We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”

Conway Scenic Railroad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy an old-fashioned railroading experience with all trains departing from an 1874 station in North Conway Village. Whether you choose one of the Valley Trains to Conway or Bartlett, or take the Notch Train through spectacular Crawford Notch, this is a journey back in time the whole family will enjoy. Valley Train Season: mid-April through December. Notch Train Season: late June through mid-October. Coach, First Class, and Dining Car options are available on all routes. Chilren under 4 ride free in Coach on the Valley Trains. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

It's always cool to be able to ride a train. I liked the bit where you get to go over the bridge, but other than that, I feel like I'd seen most of the views just driving into North Conway. If I remember correctly there was some sort of narration, which I did like. I went in 2009.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Better late than never? Not sure why this reviewer waited five years to post this mediocre review, but he is correct: lots of the views that are seen from our train can be seen while driving around the North Conway area. If it's only scenery that you want to see, then please save your money and explore our back roads and drive our scenic byways and notches. We have an abundance of beauty in Mt. Washington Valley!

If, however, you're interested in experiencing an old-fashioned train ride, with conductors who punch your ticket, on Coach cars that date back to the 1920s, while also seeing some nice scenery, then please do ride with us. Our First Class car on the Valley Train, the Gertrude Emma, is a Pullman Parlor Observation car that dates back to 1898. She was built by the Pullman Company in Chicago when Robert Todd Lincoln was its President.

So much history here! Our 1874 station and small museum are open to the public, freely. And the North Conway Model Railway exhibit, also onsite and free, is one of the best in the country.

We're about preserving history, and we love the appreciation that we hear every day from the hundreds of people who visit us.

Susan Logan
Marketing Manager
CSRR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    309
    193
    93
    56
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too short for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Not a lot of scenery on the North Conway to Conway run and at 5.5 miles each way it was too short a ride for the money in my opinion.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What A Ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Conway Scenic Railroad has been a must visit for my family for forty years! The trips are wonderfully relaxing for adults and stimulating for children. Sit back and enjoy the ride!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Risa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not what you think”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Having grown up always "vacationing" in NoCo, I have been on this train many times. It is a major rip off and you mostly see the backs of stores. Kids think it's neat to ride the train but don't expect more than that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gets_around_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConwayScenicRR, Manager at Conway Scenic Railroad, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
As I've written before, all of our train rides depart from our station in the center of North Conway Village, and the Conway route does parallel Route 16/302 for the first mile or so, travelling behind shops and restaurants. The North Conway area has seen lots of development in the 40 years since Conway Scenic opened for business. However, that same route also travels through fields and farmlands and crosses the Saco and Swift Rivers on the way to Conway, offering some beautiful, distant mountain views along the way.

We appreciate this reviewer's business, but it's curious that someone who thinks so poorly of our railroad would ride with us "many time" over the years.

Susan Logan
Marketing Manager
CSRR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Relaxing, scenic, not too exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed the scenery during the train ride as we were in New England for the leaf peeping season and we were not disappointed! The train ride was too long for us as we felt a little bored after an hour. The lunch was nice but not wonderful. We did share our space with a lovely couple from Boston and ate lunch together which was very pleasant. Now that we've done this trip, I don't think I would do it again but it was a nice one time entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mah813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conway Scenic Railroad also viewed

North Conway, Conway
 

Been to Conway Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing