We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn but lacks some finer details”
Review of The Cabernet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cabernet Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Britain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn but lacks some finer details”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner and I were initially very excited to stay at this inn, having read previous reviews and the website literature.

When we arrived we were very impressed by the beauty of the inn and furnishings - it was also very clean, warm, and quiet (considering the proximity of the busy road outside). Bruce was very pleasant - he is perhaps a little reserved for an innkeeper but I think this was just his nature and not at all unwelcoming.

The room was very nice and comfortable, however our bed was very squeaky and probably needs replacing (or oiling at least!)

The reason we have only given the Inn an average rating is mainly due to the fact that it lacks some of the finer details that we have experienced whilst staying at similarly priced Inns and B&B's across Europe and America.

The breakfast is very nice - however I think guests should be aware that there are only four tables to the eleven rooms in the Inn. Guests are asked to either "join another couple on a table" (which I think is quite awkward for both parties) or wait in one of the reception rooms adjacent to the breakfast room. This means that some mornings you can be waiting a significant amount of time before being seated or served, which is something my partner and I found unacceptable for an Inn of this type and price. On the morning after we arrived there were three parties of people waiting for a table and therefore the reception room sofas become quite full - my partner and I, along with another guest, were therefore obliged to sit in the front foyer to wait for our breakfast. If you are an early riser who likes getting out the door this arrangement may become quite irritating - however if you don't mind hanging around or having a late breakfast this arrangement might not bother you. I believe one couple requested an early breakfast (which the Inn keepers gladly provided) but clearly if everyone made a similar request presumably the same predicament would arise. My partner and I decided to just relax and take the breakfast as it came - and therefore had two late breakfasts (one because there were two many guests and the other out of choice to avoid the "crowds") and one early breakfast as there seemed to be less guests in the Inn that day. As previously stated, if the waiting is not a concern to you the breakfasts are delicious - it's just something for those early risers to be aware of.

We also expected some afternoon refreshments to be provided - but found none. There were also signs in the room asking for a tip if we thought the room was clean (I thought this would be a given expectation of an Inn and not something to be grateful for ??) which were a little irksome.

Bruce and Jessica are clearly lovely people with a desire to provide a welcoming place to stay. It is just our opinion that if the above could be rectified this would be a top class establishment. However, as it is, is simply doesn't match the high calibre of other places we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatsCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    41
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
229
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice rooms. Fireplace and jacuzzi a nice touch. Breakfast is the best part. Jessica is a wonderful cook. Bruce is a great host. No Tv so brings book and be prepared to relax. Close to town but traffic is terrible in August. Try the 1$85 house for dinner. I is the adjacent property and is great without being pretentious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Inn is exceptional. Bruce and Jessica make a great team. They are very accomodating and serve terrific breakfasts. The location is great and they have tremendous knowledge of the area. There are some excellent restaurants in the area and they know them all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor ME
Level Contributor
497 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Cabernet Inn is an attractive inn on the north side of North Conway. Our room and bed were on the smallish side but certainly adequate.
It was a nice surprise to have considerable choice of breakfast options.
One drawback was that the hosts were surprisingly unhelpful in giving us options on what to do during our brief stay in North Conway.

Room Tip: Getting out of the lower parking lot when the inn is crowded is tricky. It is better to park in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Cabernet Inn for years and every stay has been excellent! Bruce and Jessica are amazing. They make it feel like our home away from home. The rooms are so comfortable and clean, breakfast is amazing, and it's in a great location. Just north of the downtown area and so close to amazing skiing, hiking, and shopping. We love our annual visits and will continue the tradition as long as possible!

Room Tip: We have stayed in many rooms, but if you splurge a little, the premium rooms are extra private and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This B&B was absolutely amazing. The room was a great size and clean as could be. We stayed for 3 nights to explore the White Mountains region and the town of North Conway. We couldn't have been more happy with the inn and the service. Bruce and Jessica were extremely helpful and gave us some helpful advice on where to go and what to do. Had a different breakfast every morning and each one was delicious. The location is perfect to get the all of the White Mountain locations and very close to North Conway shopping and food. We stayed in Room 2 which is near the road, so we heard the minor traffic during our time in the room, but not enough to bother us much. The shower was also a bit noisy, but nothing to serious. Those minor issues are the only things I could come up with as cons to this place. If we are ever in the area again, we'll definitely be staying here again because of the peacefulness, location, and service.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road will be a little quieter, since the inn is located close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woohoo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We unfortunately could only stay two nights. We found the Inn to be Very comfortable. Our room was very clean and nice. The breakfast was fabulous with several choices. The hosts were more than friendly. They had good knowledge of the area and had tons of information available on everything from menus of local eating places to where to go and what to see.
Thanks for a really nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.2 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
#6 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabernet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabernet Inn

Property: The Cabernet Inn
Address: 3552 White Mountain Hwy, PO Box 489, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5114
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and elegance of this romantic New England Inn, located in North Conway, just a stroll away from one of the most breathtaking views of Mt. Washington in the valley. We cater to couples seeking romance, outdoor adventure, delicious cooked to order country breakfast, relaxation and privacy. Let us make your stay in New Hampshire truly memorable. "Unforgettably romantic. Exquisitely maintained. Simply…elegant." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cabernet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabernet Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing