We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
nantucket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We just came back from three nights at the WMH. We are a couple with a two year old and were looking for somewhere quiet near Conway.The hotel was very quiet. Our room had two double beds that were comfy and had nice sheets. The room overall was fine and clean and the bathroom was a decent size.Our rate included breakfast but both times we got eggs they were not good at all. The omelets were smothered in cheese and tasted terrible.We stayed away from eggs and the other items were good. We ate in the bar area one night and it was ok. My biggest dissapointment was the fitness and games area. I doubt anyone has worked out in there in 10 years as the machines were covered in dust and the place was just filthy. If they are not planning on improving that whole area it should be closed off as you should not advertise a fitness ares that is in that condition.I was so surprised as the rest of the hotel was in fairly good condition.The staff were fine but i got the impression from them that they run the place so maybe thats why they all seem a bit fed up. Overall for the rate we got we were happy enough .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melcNantucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    295
    102
    35
    17
See reviews for
316
495
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We went up for a 4 day weekend and were amazed how rude the front desk and dining staff was. The prices are in the moderately to high end for NH, and the service, dining experience and general ambience is definitly sub par.The swimming pool was too hot( everyone that w/e agreed) and the area poolside was untidy.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank password12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We recently visited the White Mountain Hotel for our Valentine's weekend & had a wonderful experience. The restaurant/bar area was filled with guests unwinding on Friday night when we arrived. They had a wonderful buffet going on that evening, so we had to try it out! Delish! We found ourselves kicking back in the comfy bar for a few hours. It was a great first night!
Our room was gorgeous - we had sitting area & our bed was so comfortable!
The staff was extremely accomodating & polite.
The ambiance of the hotel lent itself to the perfect location of a weekend getaway.
We had a fabulous Valentine's dinner - the food was stellar. We each ordered our own appetizers & dessert! Everything looked fantastic! I can't wait to go back to eat from their restaurant again!
Overall, I would suggest White Mountain Hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet & quaint atmosphere with the quality of a larger 4+ star hotel.
I love this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA2BOSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

A friend of mine was visiting recently so we decided to take a girl's ski weekend to the White Mountains. The hotel decor has a quaint New England feel, very picturesque location at the foot of the mountain. The staff were very friendly, helpful to suggest where to go in the area. The food in the tavern was terrific--I highly suggest the seafood buffet. If you are looking for a cozy stay in the mountains, I highly suggest this hotel. We found it to be a bargain during the ski season.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuckerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I have done some travelling around the country, stayed in the white mountains before, but no matter how pretty a place appears, if the staff inside is rude, it can really ruin your stay. I stayed at this hotel for a fun weekend with a group of grown-ups. From the moment several of us went into the bar, we were treated rudely by a waitress. That wasn't too bad, everyone has a bad day.
But what was so offensive to me, was that on our second night, on our way OUT of the hotel, the manager pulled us aside and "scolded" several of us. He never once asked the paying customer about what he had been told. Then he threatened us to put us in jail. That ruined my evening. The facilities are nice looking, the setting is nice but I would never go back when I was treated so rudely and like a misbehaving child. I was also disappointed, being on the second floor about the amount of noise from the floor above us. I was also surprised that the drapes were not room darkening drapes.

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank curlydorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWSNorthConway, Owner/General Manager at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2009
This person was travelling with a group of seven couples. This person and the two reviews immediately below, who were also part of that group, posted reviews on this site because they thought that some members of our staff were rude to them. Our staff were not rude to them. They acted in a firm, professional and emphatic manner with them because they were knowingly breaking the law in our hotel. They were told on several occasions that what they were doing was illegal and therefore against the policies of the hotel and the State of New Hampshire. Some members of the group, but not all, repeatedly brougt their own private stock of alcoholic beverages into the hotel bar. That is illegal to do in New Hampshire. You must purchase any alcohol you consume in public areas from the vendor. They refused to stop this practice, even after they were told to stop on several occasions by the bar staff. They believe that our bartender was being "rude" for being firm with them. When our Food and Beverage Director learned the next day that one of the people in the group had mentioned that the group would be back into the bar later that night he warned them that if they broke the law again he would call the police on them, as he should have. They believe that he was being "rude" because he forewarned them, in no uncertain terms, that he was going to enforce State law.

These three reviewers are complaining because the staff of the White Mountain Hotel enforced the law!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

First, I agree with other reviewers about the condition of the hotel, and there were a few positives. However, I don't know if it's something in the air there or if some of the hotel staff have been couped up too long in the snow and ice, but many of the hotel staff were rude or acted put out by the simplest request. For our entire stay (and this was a group of middle-aged adults - sorry, guys, but we are!), we were treated as unwanted guests or worse. I've stayed in hotels all over this country and abroad, and I've never been treated so poorly and rudely by hotel staff. I would say that if you only requre a bed to sleep in and a heated pool to swim in...and don't plan to visit the restaurant or the bar or require any other assistance from the hotel staff, you MIGHT enjoy your stay. If you need to ask for anything though, watch out! There are a lot of nice hotels in the area where I'm sure you would be treated better and like actual paying guests. I know I wouldn't ever stay in this hotel again and would strongly recommend against anyone else staying there.

  • Liked — Heated pool and jacuzzi
  • Disliked — Hotel staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank CoachSteveFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH/MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Ok, where to begin? Checking in was a bit hectic since there was a dinner buffet going on right in the lobby. There are no staff members, bellhop to help, you are on your own so that for one is chaotic since there are so many people milling around in the lobby while you are trying to manuever your luggage from checking in to the elevator to head up to your room. We had 14 people total in our group-7 guest rooms including 1 suite, so for starters we all paid in total approximately $2,000 for two nights for 7 rooms. That is a lot of money in this economy so one would think we would have been treated with much more respect. Read on and you'll see why we felt disrespected. We all went to the tavern for dinner and from the start the waitress-Courtney had attitude written all over her face. Not sure if she was having a bad day, week, or was just not friendly, but she was not happy when she had to wait on a large party for dinner and drinks. The dinner was average-your regular pub food, We probably paid close to $600 between the 14 of us for that meal and drinks. We then decided to head up to the suite at around 9am to hang out, well, we were apparantly laughing too loud at 9:45 and were told to be quiet-on a Friday night! Quiet hours are 11pm. We then decided to go back down to the bar, well Courtney made a turn for the worse! Some of us did bring our own alcohol into the bar, but when we were told we weren't allowed, we left, finished our drink and came back in to order more drinks from Courtney. She was extremely rude and refused to serve us water! She also accused us of being part of a yacht club in Bedford,NH!! First off we were all from Merrimack and none of us even owned a boat. She then got security who did let us stay in the bar. Courtney also tried to make us leave the bar by telling us it closed at 11 when it really closed at 1am. With all the money we gave that tavern, one would think we would have been treated nicer, again especially in this economy! As far as the hotel goes and the sound, the walls and ceilings are paper thin and guests stomp instead of walk, especially the folks that were in room 310! They had kids in there and I think they even had a trampoline. Apparantly that is allowed! They have an outdoor heated pool that is suppose to open up at 7am but didn't open up until 8:30am, they have signs up about times but change their minds when they want to about what time things open and close, very inconsistant! The next evening we decided that we would not give the hotel any more of our money and decided to go out to eat for dinner. On our way out to our taxi we got threatened by the food and beverage manager Dennis who threatened to call the state police if we gave Courtney a hard time. Now an entire day had passed and we were all out shopping and were not even at the hotel and he had the nerve to start with us. Very unprofessional! The final day at check out, they asked us how our stay was! Wrong question!! We then asked to speak to the manager who was not available, so they send over Dennis who did not care about any of our complaints and kept reiterating that Courtney was an awesome waitress and that he did not threaten us! We now have a call into the general manager of the hotel, so we shall see if she is in bed with Dennis or not! Definetly stay away, I urge you!

  • Liked — It was pretty
  • Disliked — The management
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank sabrinacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Conway hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Property: White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Address: 2560 W Side Rd, mail: P. O. Box 1828, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Business Hotel in North Conway
#8 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing