We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful fall colors”

Conway Scenic Railroad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy an old-fashioned railroading experience with all trains departing from an 1874 station in North Conway Village. Whether you choose one of the Valley Trains to Conway or Bartlett, or take the Notch Train through spectacular Crawford Notch, this is a journey back in time the whole family will enjoy. Valley Train Season: mid-April through December. Notch Train Season: late June through mid-October. Coach, First Class, and Dining Car options are available on all routes. Chilren under 4 ride free in Coach on the Valley Trains. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome.
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful fall colors”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

All in all a good experience..didnt care for the apple cider mill stop...too commercial. the narrator on the train was good. we went first class and road in the dome section and had lunch in the diner car...no complaints. great way to see the area and enjoy NH scenery.

Helpful?
1 Thank rhondatxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    310
    198
    95
    56
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing foliage tour”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I took the 1-hour, 45-minute Valley Train to Bartlett to enjoy a train ride while seeing some fall foliage. This is a neat experience if you like riding trains! My wife and I enjoyed being able to sit back and relax while taking pictures on the train.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A 55 minute train ride”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We decided to take a 55 minute train ride through the beautiful woods in October. Although the foilage was stunning, the ride was just OK. They also have a 1 1/2 hour ride and a eating car for lunch and breakfast.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LydNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
600 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Priced a bit high”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

An enjoyable trip, but the train stays so close to the highway you might ask, didn't we just drive all this? Fun to ride a train, met nice people, but it gets a bit wearing with a total trip of 5 hours. I would not buy the pre-purchase lunch through railroad, while it was good for a turkey sandwich, chip, macaroni salad, small choc chip cookie and drink to be $12 is high, go by Subway and take yours. You can buy some food on the train. Nice day, but I do wish I would have spent closer to $60 for the two of us for the entire day than the $126 we did spend. I'd say 90% of the trip is very close to the road. It is also hard to take photos since when you're in your car you can always pull over for a good shot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting trip.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good value round trip of 5 hours through beautiful scenery. Seasonal only.Seats reverse for maximum visibility. Interesting commentary, well spoken and informative.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oaptraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conway Scenic Railroad also viewed

 

Been to Conway Scenic Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing