We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Eastern Slope Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastern Slope Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Four women arrived for a 3-day tennis camp on a Thursday evening. Our connecting rooms were ready; however, one of the ladies smelled an odor in one of the rooms and thought she might have an allergic reaction. The hotel showed us another two connecting rooms, which another woman didn't like because of the stairs she would have to climb. The third room they showed us was in a good location, but the room was too small for the four of us. The manager on duty worked with us for over an hour, shifting other people's rooms around (the people hadn't checked in yet) and came up with a fourth room to show us -- and finally we were all happy. I feel that the Inn went above and beyond the call of duty to make us happy. Then the women had to have the right amount of pillows, and housekeeping responded immediately with five extra pillows.

Room Tip: Hotel is spread out. Check location of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
We regret that the room you originally reserved was not what you had expected, and are glad that our management team was able to find accommodations that met everyone in your parties needs. Our housekeeping team is very helpful, and happy to assist with getting you the extra items you wanted. It has been wonderful seeing our clay courts host the tennis camp you attended. I hope you were fortunate enough to have been here on a beautiful, sunny, summer weekend to take full advantage of the resort, the tennis camp, and the courts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    183
    74
    31
    19
See reviews for
219
224
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We loved this hotel. They were so friendly and helpful. If you had a problem you just needed to ask and they would fix the issue. We stayed in the one bedroom unit. They were three of us. The One bedroom is actually upstairs so you have the downstairs as a living room, tiny kitchen/dining area and a full bath. There is also a bed that folds into the wall. upstairs there were two queen beds and a full bath. We had plenty of space. The place is a little dated but I would say late 80's and honestly we didn't really notice it. They are in the process it looks like of renovating the older rooms. As my daughter is two we choose this place as it is ten minutes from storeyland. in addition it is right in north conway cute shops and restaurant area so we could go for a walk and do some shopping. they have a playground and indoor pool on the property which was excellent. However we did walk down the street to the bigger playground. Also the north conway railroad is two blocks down and we did that one day. they also have a really nice pond that you can fish and then a path through the woods that leads to the saco river. It was a very nice relaxing vacation. It made it great that they had a flatbread pizza which has gluten free pizza and the frontside grind which has some gluten free items in a pinch. They are also very close to hannafords and other groceries stores. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maineinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your positive review. We're glad our Front Desk Team was able to assist you during your stay. Being the only hotel on the Main Street in North Conway Village, we are perfectly situated for enjoying all the village has to offer. It sounds like you and your family took full advantage of the area while staying with us. Hopefully you also took advantage of our Storyland Package, which includes a discount on your room, and the convenience of having your Storyland tickets waiting for you upon your arrival. Flatbread and Frontside do provide some nice Gluten Free options, which has been a more common request from our guests lately. Rafferty's on Kearsarge Street is another restaurant in the village that offers a nice selection of Gluten Free items, which you may want to try next time you are here. Again - thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to the Mount Washington Valley area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We enjoyed our week stay here in the main building of the Inn. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The hotel had a nice 'feel' to it. It is an older building but is beautifully maintained.
The only thing that was a bit bothersome was the squeaky floors but other than that, everything was perfect for us.
While staying there we ate pizza twice at the Flatbread Company restaurant which is on the main floor. The Conway Scenic Railroad is a short walk down the street and there are some interesting shops nearby. I particularly liked Zeb's General Store.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you found our Front Desk Team to be friendly and courteous. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Eastern Slope Inn Resort is one of the most recognizable landmarks in the Mount Washington Valley. Being that you were here in May, you saw the start of our Lobby renovations, we hope you have the opportunity to come back and see the finished project. I think you will find they are doing a fantastic job, upgrading this area to increase the look and feel of Grand Hotel Lobby.

Flatbread does have the best Pizza around and Zeb’s General store is a must see when in visiting the area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We spent two weeks in North Conway, NH from April 17 - May 1, 2011.

Our accommodations were a one-bedroom timeshare unit at The Suites at Eastern Slope Inn -- not to be confused with the separate Eastern Slope Inn Resort. They share real estate, amenities like the swimming pool, tennis courts, playground and exercise room, but offer different accommodations and packages.

Our up-and-down, town-house style unit was in the Carriage House Suites, located in their own building just behind the historic main Inn. The unit itself was among the largest we've stayed in during our timeshare travels to numerous destinations -- a total of about 1,200 square feet (we asked).

The first-floor main living area (which can be used by itself as a "studio unit",) included a kitchen with a two-burner hotplate, a microwave/convection oven, apartment-sized refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker and dishes, glassware and cooking utensils for six people. A large dining table provided ample seating for six. Amenities in the living area included a sleep sofa, two upholstered chairs, a gas-fired fireplace, a good sized television with DVD, a pull-down Murphy bed that sleeps two, and a double-vanity bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub. An over-and-under washer-dryer was housed in its own closet. Clothes storage included a four-drawer dresser and large under-the-stairs closet.

The bedroom space upstairs (which can be locked-off to create a separate "hotel" unit) included its own microwave, a mini-fridge, a king-sized bed, a sleep sofa, two upholstered chairs, a gas-fired fireplace, a large television with DVD, an in-room Jacuzzi tub, and a good-sized bathroom with step-in shower.

Both units had separate exterior entrances and their own balconies complete with outdoor seating, offering a view of the Moat Mountains a short way across the valley. The tracks of the Conway Scenic Railroad run immediately behind the Carriage House units, but this time of year they operate an extremely limited schedule and we actually saw or heard only one train pass by while we were there. Even in the busy season, you'll actually see only two or three per day, and since it's an excursion train, they only operate during the day -- no interruptions at night. We sometimes find it amusing to sit on the balcony and wave at the folks on board as they pass by.

WiFi internet service is available in all rooms, although we found the speed and bandwidth a bit discouraging at times. A desktop computer station is also available for guest use in the main lobby.

The design of the building and access driveway allow at-your-door unloading/loading of your car, with more permanent parking just a few steps away.

A very short walk across the driveway and up the walkway takes you to one of three entrances to the main Inn, which also houses the swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, game room, Frontside Grind coffee house (great for grabbing a take-back-to-your-unit coffee and bagel) and The Flatbread Company, offering salads and flatbreads featuring natural and organic ingredients, plus a good selection of local and area beers. The wood-fired oven used to cook the flatbreads is also used to heat the brownies and gingerbread used in their desserts.

An only slightly longer walk puts you on Main Street, also known as The White Mountain Highway, in downtown North Conway. It's an easy stroll to places like the historic railway station that's home to the Conway Scenic Railroad, several locally-owned and operated restaurants, Zeb's General Store, and the North Conway Five-and-Ten-Cent Store, a genuine throwback to the Newberry's and F.W. Woolworth's of our youth.

Check-in was extremely efficient and friendly, including a heart-felt phone call from the Front Desk about an hour after check-in asking if everything was to our liking. Throughout our two-week stay, which included a "stay-over" cleaning on the middle weekend, the staff was always friendly and anxious to make our stay a good one. A Monday-morning "welcome" session with complimentary coffee provided a laid-back, relaxed opportunity to get information about resort activities and things going on in town during the upcoming week, including an opportunity for one-on-one touring and restaurant advice. Even the customary "update" visit with the resort's sales staff was easy-going, pleasant and informative, without every coming close to being a high-pressure affair.

We've visited this resort often in the past and undoubtedly will return again before very long.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MainerOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for you detailed review of our property. We are very pleased you chose to come back and visit our resorts again, and to spend 2 weeks with us. We love to read descriptions like yours which give a great view into our property, our services and our area from the eyes of our repeat guests.

Our Front Desk Team really does want to make all of our guests stays as enjoyable as possible and that is why we like to follow up with you shortly after your arrival. If a guest staying with us does have any questions or concerns, we want to make ourselves available as soon as possible to address them.

The resort is the only Hotel on Main Street in North Conway Village and as you mentioned provides a great location for strolling through the village, checking out the shops, the restaurants and the attractions.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Eastern Slope Inn for a week. Our son's family visited part of the time. They have young children. We stayed in Moat Cottage. It has a lockout efficiency apartment on the first floor, a full kitchen and living room, and a second large bedroom suite on the second floor. There was a jacuzzi in each of the two full bathrooms. We woke up to beautiful views of the mountains behind the cottage. Everyone enjoyed the stay. On one snowy day everyone enjoyed the large indoor heated pool and indoor and outdoor hot tubs. We also loved the on site restaurant Flatbread. We ate there several times.

All the staff was very helpful and friendly. This is our third say and we are planning another stay next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinForFun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Moat Cottage is one of my favorite units. It is especially good for families with young children. Being that it is it’s own building, there is no need to worry about the kids making too much noise. It’s wonderful in the summer with it’s own yard, gas grill, and close proximity to the children’s playground.

In addition to our historic Main Inn units and Gold Crown Suites, we have a total of 4 free standing cottages, two 2 bedrooms and 2 that are lock off such as the one you stayed in, which are comprised of 2 smaller units in each cottage.

The heated pool, indoor and out door spa tubs are a great way to relax after a cool day on the slopes or outside enjoying some of the many other winter activities that surround us here.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendenhall, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is the third year in a row that we have spent a winter vacation in New Hampshire at this great location in North Conway. It is close to quaint shops and restaurants, and many ski resorts. The folks, particularly Megan, the front desk manager, have been absolutely great to work with us. They work with us to put our extended family in adjacent rooms, and are just very "accomodating" in every way. Our family really looks forward to this time together, and the Eastern Slope Inn is a big part of that.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you for continuing to choose Eastern Slope Inn for your families winter vacation to New Hampshire. North Conway is truly a perfect location for a family get together. As you mentioned, the great in town location and close proximity to so many of the White Mountain’s Winter Recreational facilities make is easy for families to stay together at the resort, and then branch out in smaller groups to go off and enjoy your favorite winter activity whether that is skiing, snowshoeing, tubing, snowmobile or shopping.

Being such a large resort with several different buildings, it does happen that parties traveling together end up in completely different locations throughout the resort. We are happy to make arrangements when ever possible to keep all parties staying together in the same area, and I am glad we have been able to make these arrangements for you and your family.

I am pleased to read that you and your family had a great time and can’t wait to see you back in New Hampshire again next winter if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Just returned from North Conway yesterday and stayed at the Eastern Slope Inn. I've stayed at many places there over the years, but for the price this hotel topped them all.

First off, regarding the negative reviews I read before we went...we stayed in the main building, but the staff was VERY friendly and accomodating. I have no doubt that if asked, they would have went out of thier way to take care of any issues we might have had. Some of these reviews obviously come from people who don't understand how to approach problems in a constructive manner.

So, all in all our stay was wonderful. The room was a size you would expect and was very clean and comfortable. I have back problems and usually have issues with beds in hotels, but this bed was COMFY. Two types of pillows depending on what your preference is and very cozy. Everything was in serviceable condition. Bathroom was a bit small, but definitely functionable. Had a nice heat lamp too for when you come in from the cold or back from the pool. Nice touch. They do use green products here (referring to the review regarding the toilet paper), but if you care about the environment half as much as you care about yourself this shouldn't bother you. I applaud it, and it's definitely NOT as bad as he made it out to be. The hotel also had some great amenities, such as a nice gameroom for the kids, an indoor pool/hot tub and outdoor hot tub (that was open and worked), as well as a great coffee shop, bar, and restaurant (Flat Bread is a must try for pizza lovers). Lastly, this hotel could not be in a better location. You are right in the middle of everything.

All in all I was very impressed. The one gripe I had was that midway through our stay two couples checked into the room next to us and we shared one of those adjoining doors between the two. They smoked constantly and I'm not sure they ever left the room, so we had smoke billowing in our room all weekend. It's strange to me that they would put non-smoking rooms next to smoking rooms, but we were out most of the time doing things anyway. I would not let that deter me from returning.

Thank you for a wonderful weekend, and we'll be sure to return. Oh, and make sure you check out Peaches for breakfast/lunch. I LOVE breakfast, and tend to be a little too critical at like restaurants. I could not find one negative thing to say about that place. I have no idea how I haven't heard about it sooner. It was freakin delicious. Go.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomberShogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHAMSCO, Front Office Manager at Eastern Slope Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you so much for the incredibly nice review of our resort. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon!
I apologize about the guest smoking in the unit next to you. All of our accommodations are non-smoking, and smoking rooms are not available. When we have a report from guests or other resort staff of a room that seems to have guests smoking in it, we try to contact that guest and remind them of our no smoking policy. I am sorry we did not catch this during your stay, but assure you we will continue to be diligent in enforcing this policy.

Peaches is a fantastic breakfast restaurant and we often refer our guests there. If you are back in the area and would like to try another really good breakfast place, you should check out the Stairway Café. It’s about 2 blocks away from the Main Inn, across from the Conway Scenic Railroad and is also fantastic.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#4 of 25 in North Conway
631 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Inn

Property: Eastern Slope Inn
Address: 2760 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#9 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#10 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastern Slope Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE GUESTS ARRIVE WITH ENTHUSIASM & RETURN HOME WITH FOND MEMORIES Welcome to the Eastern Slope Inn Resort - an elegant, four-season resort located on the National Register of Historic Places in the center of New Hampshire's North Conway Village. Situated on 40 acres, within walking distance of quaint shops, restaurants, cafes, and popular attractions, the Resort features 250 rooms bridging the charm of yesteryear with modern day comforts and conveniences. The main inn offers a variety of elegantly furnished guest rooms with many units featuring kitchenettes. Guests can choose from a diverse array of accommodations to include studios, townhouses and deluxe suites with gas fireplaces, spa tubs, full kitchens and living rooms. Resort amenities include the Eastern Slope Playhouse, indoor heated pool, indoor and outdoor hot-tubs, clay tennis courts, fitness facility, meeting room and business center, playground, retail shops, walking trails to the Saco River, stocked fishing and ice skating pond, and Flatbread Company restaurant with pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Eastern Slope Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing