We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabernet inn ”
Review of The Cabernet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cabernet Inn
Ranked #7 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This B and B is situated in North Conway and is a great place for touring the fabulous scenery around the area including Mount Washington. It also features one of the best breakfasts I've eaten in a long time with a wide-ranging choice and in our two night stay both breakfasts were fantastic. The couple who run the inn were also very helpful, we had one wet day and were provided with a wet day touring guide which proved to be absolutely spot on. This is a very comfortable home from home B&B and an experience not to be missed

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 287 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I travelled to North Conway for the weekend and stayed at the Cabernet Inn based on the reviews we'd found online. We were looking for something quaint, quiet and affordable and what we got exceeded our expectations. The Innkeepers, Bruce and Jessica are phenomenal; incredibly thoughtful and attentive. We had originally booked a standard room but upon arrival they informed us that they were able to upgrade us to the luxury suite free of charge. The room was really lovely, with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. I have a gluten allergy and in the morning they had a gluten free muffin and a gluten free menu ready and waiting for me. Breakfast was prepared by Jessica and served by Bruce and it was so delicious and hearty. I had the day's special omelet with fresh vegetables and bacon. No boring continental breakfasts here! The Inn is clean, pleasantly decorated and very relaxing. We will absolutely return to the Cabernet Inn and highly recommend it to couples traveling in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luxury Suite and it was really lovely. Set in the back of the building with it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a three day stay at this B & B. The place is very clean and the Inn keepers are nice. Here is the but, breakfast is served between 8 and 9. There are only 4 tables and if the place is occupied there could be 10 or 11 couples. This means that you either wait for a table or sit with another couple or have them sit with you. I think this is an awkward position to put someone in or be put in yourself. Speaking for myself and my wife when we go away it is for an intimate getaway. It's not that we are antisocial but when we go out for a romantic dinner we don't ask another couple at the restaurant if we can join them. Our experience overall was a good one but unfortunately for us it was more comfortable to go out for breakfast instead of being put in this position. If this was my establishment i would make sure there are enough tables per rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We've driven past the Cabernet Inn many times and finally decided to stay there. It is just far enough from the town center to be out of the traffic so it is quiet. The building and rooms are very well done and clean. There are no TVs in the rooms but there is a TV room downstairs. There is a strong wi-fi signal so if you have a computer you can watch TV that way. The bed was fairly comfortable and there were two chairs and a table in the room so we were able to relax and catch up on our reading. Our room also had a gas fireplace which was cozy after a day outside. The breakfast was good but not exceptional. Overall we enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankee_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I make it a habit to travel to various inns several times a year. I am compelled to say that this is one of the better inns I have been to. Upon arrival, we were greeted promptly by innkeeper Bruce, who proceeded to give us a tour of the entire property and an opportunity to ask any questions. Both the common areas and our room were immaculate. Jessica, the other innkeeper, had just made some brownies--this afternoon snack went perfectly with the tea, coffee, and hot chocolate that was also on offer. Speaking of food, the following morning there was actually a pretty decent breakfast menu on the table. At many inns, you get a choice of a few run-of-the-mill offerings. But at the Cabernet, we had our choice of a custom-made omelet, breakfast sandwiches, French toast, pancakes, cereals, fruit, eggs, etc. Based on the other reviews, however, we decided to try Jessica's maple walnut stuffed French toast. We were not sorry! Jessica had also made the best blueberry muffins I've probably ever had.

As for the inn, yes--it is located on the White Mountain Highway (as our most inns in North Conway). The traffic noise did not bother us. We had the newer fireplace/jacuzzi suite located at the side of the inn. We could see the 1785 Inn and the highway from our room....the light noise did not bother us a bit. We were too busy enjoying our room!! The fireplace and sitting area were very cozy and the fireplace heated up the room quite a bit. The bathroom is large and has a jacuzzi that comfortably fits two people and a separate shower. The inn is conveniently located to downtown North Conway and Jackson. We ended up driving about a quarter mile down the road to the Moat Mountain Brewery for some microbrewed beer and BBQ...it was delicious.

All in all, this was a fantastic little getaway at a lovely country inn in a great location. The innkeepers were friendly, accessible and helpful. The rooms were cozy and well-appointed. Did I mention this inn was amazingly clean? :) We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: There are only 11 rooms at this inn so fellow traveler noise did not seem to be an issue. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRide32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and turn off you cell phones and surrender to the atmosphere of the white mountains. The inn is a great place to "tune out". Very clean! Rooms are an appropriate size. Fireplace in the room was a great touch. The inn keepers are always available to answer questions about places to go, resturants to eat at. The chef is a great cook! They were very accommodating to dietary restrictions. Varied menu everyday for those with and without restrictions. Loved snack time (even for
Those with diet restrictions) it was the perfect ending to a long cold day of skiing! Only 15 min from attitash, three min into North Conways main part of town. Visit bagels plus down the street for some lunch food to bring to the mountain. They have a nice wet bar downstairs, and a fridge to keep extra items in. Also visit he moat brewery down the street. Would recommend adding a "one cup" brewing system such as kurieg for the dining area, so guests can make tea/ hot chocolate/coffee during the day without bothering the inn keepers.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The innkeepers are very friendly and welcoming. The inn is one of the most immaculate we have ever stayed in. Rooms are nicely furnished with a gas fireplace in each. Loved the breakfasts. They were wonderful! Well situated near ski resorts and the town of North Conway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jary13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.6 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kearsarge Inn
Kearsarge Inn
#2 of 21 in North Conway
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
723 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabernet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabernet Inn

Address: 3552 White Mountain Hwy, PO Box 489, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5114
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: $118 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cabernet Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and elegance of this romantic New England Inn, located in North Conway, just a stroll away from one of the most breathtaking views of Mt. Washington in the valley. We cater to couples seeking romance, outdoor adventure, delicious cooked to order country breakfast, relaxation and privacy. Let us make your stay in New Hampshire truly memorable. "Unforgettably romantic. Exquisitely maintained. Simply…elegant." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Cabernet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabernet Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing