We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I think Rachel L has reviewed the wrong hotel, as the host's name is Thierry and it was not named as the Cranmore Lodge.
We stayed at the Lodge for 2 nights last week, in a very small room decorated in the French style (floral and twee). The bed was typically very large (too large for the room) and had a good, firm mattress. Everything was clean and the breakfast was good, despite a complicated system of choosing the complimentary elements from the menu!
The building had a musty smell and cooking smells from the kitchen below, rose into our room as soon as breakfast started in the morning. Windows were very draughty. This was the most expensive hotel (out of 7) on our 3 week holiday and so far, all the others have been far better. I really don't know how the price is justified.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiquep, Owner at Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are sorry this guest was disappointed with her stay in our home.

Room size: Via booking.com where this guest booked this room, the square footage is clearly mentioned (135 sqf), so there shouldn’t be any surprise on the overall size of the room. We offer large common rooms for everybody’s enjoyment, including a game room and a quiet living room with piano, guitars and fireplace, so our guests can spend their evening comfortably socializing with other guests and us.

Breakfast menu: We offer a pretty large choice of dishes on our menu (breakfast is included in the room rate) for the big and the small appetite, with the option of bigger portions for an extra small fee if guests have a huge appetite. Our breakfast menu is clearly posted on our website, and if there is any confusion, Gui, our son and waiter, always gladly answers any questions.

Cooking smells: We usually have compliment about the smell of our pancakes, French toasts, French roast coffee coming from our kitchen and we are sorry these yummy smells were unpleasant to this guest.

Room rate: This is the beginning of fall foliage in the White Mountains and rates of all hotels are definitely going up. Our rates are average low in the area, even some motels are more expensive than us, and big chain hotels are way more expensive! We offer a quiet environment in our own home, away from the main road, with year round outdoor hot tub, plenty of convivial space, a pond stocked with trout, a tennis court, among other things.

Draughty windows: We thank this guest for drawing our attention to this problem. We discovered after inspection of the windows that one of the sliding one had been forced open and the insulation was ripped. Should the problem been reported during the stay of this guest, we would have been able to fix it sooner and make her stay more agreeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    72
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
139
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very small, sink clogged, noisy mattress. Air conditioner is very loud. Terrible smell, outdated! Worst place I've stayed yet. I would not recommend this to anyone. I was very unsatisfied. Needs updating desperately. Light coming in from windows unable to block out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagobread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiquep, Manager at Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We think this guest stayed in Room 20 with 2 double beds for 1 night, declaring 2 people and staying in fact 4 adults who didn’t want to pay additional fee and fled our Bed & Breakfast while we were cooking breakfast, without taking a chance to be discovered! What is so “outdated” is our vintage décor that apparently wasn't his/her taste, while most of our guests are very pleased by it. The “noisy” mattresses are brand new as well as the A/C unit. The sink isn’t clogged and the window treatment (energy efficient providing complete darkness) is very well blocking the outside light. As for the smell, the carpets of all the rooms in the loft building were completely shampooed about 2 days before, and we are sorry this guest didn’t appreciate the smell of cleanliness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I recently stayed at Cranmore Inn. I was lucky enough to stay in a newly remodeled suite; a bedroom with a hot tub and a living room area. It was very luxurious and elegant; I felt very pampered. Bob is a very gracious host; very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and on the table quickly. The shops are within walking distance, which was wonderful! Thank you for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Love New England travel. The Cranmore is a very quaint, relaxing get away. Although our room was very small, it was comfortable and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing! What a nice treat...home cooked breakfast very morning. So close to so many of the attractions in the North Conway area. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very warm and excellent service at this B & B. Breakfasts were amazing and absolutely delicious. Kid-friendly environment with good-quality toys available in the common area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111josephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was our first B and B and we were extremely satisfied. The wait staff is friendly and professional, the owners are great, the accomodations very satisfactory, and the morning breakfasts included with the room were nothing less than phenomenal. We have found a new place to stay in North Conway!

Room Tip: Look at the online videos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place was great...the staff was welcoming and on hand whenever needed.
Breakfast was awesome and "really" home cooked.
No jar foods or frozen waffels.

Rooms and common areas all well kept - can't say enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.1 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
544 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages
#10 of 21 in North Conway
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 859 Kearsarge Rd, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5344
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Wonderful Ambience, Beautiful Surroundings, Awesome Breakfast, Top-Notch Service". A family friendly Bed&Breakfast on 8 acres of quiet land, located in a residential area, in the heart of the White Mountains and close to many attractions and activities in the Mt Washington Valley. Our complimentary full country breakfast cooked-to-order features French toasts, croissants and many more... Some rooms are dog friendly (limited to 4 rooms). Some suites with kitchenette. Private bath, Free wifi, seasonal pool, hot tub, pond stocked with trout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranmore Mountain Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing