We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the Chief's Quarters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #6 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in the Chief's Quarters”
Reviewed August 16, 2007

This was our first stay at the Spruce Moose and we can't wait to come back! We had a wonderful family weekend in the Chief's Quarters. Since we are not pet owners, I was a bit apprehensive about staying in a place that welcomed pets. I should not have worried - everything was recently renovated, very well maintained and super clean. The Chief's Quarters are especially great for larger families - 2 bedrooms that can accommodate up to 8 people and an incredibly spacious common area.

The kitchen in the cottage had everything we needed, the beds (even the bunk beds) were incredibly comfortable, there were even board games for the kids. One of the most relaxing vacation dinners we had was in the picnic area at the cottage - the adults could eat and the kids could run around and play! Great location close to the center of North Conway, very friendly hosts, what more can I say? We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busy-mom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    38
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
75
145
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2007

I am posting this review now ( a bit late!! ) as my husband & I stayed at this lodge about 6 months ago. Our anniversary is at the end of August, so we are considering going away for the weekend to celebrate and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere other than here in NH!!
Leon & Nell couldn't have been any nicer, more out-going, or accomodating....It is an especially wonderful place to stay as it is completely pet friendly!! We loved the fact that we could take our dog Bailey along for the trip and he enjoyed himself almost as much as we did -- if not more!!! :)
We stayed in the Pierce Cottage, and we were greeted warmly with the pleasant aroma of a lit scented candle, and a box of gourmet cookie treats for Bailey!
Leon & Nell graciously offered to 'puppy-sit' for us whenver my husband & I wanted to go out to eat, shopping, or sight-seeing at all of the wonderful places nearby! As a result, Bailey & Lilly had a budding romance!!!
We hated to leave as we had such a great time, but we are very much looking forward to returning!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank dawnmarie0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg,MA
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We chose the Chief Quaters for our family. We were very happily surprised to find such a friendly atmosphere and everything we could possibly need right there. Very clean and updated recently, very well cared for. They thought of pretty much everything. Including a gas grill. We arrived on the 4th, and found lots of things going on on the green in the town center. Great place to get away and relax. The Spruce Moose is a short distance from downtown, but still very peaceful. I'm not much for writing reviews. But I will tell you this, Myself and my family will definatley make many more return trips. It's been a couple of weeks and we are all still taking about our experience at the Spruce Moose. We are all looking forward to going back real soon and bringing more of our family with us.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank festaFitchburg_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2007

This was our first trip to the White Mts. We spent lots of time trying to find a place that not only accepts pets but truly loves them. This is it!!! We stayed in the Smith cottage and it was perfect. Nellie and Leon are outstanding as innkeepers. They gave us great ideas of what to see and do. Nellie also popped in daily to let us know which restaurant had the specials (two for one) that evening for dinner. While we toured around, our dog, Cooper, was well taken care of. Nellie let Cooper out and he got to play with Lilly and Whitman. I never expected her to babysit our dog, too. Our cottage was very clean and cozy. Leon also printed out what the weather was supposed to be like the day we wanted to go to the top of Mt. Washington. We would highly recommend this place to anyone, but especially to those who want great hospitality, and a VERY CLEAN environment for their dog and themselves. Thanks, Nellie and Leon. We will definitely be staying here next time through.

  • Liked — Pet friendly and personable innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing...loved it all!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Nellie & Leon, the Owners & their children (Whitman the Yellow Lab & Lilly the Jack Russel Terrier) are the masters at hospitality. You are greeted with a smile and a wag and the combination of accommodations (Inn, Small, Medium & Large-sized cottages, as well as
two bungalows and a private house) nestled in the forest are all that
one needs along with a short walk to downtown North Conway to make a weekend or longer stay just perfect. With five people, I chose the larger cottage which included two bedrooms; one with two double bunk beds and another bedroom with a queen sized bed. The kitchen is oversized (equipped with all your needs) and a good-sized parlor for watching t.v., which includes a gas fireplace (as well as air conditioning). The outdoor area is large with a picnic table and plenty of chairs along with gas grills. For those who enjoy hiking, Mount Cranmore is a short distance away, along with Jackson Falls, Diana's Bath, Ellis Falls and of course StoryLand for the younger crowd. Other attractions include fine dining in the local area, outlet shopping and just the great outdoors! I am comforted by the innkeepers as they are personable, knowledgeable and are accommodating to all your needs! The only problem I've encountered is
"leaving" because it's my home away from home!

  • Liked — Great hospitality and pet friendly!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We enjoyed our stay! Can't say enough of Leon and Nellie (and Lily and Whitman). They welcomed us in the driveway and introduced us to our beautiful cabin (Chief's Quarters). The cabin was roomy, clean, cozy, and very inviting. Our dog was treated as it it was one of their own. Nellie was excellent with her! Nellie and Leon truly love and enjoy being inkeepers! We felt as if they were part of our family and they made us feel as if we were part of theirs! We highly recommend a stay, or two, or all, at the Spruce Moose Lodge!

David

  • Liked — Great service and great grounds!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffdjp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2006

We spent a wonderful weekend with Nellie, Leon, Whitman and Lilly. Their hospitality was amazing and they suggested great restaurants and hiking trails. Leon's pumpkin pancakes were delicious and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hfx06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.8 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#4 of 21 in North Conway
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages

Property: Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Address: 207 Seavey Street, Po Box 557, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5358 (Formerly Sunny Side Inn)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property consists of a 9 bedroom(all private baths) antique farm house bed and breakfast, 2 canine friendly jacuzzi bungalows,(one is canine friendly), and 3 canine friendly cottages and 2 canine friendly houses. We serve breakfast to our bed and breakfast and jacuzzi guests. The cottages and houses are fully equipped with kitchens. We have a yellow lab named Whitman, a Jack Russell named Lilly and a Yellow Lab- Bassett mix named Jed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Moose Lodge And Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing