We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location and people.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the resort for my husbands birthday. The weather was amazing for what was "mud" season. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay ensuring that we enjoyed all the hotel and area had to offer. In particular Eileen and Daisy at the front desk and Roberta during breakfast went the extra mile. The only downside is that the doors are thin as you can hear people in the corridor and breakfast over the weekend finishes earlier than the week days? However we certainly would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmuseBouches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I appreciate your honest feedback and thank you for taking the time to write. I want to assure you that we are currently looking into ways to improve our breakfast service to our valued guests on Sunday mornings. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, and look forward to your return visit. Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    300
    102
    36
    17
See reviews for
321
501
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here as a base for touring the White Mountains. As a location - the setting is beautiful & North Conway is a really bustling town with lots to see & do & lots of outlet shopping also. You are on the doorstep of white horse ledge & within a 5min drive of Cathedral Ledge & Echo Lake park which are both highly recommended.

The hotel is nestled amongst this & has a lovely old world charm with comfortable tastefully decorated rooms & Aveda products in the bathroom.

There is also an outdoor heated pool (to 105F all year round) but we didn't use this.

We ate in the Tullamore Tavern on the Saturday night - it was very busy with a good atmosphere & the food was excellent.

We were travelling with a baby & went down for breakfast about 9:30 & were told on Sundays breakfast is 7-9 & brunch was being served now. The lady at the desk was actually pretty abrupt about it - which we were surprised with. Unfortunately it coloured our view of the stay at the hotel. To be fair the check in details do state the early breakfast hours on Sundays but my husband did not recall it being mentioned at check in which I think they should do as - for a nice vacation weekend 7-9 is early for breakfast!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I appreciate all of your comments and feedback and am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and your dinner experience. I am, however, sorry to read that we fell short of your expectations on Sunday with Breakfast. I can assure you that this feedback is critical to our success and we are currently working on a better plan to service our customers for breakfast on Sunday mornings. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I can assure you this will be addressed immediately. Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent April 12-14 at the hotel and were very impressed with the professionalism and courtesy of all of the staff. The owners made us feel welcome as well. The food was especially good. We were there for a food and wine weekend, so perhaps not every weekend is the same, but we recommend the property highly.
The bears, including a mother and three cubs have made their home in the nearby woods so please be aware when traversing the trails that lead from the property towards the ledge. On our walk on the trails in a freshly fallen inch or so of snow were bear tracks. Later when driving from the hotel we saw the bears near one of homes on the road leading to the hotel. They were all surprisingly large.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The wife and I spent our 25th Anniversary here. I cannot give it a high enough review. EVERYTHING was excellent. we stayed in the Mount Washington room. The room and view is beautiful. The staff was very friendly from the time of sign in to the time we left. We had something different for breakfast each morning it was plentiful and good. We went to the bar one night and they treated us like we were regulars there. We did order room service and they showed up within 20 mins with our stuff. They forgot some sauce and brought it back right away and brought a little extra side dish with it for the fault. We had dinner at the restaurant, I had NY strip and was tender enough that I could just about cut it with my fork! My wife had seafood medley and there was more than enough different kind of seafood to keep her happy. There is a heated pool and jacuzzi on the outside but we did not have time to use it although there were people using it often. They also have a small campfire by the pool on certain nights. For the price we would definitely recommend it to anyone and WILL be returning often.

Room Tip: The suites have the view of cliffs and mountains as the windows wrap around most of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent a beautiful weekend at the White Mountain Hotel over Easter weekend. Buffets and service were excellent! Lovely area - peaceful and relaxing, great heated pool and hot tub. Skied at nearby Attitash. Booked massages at the on-site spa and definitely recommend! Enjoyed a romantic trip and would love to return!

Room Tip: Third floor end worked out perfectly. We faced the ledge and enjoyed that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMTchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind remarks. I will make certain to share this with our TEAM. Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the White Mountain for 6 nights at the beginning of April and had a fantastic time. I had taken advice from Trip Advisor and asked for 3rd floor quiet rooms which we got-we had 1 mountain view King & 1double, both were spacious, clean and had fantastic views.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like friends and advice was offered on places to visit/hike/ski. One waitress in particular (Adele) was so friendly & interested in our holiday that our teenage sons looked forward to seeing her and updating her on our adventures! As our youngest son said 'We've only just met her and she's made a real difference to our holiday.'

All the staff have excellent customer service skills & will go the extra mile to change things on the menu or serve desserts in the bar after the restaurant has closed-many thanks for that, your desserts are second to none! We ate in the restaurant on 3 evenings (the food is exceptionally good) and were lucky enough to finish our holiday with the Sunday Brunch-again fantastic food and service. My husband spoke to one of the chefs (Daniel) during brunch and commended him on the food -I am sure he gets many compliments and they are very well deserved.

We used the outdoor pool and jacuzzi which are great fun-the fires are not lit Sun-Thurs & so we didn't experience any 'smoke problems' like a previous reviewer. The views of the mountains make this a great place to relax & chat.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday made memorable by staying in an exceptional hotel-thank you to all the staff, we really hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We can't wait for you to return as well! Thanks for your wonderful comments and very kind words about Adel. I will make certain that we share these comments with her and her manager. See you again soon. Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of four (Mom, Dad, son, 22, daughter, 19) stayed the weekend after Easter. Got a great rate for two rooms with mountain view and continental b'fast by using Priceline as a bargaining chip.

We stayed here in 2006 during a school holiday and loved it, though we were on the cliff side away from the mountain view. It was more crowded in the pool then, too. This time, the place had fewer lodgers but there was a 24 Hours of Music Festival, so the parking lot was jammed. Oh well, we are music lovers and didn't mind too much; all for a good cause.

Common rooms are beautiful. Rooms/bath are very clean and comfortable. Heating unit should have a FAN option to create white noise for us light sleepers. Got around it by jacking up heat all the way in order to keep it on all night, and opening the window. Seems wasteful, I know, but only way to get a good night's sleep.

My husband and son thought the beds and pillows were not that comfortable. But my daughter and I have bad backs and we were fine with both. Flat-screen TVs are great. Room service was good (delicious steak burger and fries for $12, which for us is a bargain compared to restaurant prices).

Continental breakfast was perfectly fine with plenty of choices. Some reviewers seem to expect Continental to include everything, which isn't fair. Waitstaff is efficient but one was a little authoritative, almost like a school principal. We just let her do her thing and smiled behind our coffee. We were having such a good time with the outdoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, ping pong, hiking trails and gorgeous views that her foible about running things a certain way only added to our overall good feeling about this resort.

On the whole, every staff member was friendly and very helpful. One even gave my daughter and me terrycloth robes to use at the pool while we were there, though we were not staying in a suite where they are included.

ONE COMPLAINT: Every evening, a PIT FIRE is built right near the pool and the smoke from it is annoying. The smell stuck to our hair and the smoke stung our eyes and lungs. Even with a constant outdoor breeze, it's impossible to get away from the smoke.

The fire builder even asked me if I was being smoked out, and I said yes. He just added another log to the fire! Strange. Nobody was sitting around the fire; the smoke was too intense and occasionally major sparks flew around, which would singe clothing.

A better choice would be a pit of non-smoking embers, something that didn't smell or smoke. That would be much more delightful to sit around, watch the glow and toast s'mores.

We wanted to enjoy the fresh air and gorgeous mountain view. Sadly, that was spoiled as soon as the pit fire was lit. So, only 4 stars.

Room Tip: The cold water right out of the tap is the most delicious water I've ever tasted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delving E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S, Owner at White Mountain Hotel and Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your very honest and pleasant review about your recent stay. I am sorry about the smoke from the fire pit. We have debated weather to remain with the traditional wood burning fire pit, which many guests enjoy, or go with a gas version. I appreciate your feedback, and will keep it under advisement. Regards, Carol Sullivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Conway
2.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 25 in North Conway
1,351 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 25 in North Conway
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Mountain Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountain Hotel and Resort

Property: White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Address: 87 Fairway Drive, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in North Conway
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#5 Business Hotel in North Conway
#8 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Mountain Hotel and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort located just minutes from North Conway Village in North Conway, NH, and provides a panoramic, one of a kind mountain setting. Located at the base of White Horse Ledge, 80 guest rooms and suites include double pillow top mattress, high thread-count sheets, deluxe bedding, flat panel TVs, DVD/VCR, refrigerators, free wi-fi, Aveda amenities, and more. Superior rooms offering upgraded amenities, welcome amenity, bottled water and mountain views are available, as well as deluxe guest rooms and luxury suites. Ledges Restaurant provides panoramic mountain views along with award-winning cuisine and excellent service. Ledges offers modern American cuisine with a focus on local and sustainable product. The cozy Tullamore Tavern offers casual dining in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Amenities include on-site private massage room, golf, year-round outdoor heated swimming pool, fire pit, Jacuzzi, Finnish Saunas, workout facilities, game room, gift shop, hiking and biking trails, walk to Echo Lake and more. Available for leisure travel, family reunions, weddings, elopements, showers, corporate meetings, executive retreats, anniversary parties, birthday celebrations and more. Dogs under 25 Lbs. Are accepted in specific dog-friendly rooms for a fee with pre-registration required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your White Mountain Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Mountain Hotel North Conway
White Mountain Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing