We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REally Disappointing”
Review of 1785 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1785 Inn
Ranked #15 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2008

A really disappointing experience which certainly did not live up to the good reviews we read about the INN before we stayed there for two nights. We had pre-booked an ensuite room. The inn was shabby, the rooms were dirty, the bathroom was old fashioned and not functioning well. The radiators had paint peeling off them. The whole place felt like it had been neglected from a maintenance perspective. The room was cold (and that comes from someone who generally likes sleeping in a cold room!). The guests lviing room was furnished in very old fashioned way and the TV looked like it was one of the first models of colour TVs ever made!
The restaurant was crowded with coach parties in the evening which meant our table booking slipped by half an hour each night. The food was OK, but nothing fantastic. We found the company of the bar man was one of the few redeeming features - in the odd moment he could spare for converstaion. We certainly would not go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2008

Big Dollars for a small room with en-suite. Tired and could have been cleaner. Poorest value from a three week tour. Long wait for breakfast - only one waitress for a full Inn. Food quite good. Dinner OK but not up to the standard expected based on guide book reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

This inn is actually in Intervale, a couple of miles north of North Conway. Although not the cheapest accommodation in the North Conway area, this inn offers a hospitable welcome, and beer aficionados will appreciate the range of Smuttinose beers (from Portsmouth, NH) available in the bar. There is also a comfortable lounge.

Our room was one of the cheapest, but we were quite satisfied with it. (The cheapest ones share a bathroom.)

The views towards Mount Washington are fabulous. Unfortunately the nearby viewing facility doesn't provide any orientation information.

They do a decent - but not in our view exceptional - breakfast - and we found the waitress to be rather affected. They also offer what they claim to be "award winning" food. Certainly it's above average - especially the price - but you can get decent food at a much more competitive price in North Conway itself.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Dinner at the inn is worth making reservations to ensure you are seated near the fireplace. Ask for Alan as your waiter. The food is fabulous and the service is even better. Share a bottle of wine with dinner and finish the night off with a flaming drink such as the "French Connection..." We will be back for dinner.

The inn itself is pretty nice but remember the house is over 200 years old. We stayed so we did not have to rush out to have breakfast and could just walk upstairs after enjoying an incredible romantic dinner. There is also a lounge that seems to do pretty well on Saturday nights...

Enjoy!!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Lifesgood007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We were a party of two couples and booked large corner rooms with queen beds and private baths. The rooms were very clean and quiet. Since we were on the go, the absence of televisions suited us fine. The Inn has an outdoor pool but no jacuzzi's. Not a big deal to us. The 200 years+ old Inn is absolutely charming as is the staff. Everyone was very friendly and attentive. They were flexible about checkin and checkout times. The room rate included ski tickets and a full breakfast, which we considered a great deal as other area inns charge more for rooms without the ski tickets and may provide only a continental or buffet breakfast. The Inn borders endless miles of trails for cross-country skiing or snowshoeing that weave along rivers, through fields, and around the town. No need to get in your car and drive somewhere. The town center is minutes away for some fun shopping too. The best part was dinner in the Inn's renowned restaurant. It lived up to all the great reviews we'd read about it. The decor of exposed beams, separate small dining areas, holiday decorations, dimmed lighting and fireplaces was so romantic. The service was outstanding. Our server brought 14 years of experience to our table. He was helpful, funny and had good timing - not intrusive but there when needed. The food was superb. Our party ordered beef and lamb dishes which were all tender and flavorful, with fresh vegetables and freshly made starches on the side. Dessert was to-die-for. We shared the frozen chocolate mouse velvet cake and coffee buttercrunch pie - both delicious. We will definitely return to the 1785 Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bedford_NHElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We ate here one night and found it to be overpriced and mediocre. The service was sort of clownish and was slow and out of sync. We got a bread basket of dry rolls after our salad course. Coffee arrived once we were almost done with dessert. My steak was overcooked and tough. It was supposed to be encrusted with morels and I think they may have forgotten them altogether. We did enjoy the beautiful view of the mountains at sunset. But we would not return for the food or service.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
1  Thank ReviewerMaryland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

My teenaged daughter and I stayed at The 1785 Inn for one night in August 2007 on our annual school shopping trip to North Conway. We stayed in Room 14.

We were charmed by the Inn's many original fixtures and thought that the woman who checked us in and served our breakfast the next day was just wonderful - attentive and considerate.

Our room was sparsely decorated but immaculate and the beds were very comfortable. The pillows were a bit hard though. The closet smelled a bit musty but hey, this place is 220 years old! We didn't use the closet anyway.

Our room overlooked the busy road outside - and when big trucks drove through some of the light fixtures rattled. We got used to it rather quickly and wasn't an issue.

The pool was sparkling clean and warm and it was nice to cool off in after a hard day of shopping.

The "living room" area's TV was rather old and could use updating.

The bathroom we used (shared) was immaculate and even had most of the original fixtures! It was hard to get a consistent water temperature in the shower though.

Breakfast was delicious - homemade raspberry muffins, and the most delicious blueberry pancakes I've ever eaten. (also coffee, bacon, juice)

In all we enjoyed our stay here and may very well stay here again in the future!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
5.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
2.3 mi away
Forest Glen Inn
Forest Glen Inn
#15 of 25 in North Conway
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fox Ridge Resort
Fox Ridge Resort
#12 of 25 in North Conway
657 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Clarendon Motel
Clarendon Motel
#21 of 25 in North Conway
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1785 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1785 Inn

Address: 3582 White Mountain Hwy, At the Scenic Vista Overlook, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5114
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range: $104 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1785 Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1785 Inn is located in an historic building (built by Revolutionary War veteran) at a famous scenic overlook in the White Mountains (the 7th most photographed nature scene in the US). A travel guide newsletter recently called it "One of the top 15 views in the world from a hotel or inn." The 1785 Inn provides comfortable lodging in a clean/homey atmosphere with friendly service. A delicious full breakfast is provided to overnight guests and the inn also has a friendly pub open every night for lodging guests and their friends. On six acres with plenty of space and trails to enjoy the scenery & outdoors, or go swimming or skiing, depending on the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your 1785 Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1785 Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing