We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home! Doggies included”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #6 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home! Doggies included”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been staying with Nellie and Leon for at least 8 years. We love them-they're like our second family. We've stayed in every cottage, stayed in the inn, and both of their houses.

The breakfast that's included with your staying the inn (not cottages and houses ) is incredible. Leon used to own a bagel/coffee place in NY. He's humble but Can cook a mean breakfast!!

While we enjoy staying in the cottages and the inn, we really enjoy the big spruce house. With a massive fully furnished kitchen,cozy living room and plenty of sleeping space it really is our home away from home. We always feel welcome by Nellie and Leon. Don't know what we would do without out winter escape with our entire family and furry family too. The innkeepers go out of their way to make your stay great. Location is the best for all local skiing and restaurants . Or you can just kick back après ski with friends and family in the cozy house. Will keep coming back time and time again. The Woolley's

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    38
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
75
145
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nellie was a great host - even loaned us her personal corskscrew when ours failed. It is obvious that this place welcomes and likes dogs (the owners have three of their own). Good location in North Conway - near restaurants and outlet shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 696MaryB696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend getaway with our dogs! The owners are very friendly and very accommodating. Would have given 5 stars but the couch was very uncomfortable - wanted to unwind after a full day of hiking.
Lovely place to visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

After several stays at the Spruce Moose, I have never been disappointed.The innkeepers are fantastic and accommodating. The rooms and cottages are always clean and comfortable. The location is perfect, a very quiet setting, yet a short walk to town. It is also TRULY pet friendly. My dog enjoyed our stays as much as I did. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This fulfilled all my New England dreams!! It was exactly the kind of place I imagined staying in during our trip from the UK. The owners are so friendly. We called in on the off chance they would have a room for the night and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a double room and it was really quaint and very clean. The location is perfect for wandering into town for the scenic railway and restaurants (bring a torch if you walk back after dark).
The blueberry pancakes for breakfast are amazing!! We wished we could have stayed longer and I am already hoping to come back during the winter. Perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLouise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My boyfriend, our two dogs, and I stayed in Roger's Retreat last weekend. We were in the area to do some hiking. It was a great place to stay! Very comfortable, clean, and dog-friendly. Leon and Nellie were very friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Breakfast was excellent!! We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent three nights in the conifer room of the main lodge.
The lodge was very easy to find, had plenty of parking and looked welcoming from the outside. When we arrived Nellie showed us where everything was and offered us a cup of coffee and cookies, which are available during the day.
Our room was good and decorated in what I suppose I'd call (in a complimentary way) homely. Our shower room was very small and Nellie made sure that we knew that there was no bath. Who wants to waste time in a bath when there are so many great things to see. She advised us on local restaurants and bars that we might want to visit.
Breakfast was different each morning - coffee/juice/muffins and one day fried eggs, another day homemade pancakes and the third eggs benedict. Leon is a great cook as as personable and welcoming as his wife! Everyone sits together for breakfast and conversation was pleasant and easy-going. I suppose you can't be guaranteed what other guests will be there but we enjoyed their company.
They offered us advice on where to visit and what to see. We arrived back one afternoon and decided to rest on the porch for a few minutes and Leon brought us out cookies to go with the coffee we'd made. Nellie also made sure that we had discount vouchers for the outlets.
After long days sightseeing (and dinner nearby) we came back and sat at the open fire and chatted to other guests and had a beer.

There are a couple of dogs and although I'm not a huge dog person I did find them entertaining. They are obviously very easy going and used to people (like Leon and Nellie then!) so shouldn't cause any problems.

Overall - highly recommended. You couldn't ask for a more pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: The conifer room opens out into the main living area but we didn't hear any noise so were very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.8 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#3 of 21 in North Conway
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages

Property: Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Address: 207 Seavey Street, Po Box 557, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5358 (Formerly Sunny Side Inn)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property consists of a 9 bedroom(all private baths) antique farm house bed and breakfast, 2 canine friendly jacuzzi bungalows,(one is canine friendly), and 3 canine friendly cottages and 2 canine friendly houses. We serve breakfast to our bed and breakfast and jacuzzi guests. The cottages and houses are fully equipped with kitchens. We have a yellow lab named Whitman, a Jack Russell named Lilly and a Yellow Lab- Bassett mix named Jed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Moose Lodge And Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing