about this place is the value. If we had more vacation time, we would've stayed another few nights. This place is clean and comfy, and the staff is helpful and friendly. Don't spend your money on a pricier stay, keep it for the tax-free shopping!

We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxniexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

This motel is basic but met all our needs....a clean comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. It has a beautiful view out the back window. Owners are very friendly and helpful. I certainly would return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anamay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The School House Motel is a CLEAN TIDY place to stay at very reasonable cost. Strictly a no frills place just very comfortable. The desk Lady is so friendly.
The Motel does not provide breakfast, the desk girl will tell you places to go. A few mintues drive takes to PEACHES a small family run eatery. Oh my what a great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_king_brat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stumbled upon this motel as we were making our way through a week's long trip to New England. As others have mentioned, it was exactly what we needed. Our room was clean, simple, and had a great view of the majestic Mt. Washington. The owners were sweet and happy to help answer questions. Although the decor was not modern, the room itself was bright and clean. We felt like were were staying at a room in a grandparents' house (in a good way!). The best part was the price. It was the off-season and it was a steal to stay there!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totnpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbidden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

That's it. This is the place to stay. No pretense, no frills, no dirt. The owners and their kitty are great and obviously hire great people help care for the Schoolhouse.

The rooms are a bit on the small size as is the bed, but hey, if it makes it easier to keep everything in excellent order (as it is) then no complaints. I say "trendy" in a throwback kind of way...reminds me of how motels used to be, and I wish more were like this.

It's hard to find a better deal to recommend, really. And I hesitate to tell others how great this place is because if you've ever been there you know you will want to go back...and if we keep writing the truth about this place it will fill up and prices will go up and it will be harder to get in :-)

Hubby and I've been going there for N.Conway area ski trips for 3 years now.

Don't forget to try the rueben at Horsefeathers and remember LLBean is just down the road...well, the hotel management will be able to answer your questions about where to go for whatever you need in the area, anyways.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikumands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.3 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.8 mi away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#20 of 24 in North Conway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#11 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Motel

Property: School House Motel
Address: 2152 White Mountain Hwy, RT16/302, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — School House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, clean, family run motel featuring great views at great prices. Centrally located between downtown and the tax-free shopping outlets. Most rooms with 1 queen, or 2 twins for the same price and also 4 bigger rooms with 2 doubles available at a higher rate. Complimentary coffee in office mornings, Cable TV, A/C, heat, wireless internet, and small refridgerators in all rooms. Front door parking at motel and cottages. Sorry , we are not pet friendly. All non-smoking rooms,(outside OK.) Office open from 8AM-9PM daily. For our neighbors from the north the lady of the house speaks French also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your School House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing