We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #8 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed for a weekend with a group of friends and had a wonderful time! The accommodations were comfortable and so convenient to Cranmore and all the restaurants in North Conway. Everything is within walking distance. Nellie and Leon are the greatest and I really enjoyed their hospitality. A wonderful couple who ensure your stay is going to be memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

My girlfriend, dog and I rented a jacuzzi bungalow for a night away from the city. Spruce moose lodge was FANTASTIC!!!! gorgeous room with a king bed and giant jacuzzi tub as well as fireplace. and the breakfast that morning was amazing, made to order, not the gross buffet that has been sitting out for an hour.

DEFINITELY the place to go.. We will be sure to be going back!

Room Tip: go with the jacuzzi bungalow - if you like bathes - its worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

just back from a week in the Spruce Moose house. It was great. Six guests were very comfortable, although there would have been room for a few more. There is so much room in the house, and very comfortably furnished. Time outside on the large patio was nice, as well as on the front porch. It is a great location, only a short walk into North Conway. There is a very nice hike nearby (Kearsage Mountain North), beautiful views, 3 hour round trip. In summary, we loved the house and location, and plan to rent again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights last week and really enjoyed the friendly and comfortable atmosphere the Spruce Moose provides. Nellie and Leon are terrific hosts with loads of great advice for things to do and they make fab breakfasts! Its no surprise people keep coming back and I hope we do someday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Had a two night stay at this amazing place. Nellie and Leon are great hosts and from the minute we walked in we felt right at home. The place has a real homely feel to it and the notice which says 'enter as stangers, leave as friends' was really appropriate. Guests share breakfast together with a differenct country breakfast freshly cooked everyday. We didnt want to leave and would love to return

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I just spent another wonderful week at the Spruce Moose! (We have vacationed there so mant times I cannot begin to count!) This trip we rented one of the houses........ It was a joy to go into at the end of everyday and even more of a joy to wake up and enjoy a cup of coffee! Leon and Nelly are so attentive to the details and needs of those vacationing or who are away on business that you have all the comforts of home without any of the stress! Wonderful space.....large spacious open kitchen with a great sound system, a peaceful patio and porch and all with in walking distance to Cranmore Mountain and downtown. A huge bonus is the welcoming of your canine family!! I am already for another trip to the Spruce and we just got home yesterday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Awfully friendly, Awfully homey, Awfully welcoming, Awfully charming, Awfully good breakfast, but mostly, it was awfully hard to leave.

I have to say, this is our 5th or 6th visit, but it was our first stay in the inn, we usually have the dogs so we’d take a cabin. We have used all three and they are all great. The inn is obviously bigger and if you like meeting people from who knows where, then go for it. If you prefer to be alone, take a cabin, or you can be very comfortable staying in your room. Either way, you’ll love your stay. It’s a short walk down the hill to the village, and a 2 min car ride to the outlets. Once you are back home, its quiet and peaceful.

It is spotless, has very well kept grounds, and the guest do not leave any doggie surprises in the grass.

Both the cabins and the inn are decorated with true New England Charm, and the innkeepers do their profession proud. If there ever were a couple made for this line of work, Leon and Nellie are it. If they do not love what they do, then they are the best actors I have ever met.

Now what to do next time, Inn or cabin? Where we go, is a forgone conclusion.

Spruce Moose, “THE BEST!!!!”, if will be awfully hard for anyone to find better.

Thanks again, and again, and again....!!

Joe and Bea
Brossard
Canada

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fensterderome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
6.9 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
2.4 mi away
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages
#12 of 21 in North Conway
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages

Address: 207 Seavey Street, Po Box 557, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5358 (Formerly Sunny Side Inn)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: $89 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property consists of a 9 bedroom(all private baths) antique farm house bed and breakfast, 2 canine friendly jacuzzi bungalows,(one is canine friendly), and 3 canine friendly cottages and 2 canine friendly houses. We serve breakfast to our bed and breakfast and jacuzzi guests. The cottages and houses are fully equipped with kitchens. We have a yellow lab named Whitman, a Jack Russell named Lilly and a Yellow Lab- Bassett mix named Jed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Moose Lodge And Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing