We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Stay at this Inn”
Review of Eastern Slope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eastern Slope Inn
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
US of A
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Definitely Stay at this Inn”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I went camping and mountain climbing in New Hampshire for three days then decided to stay at The eastern Slope Inn for the night it rained and we were so glad we did.
This inn is the perfect place to stay, wished we had a couple more days to unwind indoors from having camped for a few days.
Room was fabulous. comfortable and exactly what we were looking for.
Flatbread pizza and bar downstairs was very good and even better was the cappucino we got in the morning also located on the property.
The perfect rest and relaxation after a few days outside.
I would definitely recommend this place to any and all and will stay here again when we are up this way.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USofAGenuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    183
    75
    31
    19
See reviews for
220
225
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I tried to voice my complaints patiently, and the folks in the trenches understood - but when they asked the management what to do about it they were told not to budge. We were told stories by the group that was taking the reservations - by the way, there's a non-refundable deposit(!) - but those stories did not turn out to be true. The local discounts were not honored, we waited and waited and waited, and when I asked why they wouldn't honor what they promised for our business, TWICE they said "Oh, that's a new thing and we're just getting used to it." They are affiliated with Attitash Resort and Oxen Yoke, and I would never give my money (or my company's money) to any of them until they own up. The sales manager promised a free stay in the future and it still hasn't arrived. Their vacation ownership is a shark frenzy with no courtesy towards families' time together, and many of them should be fired and replaced with people who will listen to their customers. There aren't words to explain how furious I was, and still am, with what they did to us. Go stay at a chain hotel where there's some integrity.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedbosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
As the Front Desk Manager here at the resort, I have always considered both myself as well as our Assistant Front Desk Manager to be very sympathetic to our guests and their needs, and have always empowered the members of our front desk team to make on the spot decisions they feel necessary when dealing with a guest who may have some concerns. If tedbosley did not find this to be the case, I sincerely hope he will contact me so we can discuss his experiences during his stay in more detail.

As with all hotels and resorts, we do have a cancellation policy, which includes a non-refundable deposit if sufficient notice of cancellation is not given. We allow our guests to receive a full refund minus a minimal cancellation fee of any deposit given as long as notification of cancellation is provided at least 7 days prior to arrival. We also allow a guest to reschedule if there are last minute changes and apply their original deposit toward a future stay rather then forfeiting the deposit. It has been my experience that policies of this nature are a standard practice in the hotel industry.

We do offer coupons from areas businesses to our guests. These coupons are presented to us from local business and may have conditions associated with them, however these are at the discretion of the business and not controlled by the resort. We also offer a VIP card to our vacation owners, RCI guests, and guests here to tour our resort (I believe tedbosley may fall into the later category). These discounts are arranged with the area businesses through our vacation ownership office. I have had many guests use these VIP cards successfully at the establishments listed without a problem as long as the VIP card and accompanying list of applicable discounts is presented to the business prior to making a purchase. Again, if this guest did not find this to be the case, I would hope he would contact me directly so I can follow up with both our vacation ownership office and the business in question.

We are affiliated with Attitash Mountain Village (not Attitash Ski Resort) as well as the Oxen Yoke and Market Place Motels. Although affiliated, they are all independently managed by different aspects of our resort management teams. Although I understand how important a first impression can be, I think it is unfortunate that this guest would judge all off of our resorts based on this one experience, which seemed to have more to do with problems experienced when dealing with our vacation ownership office rather then with any experience they had with our front line resort staff or with the quality of the resort itself.

I have followed up with our sales manager, however, not knowing exactly who this guest is, it is very difficult to find out if a future stay may have been in order and any offer of such either inadvertently not sent, or sent and returned to the resort. I sincerely hope that this guest will contact me so we can make arrangements for a future visit to one of our 4 properties if warranted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster on tour
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

What a great stay! Great rooms, lots of space, great service, great place to relax and unwide. great for family with kids. Great pool area

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pubwithnophone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

A mere shadow of her former self, the Easter Slope Inn used to be the pinnacle of class in the North Conway area. Years of profit taking will leave you very underwhelmed and out of pocket for a hotel room that is perhaps equivalent to a Motel 6. I grew up in the mountains and have summited about 80% of her peaks; the Eastern Slope was the place to recover, reminisce and enjoy the best of New England. Now, you may be placed in the building across the street which is terrible for access to the pool and spa or you may “get lucky” and score a room in the main building. I recently had a room with an old style fold-up bed (hide-a-bed) and a rolling floor with a bathroom that you literally could not turn around in. If you want quality for your hard earned dollars then this is definitely not the place for you. This is the worst that I have seen the Inn in 25 years. Do yourself a favor, keep nostalgia confined to your memories and keep your money in your pocket ~ stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBrass111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
I wish Bigbrass111 had come to the desk to speak with me during their stay, as I would love to have spoken more with this guest regarding their memories of North Conway and the Inn, from years gone by. Having had the opportunity to speak with many other guests who visited the area years ago, I do believe the Eastern Slope Inn still offers the same New England character and charm offered by Harry Randall and Harvey Gibson along with the modern amenities expected from today’s 5 star resorts.

The Inn has grown over the past 25 years with the development of 8 other buildings in addition to the Historic Inn itself. Which include the Gold Crown Suites behind the Main Inn as well as the Roberts Building across the street, mentioned by Bigbrass111. The Resort is now part of the 2nd largest lodging and conference facility in NH offering a wide range of accommodation options from more modern Suites with king beds, spa tubs and gas fireplaces to our traditional signature rooms of the Inn. All of which offer the quality and comfort expected of a quaint New England Inn, while adding in the more modern day amenities expected by today’s travelers such as pillow top mattresses, wifi, and flat screen TV’s.

Eastern Slope Inn is still very much considered a place to recover and enjoy the Mount Washington Valley and all it has to offer by many. Being centrally located to all the area amenities. We are the only hotel right on Route 16 and 302 in the village, which allows our guests easy access to all of the quaint shops and fabulous restaurants the village has to offer. The resort still has the clay tennis courts used to practice on by many a professional tennis player while here to play in Cranmore’s Volvo Tennis Tournament from 1975-1984. The outdoor pool from the past has been enclosed with a retractable glass roof, and indoor and outdoor spa tubs added to enhance our guest’s vacation experience. All of the changes we have made have been intended to upgrade our property to meet the expectations of today’s vacationing individuals, couples and families.

Our front desk staff has been consistently recognized on trip advisor as well as other sites for our friendly personalities, knowledge of the area and willingness to help our guests make the most of their vacation experience. Had Bigbrass111 come to discuss their dissatisfaction regarding their unit, with our team, we would have made every effort to try and accommodate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Friendly staff, great pools and hot tubs. Perfect location in North Conway- right in center of town and short drive to shopping. Big clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeeterplustbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Thought it looked nice from first impression. Until they told us we would be staying about a mile away--we would have to drive to the pool and fitness room (fitness room which is no more than about 2 treadmills). We got to our cottage where spiders were lingering in the corners, paint and windows were old and chipped, bathroom was very small and dirty and we were so disappointed. We checked out before even spending one night-ick! We went to the Comfort Inn down the road--it was cheaper, had better amenities and was so much cleaner and more comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
We are sorry if the room was not what hollett1 expected. This room was booked through a private marketing company who has always been very good about explaining that the location they are booking for is our ‘off property motel’, the Oxen Yoke, but that the amenities are located at the Main Resort approximately 1 mile from the unit. We would not want any guest to ever stay in a room that they did not feel was clean, or did not meet their expectations. Had we been given the opportunity while they were here, we are sure we could have addressed their concerns or offered another room that they would have enjoyed. We have 9 different buildings and a wide variety of accommodations. Though the rooms at Oxen Yoke may not be as deluxe as some of the other options we have, they do meet the needs of many of our resort guests who are looking for comfortable accommodations at an affordable rate. We do regular inspections of all our properties and update units as needed. The rooms at the Oxen Yoke have within the last few weeks undergone extensive updates to carpets, wallpaper, furniture and bathrooms. We hope that this guest will give us the opportunity to show them that their experience is not typical, and that we are happy to go our of our way to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

WE had the 3 bedroom Gibson unit for the 3 couples. We had lots of room and the kitchen was well equipped with everything great cooks need. We did not lack a thing for our gourmet breakfast and the few meals we made.
The unit was on the main street above a number of stores . One would think it as noisy but that was not the case.

The staff of" Eastern Slope" made us feel right at home and were most accommodating in suggesting things to see and where it eat.
The unit we stayede at is a 1 minute walk from the main building but on the main street. . We really enjoyed the heated pool,heated indoor and outdoor hot tub after our busy day on the slopes of the nearby ski resorts .

If you go be sure to check out the two for one meal deals at the great restaurants. Two that we really enjoyed are " Wild Cat Inn and Tavern" located in Jackson a few minutes drive from North Conway and "Stonehurst Manor" located 2 minutes from the Resort.
These great eating and accommodation establishments are a must do if you visit this beautiful area .

A word of warning is to be sure to make reservations especially on the "two for one night". special meals deals . Stewart Dunlop, the owner of Wildcat , gave us a very interesting summary of the history of the area. as we were waiting for our meal.
The ambiance and and his enthusiasm for the area made his place a must visit next year.

Even if you do not ski the shopping deals at the outlet stores and the unique stores on main street have something to offer even the "guys" who do not like to shop. I think the guys bought more than the girls on this trip.

WE are planning to return next year for our annual ski and shop week making it our 3rd year to visit here in a row.
I recommend this area as having something for everyone anytime of the year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,386 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Inn

Property: Eastern Slope Inn
Address: 2760 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#9 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#10 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastern Slope Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN HOME WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Eastern Slope Inn Resort - an elegant, four-season resort located on the National Register of Historic Places in the center of New Hampshire's North Conway Village. Situated on 40 acres, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, cafes, and popular attractions, the Resort features 250 rooms bridging the charm of yesteryear with modern day comforts and conveniences. The main inn offers a variety of elegantly furnished guest rooms with many units featuring kitchenettes. Guests can choose from a diverse array of accommodations to include studios, townhouses and deluxe suites with gas fireplaces, spa tubs, full kitchens and living rooms. Resort amenities include the Eastern Slope Playhouse, indoor heated pool, indoor and outdoor hot-tubs, clay tennis courts, fitness facility, meeting room and business center, playground, retail shops, walking trails to the Saco River, stocked fishing and ice skating pond, and Flatbread Company restaurant with pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Eastern Slope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing